We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Add Photo

555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    117
    211
    136
    65
    26
See reviews for
101
239
13
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (555)
  • Mar-May only
    (145)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (180)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (129)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here on business and my first thoughts of the room was yes its ok. I used the leisure facilities and loved the swim, after a busy day on the road this did the trick. Afterwards I ordered room service and had the Lamb burger. It came extremely greasy to the point where I couldn't eat it, so please... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lush4eva Thank you for your review. We appreciate any feedback which will allow us to continually monitor & improve our service & standards. The brasserie menu is very popular with many favorites including the lamb burger & I will look into this but hope the matter was resolved during your stay. Sincerely, Dominic More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Have just returned from a one night stay at the above hotel and felt that I should let you know about the uncomfortable night we spent there. Reception, bar and restaurant very pleasant and air conditioned, staff amicable and helpful. Room small, shabby bathroom in dire need of refurbishing. But the worse thing was that the room was so hot,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kerswell1956 Thank you for your review. We are enjoying exceptionally fine weather in the South East at present with temperatures reaching 30 degrees & exceeding even the coast of Spain & most hotels are in the area are in same situation. Thank you for your kind comments about the team. Sincerely, Dominic More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the most overpriced hotel we have ever stayed at, the room was basic, dirty and dated. No aircon and super hot as the windows only open an inch or so. Lots of noise as parties going on until late, drunks arguing in the carpark. My partner thought she would use the spa area to find the hot tub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sam137 Thank you for your review. We are experiencing unusual & exceptionally hot weather & I apologise for the shortcomings you experienced. The spa was closed for a short period whilst chemicals were balanced due to high bather loads. We take pride in providing a clean hotel and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and family were staying the area for a wedding and all booked in to the Great Danes. The rooms were thoroughly disappointing and looked nothing like what the website offers. We got to our room, which wasn't only exceptionally small it also smelled of strong smoke. As we settled down we became aware that the rooms were very warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pippa Thank you for your review. We do have a number of different room types & are always happy to offer alternatives whenever possible. It has been exceptionally warm throughout & of course seating on the terrace is in demand. I have noted your other comments & am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here as part of a wedding party. I found the hotel to be average at best, and poor in places. For example, the scrum-like breakfast was extremely disappointing with very little options and horrendously understaffed, the "lakeside view" was no such lake at all, my Accor Gold status was completely unacknowledged, the need to charge £30 for "incidentals"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NapoleonSnow Thank you for your review & apologies that we did not identify your membership status. I hope this was resolved during your stay with us. Breakfast can get busy during peak times but there should always be sufficient choice & staffing. The spa is popular for treatments & some residents choose to relax in their gowns, but towels... More 

London, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant hotel in large grounds with easy access from M20. Always seems busy with weddings, conferences and various celebrations. Room was large and well appointed and bed extremely comfortable. The room was too warm for me but when window was opened some noise was heard from nearby M20. No means of controlling the heating evident. Breakfast was in large busy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gallavanting Guy Thank you for your review. The 26 acres of grounds look fabulous at the moment & the fine weather can warm the rooms in parts. Pleased you found the new beds comfortable and will share your positive comments about the team. Kind regards, Dominic More 

london
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

E had a hindu ceremony there and it was amazing. Claire and her team were outstanding in organising everything for us. Lovely gazebo. Nice staff. Dinner was brilliant. Price was reasonable compared to what another hotel nearby was quoting us. Pravin looked after us during our stay and we could not have asked for more. There was a peacock in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sweetdim Thank you very much for your review & great comments about the team. Congratulations on your recent nuptials, delighted you had a fabulous day & enjoyed the food. The gazebo looks stunning when set up in this fine weather. Best wishes for the future. Regards, Dominic More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were really nice & cooperative. Path from reception to the room was quite lengthy, and even though there was a lift, still had to negotiate a small set of stairs My room I found rather small... just about enough room to walk around the bed, and the room had no air con, so was immediately hot in the afternoon,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NikJ Thank you for your review & your positive comments about the team. We do have a number of different room types and always happy to offer alternatives whenever possible. I would recommend a Privilege or Superior room if you stay with us again. Best wishes, Dominic More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I were very pleased with the hotel's excellent service the food was served in good time no waiting in between courses. our rooms were very good. I managed to wipe the entry card clean by having it next to my mobile phone. but the receptionist was very pleasant and soon restored it to use. The only other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gordon Thank you very much for your positive review. We are of course always happy to help with luggage. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes. Dominic More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked this for just the one night as we were visiting Leeds Castle and then travelling down to family in Hampshire. The double room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the reception staff were very friendly. There was a function booked in the adjoining building that same night but it didn't create any problems noise-wise. In fact the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit & hope you will dine with us next time. A new Brasserie menu is due out in early June with some great summer classics. Kind regards, Dominic More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay