We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wild Duck Inn

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Drakes Island, Ewen, Cirencester GL7 6BY, England
Wild Duck Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 3 Ewen B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
stevethomas1974 Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    112
    80
    107
    108
See reviews for
61
297
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (472)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great pub atmosphe in the bar but the room we stayed in was very poor standard. A dark room being in the old inn made worse by three light bulbs not working. A most uncomfortable bed and an additional charge for a cooked breakfast of £8.95, surely should be included at a rate of £135 for a double room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Set in the countryside of the Cotswolds in a fabulous village called Ewen the wild duck is a Fantastic country pub great food great hospitality friendly staff very helpful full of character highly recommended lots walks was great just to switch off and enjoy the peace and quiet

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A lovely quaint building from the outside, inside rather dark and dingy. I think you can have a fresh interior without compromising the "character". The food was good, with a reasonable selection. The service,however, was one of the poorest I have experienced in quite some time which is a real shame. By the time we had reached the end of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pontyclun. South Wales
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having moved our offices back into the area I was keen to try out some of the local Hotels, Bars and Restaurants to make sure that they were suitable for our business visitors that would be coming to see us over next months. Having stayed at The Wild Duck before I was keen to see how things had improved. Sadly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Ewen hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Wild Duck is full of character, comfortable clean bedroom and friendly staff. We enjoyed lovely warm weather so took advantage of the outdoor space during afternoons of our two night stay. Excellent breakfast but evening meal slightly expensive. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very comfortable stay at this lovely little pub. The room was clean, nice and quiet just as we like it and we had a very good nights sleep on the four poster bed. We had dinner in the restaurant, the food was excellent and friendly service from the waiting staff. We were also able to take our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having booked a room we decided to cancel due to the poor ratings on Trip Advisor. The manager Dino decided to take time off and cited this as the excuse for not refunding the room payment for over a week. He showed absolutely no empathy for my complaint when I contacted him and was downright rude and patronising. Avoid this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
dino m, Manager at Wild Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your trip advisor review, as i stated on the phone when booking through an agent refunds can take up to ten working days. The cancellation occured before a bank holiday weekend so with this in mind it actually only took 4 working days. Kind regards Dino More 

uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing family visit to the pub once again, the staff as friendly as always and helped us to party until the early hours. The food and service was absolutely fantastic, we will again return for our fourth year anniversary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Wild Duck is a small quaint English Inn built in the traditional Cotswolds style. We checked in at the bar and were shown to our room which was a little small but OK. The only complaint was with the bathroom fan which sounded like a tractor. There was a bath but no shower. The evening meal was delicious, although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As we stayed at The Wild Duck last week end I thought I would check the reviews and found some to be dreadful. Yes I must agree it is rather run down and could do with a make over, but I would not describe it as "filthy".We would never stay in a dirty place. Our room was comfortable,nice fresh bedding,plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay