We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

GK Beach Hotel

Apokoronas, Crete, Greece (Formerly Galazio-Kyma Villas)
GK Beach Hotel
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
There are newer reviews for GK Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The overall value for money was unacceptable. We have stayed in similar small beachfront family run hotels throughout Greece/ Greek Islands over the years all of which were half the cost of this holiday and all on a half board basis not just Bed and Breakfast. It was a basic holiday for a hefty price in our opinion. The accommodation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We were sad and surprised to read two recent poor reviews for GK Beach, both of which referred to exactly the same time as our own stay there (our fourth visit). In our experience GK Beach is a joy to visit and we look forward to returning each year. All of the staff welcome us as old friends and have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

GK is more 3* than 5* and the facilities are a bit tired; noisy ac, shower not working fully. Also customer service could be reviewed - towels changed twice a week (beach towels once a week) is not acceptable. The sea is not really for swimming in as a river outflow just up current makes this a particularly cold spot;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Marissa B, Guest Relations Manager at GK Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HowieLL Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at GK Beach Hotel. We were naturally disappointed to learn that you felt some of the facilities of the hotel did not meet your expectations. We have digested your comments and will be looking into them. However, had we known about some of these matters at the time we... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

The GK Beach simply can not be described as a luxury hotel. The suites are extremely basic. There is no real reception area (just a desk in an empty room) and no lobby or anywhere to go apart from the separately owned pool bar. The bathroom was very small and dark. The lighting is dreadful. The towels are changed only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Graham S, Owner at GK Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are all obviously disappointed to learn that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. As the owner of Simpson Travel and someone who knows GK Beach Hotel very well I would like to respond to some of your points. I also asked my staff at the hotel to give me a full report... More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

A fabulous holiday to Crete, and a wonderful stay in the GK Beach Hotel at Kalyves. Very attentive and friendly staff; a big thankyou to Harvey and Sarah! Wonderful views from our balcony, and we could fall out of bed in the morning and roll into an amazing breakfast of fresh melons and orange juice and then another roll into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

W have recently returned for a very relaxing and enjoyable 14days at GK Beach hotel. Excellent accommodation and what is advertised is what you get. Very enjoyable buffet breakfast and you good eat there in the evening for a reasonable price. Service through out the week was excellent. Very friendly and helpful staff You have the choice between the beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our first visit to Crete,and travelling with friends we hoped the GK beach Hotel would be just what we were looking for... We were not disappointed, it is what is says on the tin, right on the beach, the location is excellent, and the views from our balcony in block "A" just stunning! we were lucky enough to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tobago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Hotel and the facilties are very good, the food is excellent and the people are wonderful. We relaxed completely and then went exploring. The location is ideal for going in to Hania, which we want to see more of and the magnificent beaches at Farsalana.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Second time at the GK. First a week 2 years ago then a fortnight this June. Crete how it should be. A few steps to the beach, friendly staff, excellent service, lovely grounds great food... Simpson arranged everything perfectly answering all queries efficiently and quickly and staff had excellent knowledge of the resort and area. Hire a car and explore... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Where do I begin???? It's the attention to detail which really made this hotel stand out for us. The room was pretty with fresh decor, the bed was extremely comfy (I have back problems so always suffer...not here!), a large balcony with comfy chairs overlooking the grounds/pool/beach. The kitchenette was a surprise and enabled us to make our own lunches... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question