We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Duc de Praslin

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Cote d'Or, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Duc de Praslin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    163
    27
    18
    10
See reviews for
144
479
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (687)
  • Mar-May only
    (198)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (163)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (195)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (131)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Second family trip to the seychelles in 15 years and Le Duc hosted all 10 of us at the Villa up the hill with fantastic views, private pool and kitchenette. Bed and breakfast to die for and a quite beach under the palm trees with great snorkelling. We drove all around the island trying to find anything better but nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, Director of Sales at Le Duc de Praslin, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and happy to note that you all had a super time at our hillside villa. Indeed it is one of our newest products which offers superbe value for money and provides our guests with independence to explore the island but at the same time the opportunity of the multiple services that our hotel has... More 

Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent 4 nights at Le Duc. The hotel is very nice, set in a great tropical garden. We had booked a superior room, located on the ground floor with a terrace overlooking the garden. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated with a huge bathroom. The beach is a short walk from the hotel and it’s amazing– white powder... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, Director of Sales at Le Duc de Praslin, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and we were delighted to welcome a guest from Bulgaria! We are happy to note that you were quite satisfied with your stay with us. We are however surprised by your comments regarding "expensive" food as we offer perhaps the best value for money food & beverage options. Our dinner buffets and cuisine have... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed 5 nights at this restful hotel. Beach was fabulous. The owner Robert went out of his way to ensure that a slightly bumpy start was sorted out and my holiday was all I had hoped it would be. Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and Praslin island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derek S, Director of Sales at Le Duc de Praslin, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are happy that you were able to find your Paradise during your stay with us. Our ultimate aim is to ensure that all our clients are happy and go back home with fond memories and it is always a pleasure to hear and read that we have been able to achieve this. We... More 

Rome
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After many years trying (my wife hates long flights) finally we've been able to plan a winter break in a hot climate. Decided for Seychelles because a break in Dubai was doable, allowing us to split the trip. After checking tripadvisor I chose this hotel. It has been a good choice. It's not cheap at all (but just a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, Director of Sales at Le Duc de Praslin, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us and happy that you made the right choice of accommodation to allow you to have a relaxing holiday. We are especially happy to note that your overall appreciation of the facilities and service on offer were very much to your expectation and beyond.... More 

Reston, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located almost at the beach, this place is cozy, calm and quiet. We were welcomed with a refreshing welcome drink which seems the norm in all hotels on the island. I had booked the standard room . I was walked to my room and its a cute room for honeymooners with an open shower. The room has offbeat furnishings and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derek S, Director of Sales at Le Duc de Praslin, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and glad that we have been able to turn your holiday into a memorable one. Our standard rooms offer a more creole feel with wooden floors whilst the other room categories are more modern and contemporary - we are happy that you had the opportunity to test both! You also had the opportunity to... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We stayed for 10 nights in this hotel. The staff were amazing with only one exception, a surly bad tempered barman who really should not be working with the public, luckily he wasn't there all the time, the other barman, Shiva was amazing. All the other hotel staff made up for it though, they were friendly and helpful and always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, Director of Sales at Le Duc de Praslin, responded to this review

Dear Gillian, We thank you for taking time to post this review which is much appreciated. We are happy to note that you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay with us and regret that you had a bad experience with one of our staff - an issue which we have already taken up with the person concerned. We... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Upon arrival we were handed fresh smoothies and say in the well decorated lobby. We were spoken through the facilities in the hotel by the friendly receptionist. We were then told we would be taken to our room We knew we had a hire car with the room as we were a family of 4. We followed the guide up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, Director of Sales at Le Duc de Praslin, responded to this review

Dear Hayley, We thank you for taking time to send us a review. We are however disappointed to learn that you were not too generous with your rating despite stating yourself that it was an enjoyable stay. Our villas are located on the hill and therefore one should expect a bit of a climb to get there, especially to then... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, with absolutely spacious and well-designed rooms. The half board option is also essential, food provided here is up to standard. Once you enter the room, the first impression is "Wow! That's spacious!" But then you will find a bottle of pesticides on the desk. Later, you will find ants on your bed because of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Derek S, Director of Sales at Le Duc de Praslin, responded to this review

Dear Laurence, We thank you for your comments and the little dose of sarcasm. While you have given rave reviews about our hotel, we fail to see why we are referred to as a paradise for pests and insects due to your bad experience. if you have a phobia for insects, we are living in a tropical island so perhaps... More 

Oberhausen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We have been to the Seychelles in May 2014 and decided to stay in the so-called Hillside Maison of the Duc de Praslin. The maison is a nice villa with 3 bedrooms located 2-3min by car from the main hotel. It is on top of the hill, so you can enjoy a beautiful view on the ocean, the rainforest below... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Le Duc was a great place to begin our holidays in the Seychelles. The staff were very friendly and tried to accommodate all of our needs. The rooms were clean with very luxurious bathrooms. The gorgeous beaches of Cote D'Or were just seconds away. I'd definitely go back when the Cafe D'Arts is open after the renovations that were taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, Director of Sales at Le Duc de Praslin, responded to this review

Hi Dennis! It was great to welcome you and we are delighted that we have made your holiday a memorable one. You are most welcome to come back to visit us especially once our Cafe des Arts restaurant will be back in operation, with its new addition, our "CHILL OUT" Tapas Lounge Bar. See you again soon!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

740 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (726)
Viewed
Dining (87)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (148)
Viewed
Room/suite (123)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (107)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Other (181)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question