We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Kataragama hotels

Mandara Rosen

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 57 Detagamuwa, Kataragama, Sri Lanka, Kataragama, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Mandara Rosen
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandara Rosen to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kataragama
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
ColinInHants Hampshire, UK
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    81
    48
    17
    15
See reviews for
62
88
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (206)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Gunnedah, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Where to start, this hotel is located 26klms from the CBD which is where everyone goes to take the Yala National Park Safari, so after a day of being shaken to death by roads that can't be described because there are no words for their abymisal condition, you a finally ferried to the Mandra Rosen, you think things will now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely wander through the grounds brings you to the hotel entrance. Once you're inside this is a visually impressive hotel spread over two levels with the pool cunningly integrated with the walkways. With rooms offering a blank face to the open corridor it comes as a pleasant surprise to find tht rooms are large, spacious and well laid out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandararesort, Manager at Mandara Rosen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Our rooms are spacious, comparing to majority of the hotels in Sri Lanka. Due to heavy rains in most areas in our country during the past few weeks, the production of vegetables and fruits were limited. We are sorry for the situation you faced in our restaurant as mentioned. Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. More 

Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
89 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looking for a nice dinner for the occasion, my wife and I settled on this resort property, as it was near to where we were staying. We had a nice, quiet dinner in the cafe, away from the mass NYE's dinner in the restaurant where a buffet was set up for what seemed like hundreds. I had the "Jungle Book"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandararesort, Manager at Mandara Rosen, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are glad to know that both of you enjoyed the dinner on 31st. It would have been brilliant if you had chosen to stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments. We will be happy to see you again at Mandara Rosen. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is nice, staff is friendly, rooms are clean. What i didn't like is the dirty pool, water is clean however there are lots of insects and leaves in it, they should clean it on regular basis during the day and not just in morning. One more thing i didn't like is food quality, there in dining is better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandararesort, Manager at Mandara Rosen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. The pool is cleaned on a regular basis and is being treated daily, at night. We experienced heavy blowing during the past few months which brought leaves and dust to the swimming pool and around. We are sorry for the inconveniences you had faced during your stay at our hotel. We... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for just one night in November 2014. The rooms are large and generally in good order, although the tv choice was poor. It rained heavily while we were here and some of the walkways were very slippery despite the efforts of the staff to mop the water up. The coffee shop was disappointing with a very long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandararesort, Manager at Mandara Rosen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have 16 most preferred TV channels but have plans to enhance further. As Kataragama where our hotel is located has dry weather year round, except for about 2 months, rain has not effected the hotel operation and there have been no accidents. We are sorry for the service delay you had at our Coffee Shop and the... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were two families had booked two triple rooms at this hotel on christmas eve. when we checked in they offered us three single beds in both the rooms. when requested that we need a double bed and an extra bed for the extra person, the FOM (a lady) states as a matter of fact that they give double rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mandararesort, Manager at Mandara Rosen, responded to this review

Dear Sir, You were met by the Resident Manager who intervened and attended to you and family personally. You were offered any alternative meal on the Gala Buffet night since you were vegetarians but if you could recall, you said you were fine. We sincerely apologize once again for the inconvenience you faced upon checking in. We value your comments... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cool place. Just few kilometers away from kirivehera temple and kataragama dewalaya. Really nice staff. Food is awesome. As vegetarians we had lot of choices. Large pool. Also a spa is available. Really nice service. One of the best places to stay in Kataragama.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandararesort, Manager at Mandara Rosen, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely comments made in TripAdvisor. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please tell your friends about Mandara Rosen. We trust that you will visit us again. Best wishes, More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

This hotel was OK, not brilliant, but not terrible. The rooms are large, with AC and decent bathrooms. Not spotlessly clean, but acceptable. The bed was comfortable. The pool area is excellent and the pool very clean and a good temperature. There is a massage center very close by that was good and reasonably priced. The reception area is large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandararesort, Manager at Mandara Rosen, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Lizfawn, We are expanding Wi-Fi ro reach all guest rooms. It is a common courtesy to offer a welcome drink to all our guests which can be politely refused by by anyone. The Architectural plan was to have the main restaurant where it is now and most guests seem to like the location and the restaurant. Majority of... More 

Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

In July 2014 my family and I went to this hotel to have lunch and use the pool. The lunch was not tasty, and was over priced for what was given. The pool was not clean and the changing rooms were filthy and smelled. There were big puddles of what on the floor. The restroom that were adjacent the lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Having stayed at this hotel a few times, we found the services was better than the previous visit. The quality of the food was good, with limited choice. Staff were friendly, helpful and able to converse in English and Sinhal. We understand the management is unable to keep most of the good staff because they leave to work in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mandara Rosen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandara Rosen

Address: No 57 Detagamuwa, Kataragama, Sri Lanka, Kataragama, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Kataragama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandara Rosen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mandara Rosen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandara Rosen Kataragama

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (165)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay