We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boar's Head

Certificate of Excellence
Ripley Castle Estate, Ripley HG3 3AY, England
Hotel amenities
The Boar's Head
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jill O Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Add Photo

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    280
    131
    49
    31
    11
See reviews for
57
296
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (502)
  • Mar-May only
    (153)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (136)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (97)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a fantastic little gem of a place Ripley is. Perfect little street, castle and Boar's Head all close enough to Harrogate and at the end of a newly opened cycle track (so will bring a bike next time!). The hotel was charming and everyone on the staff was so friendly and helpful. We took advantage of the free ticket... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

we look forward to your return along with your cycles!! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Quiet setting,room lovely and clean,staff polite,not much to do but walk around castle gardens,you get free pass for castle but can't get in,food very expensive,ice cream shop outside is rubbish,would I stay here again yes but not till I retire as more for elderly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to stay and review.......... included in the rate is free entrance to the Castle grounds & gardens. there is the opportunity to upgrade this ticket to include a guided tour of the castle which is highly recommended. More 

UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a night, booked at the last minute and got a bargain. The courtyard room was really lovely, spotless, spacious with everything we wanted. Bottled water, toiletries and lovely towels. It's an old fashioned hotel, not boutique style but we did find our stay very pleasant Staff were lovely, although we weren't impressed with breakfast as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

thank you for your review, I am most concerned by your comments regarding breakfast, it is usually well received. I have asked chef to keep an eye on it, but I am confident that you will enjoy it on your return. More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A scruffy front garden border and a shabby front door greeted our first visit to this hotel. Cracked ceilings, tired paintwork, worn ruffled carpets - this hotel is in desperate need of some TLC. This could be such a gem as it is situated in a beautiful village close to Harrogate. It is let down by poor upkeep. The furniture... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Hello Happy campers!!! thank you for your review. I take your points on board, we are currently in the process of upgrading all the rooms and communal areas. I hope you will give us a try in the future. I ma sure you will be impressed by what you see. More 

Seahouses, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good quality Inn. Spacious and clean room. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Evening meal was excellent. One negative point was they only offered smoked bacon at breakfast and I did not like the sausage. However would not stop me staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, please do come again...........if you let us know when you are coming we can arrange for un-smoked bacon and an alternative sausage that might be to your taste. we do get some great feed back on the sausages, but I understand you may wish for a plain version. More 

York, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looks idyllic, as always. Stayed in a good sized room in an annex. Bed was spotless - very large and comfortable but seemed out of place as the rest of the room was a bit tired (could do with a lick of paint) and some of the other furniture was quite old and not very clean. Bathroom clean but again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review, all points noted. we have begun a period of touching up all of the rooms and public areas. I hope it is to your approval on your next visit. More 

Sheffield
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 1 night in April. We would have loved to stay longer. The room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast and enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant. Well recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Thanks for your review More 

Whitley bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Didn't stay at the hotel, just visiting the bar for a drink and something to eat. At £15 for burger and chips it's pricey but it was the best burger I have ever had that I didn't make myself! Had to wait a good 20 mins or so but it was fresh cooked so worth the wait. Huge homemade burger!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

delighted you appreciate the burger, we all certainly do More 

Merseyside
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night last weekend on a Living Social deal. Had no great expectations of the standard room as on a deal, but was pleasantly surprised by the space available. The bed was very comfortable and the usual tv, wi-fi etc were all good. The only slight complaint would be that some of the tiling in the bathroom could do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

lovely review, thank you More 

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our two night break at the Boar's Head hotel where we fond the staff to be friendly and accommodating. Our room in Birchfield House was clean, well appointed and fully met our needs. We were accompanied by our Westie dog and the Hotel had made provision for him in our room with a dog bed and well received... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

thank you for your review we do try to keep a variety of options available over the bar - some are more expensive than others, but we feel we offer a good quality product. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay