We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Ripley hotels

The Boar's Head

Ripley Castle Estate, Ripley HG3 3AY, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Boar's Head to your Saves list
The Boar's Head
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
82%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Malchris Wigan
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    84
    40
    21
    8
See reviews for
41
201
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I visit Harrogate twice yearly and have eaten in the Bistro at the Boar's Head many times for both lunch and dinners in the past. I visited on a Friday evening (4th April) having booked a table in the Bistro beforehand. The Bistro was busy but we were served with drinks promptly and shown to our table. Whilst we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

I am pleased to read that you were welcomed,seated and served promptly .I am surprised that the offer of the alternative table was not taken up , even if, to just finish the drinks that you had ordered. May I suggest, that as we do plan to remain dog friendly, ( not encouraging dogs to occupy seats though), that if... More

Wigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed one night as we were going to a gig at Ripley Blues . The location was excellent as we were across the road in Hollybank and the hall was approx. 100yds up the road. We were shown the lounges and where breakfast would be served the following morning and then taken across the road to our room by a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Thanks for the 5 out of 5 !! We are all very grateful for your positive feedback. We are currently doing some refurbishment works in a number of rooms and addressing the issues that you pointed out. As you mentioned, we are located on the main road, but I wouldn't want anyone to think that was a busy road ,... More

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from the Boars Head. We have stayed a few times and always loved it and couldn't wait to return, however this time we felt something had changed. Staff lovely, rooms tired and in need of upgrade, but nice touch again with sherry , biscuits etc. Shower very small in Cayton room, but bath nice and water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review. We are currently upgrading rooms and this is being really well received. We are always looking to improve our guest experience and with this in mind we do, from time to time change things based on feedback. Depending on when you last stayed with us, we did change the style of our menu and dining... More

York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just enjoyed a 2 night stay at The Boar's Head and it was delightful. We stayed in the yellow room which was very clean and comfortable. We ate both nights in the hotel and the food was excellent, different dishes added to the menu on a daily basis so plenty to chose from. The staff were friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Excellent review, many thanks. we are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent 2 night stay with us. I do hope it won't be long before we are welcoming you both back again soon. Keep an eye on our website for some cracking special offers. Regards Steve & The Team. More

UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a great Groupon offer. Our room was lovely, charming and clean. Chocolate boars on the pillows and tea/coffee/biscuit facilities made it feel very homely. The staff were all very friendly and efficient, booking us in quickly and even taking us to our room to make sure we were happy. We enjoyed a very nice meal in the Bistro... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

We are all very pleased to read that you had such a nice visit recently. I do hope that you will be planning a return visit when you come and visit the Castle. Keep an eye on our website for the great special offers. See you again soon. kind regards Steve & The Team. More

Derbyshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped for one night using a groupon deal, which we'd upgraded to a superior room. The initial impression was great - we were warmly greeted by a friendly smiling receptionist and not just directed, but taken to our room (which was in a different building (only 20 yards across the road)). The room was lovely, spotlessly clean with nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit.I am delighted to read that you had such a great time. I hope that next time that you are considering a short break, that you take a look on our website and take us up on one of our special offers. We look forward to seeing... More

sheffield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed for 1 night lovely room and facilities,excellent food in restaurant and great breakfast.only disappointment booked so we could go round castle on thur as this was day it. opens but was closed due to decorating but enjoyed walking round the gardens

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Great review. Many thanks for the kind comments. I am sorry that you could not visit the castle due to the redecoration that was taking place. We did give tickets to be used at a future date to lots of our guests over this period , I hope you got some and we will see you next time you are... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Made to feel very welcome, very helpful staff. Dog friendly. Clean accommodation Good food and good location. Would highly recommend as a good base for local amenities within the grounds of Ripley Castle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Hi Janet Burr, many thanks for posting a review following your recent visit. Great to hear that you gave a 10/10 for the time you had with us. Keep an eye on our website for some more great deals coming up in the near future. Regards Steve & The Team. More

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arrival, excellent receptionist signed us in on our Groupon deal. We stayed in a small double room on the outer of the hotel called "The Poacher's Den" consisting of room, bathroom with excellent little extra touches. Cleanliness, service, facilities, and parking -all 10/10. This morning we had a lovely breakfast with a massive choice and all plentiful and perfectly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

We are all delighted to read that you had such a positive stay with us recently. I will pass on your very kind comments to the team. Keep an eye on our website for more cracking deals coming up in the not too distant future. Regards Steve & The Team. More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was given the Groupon voucher by our daughter as a birthday gift. On arrival the Receptionist guided us around the hotel, this was a first. for us. The service in the Restaurant was first class as was the food. Breakfast was a feast - I wish I could make scrambled eggs like that!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Hi Carol H, Many thanks for the kind comments. If you want to know the secret of our scrambled eggs, then why not come along to one of our exciting cookery demonstrations. You can find the details of our demonstrations on our website. Kind regards Steve More

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Also Known As:
Boars Head Ripley
Hotel Boars Head
Address: Ripley Castle Estate, Ripley HG3 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ripley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Coaching Inn set within the magnificent Ripley Castle Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boar's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.