We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Horten hotels

BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jernbanegaten 1, Horten 3187, Norway
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30 % Off Scandinavia
BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Horten
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    16
    16
    3
See reviews for
3
5
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Sattahip, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located close to the ferry terminal between Horten and Moss. The personnel in the lobby were very service minded. The breakfast was OK. The dinner menu was small but the food was very good. I stayed there from sunday to Friday two week in a roe. I had two different rooms one single and one double. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Kaptein123 Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to see that you got good service, and enjoyed the food in our restaurant. Regarding the rooms we are currently renovating our hotel, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to brand new rooms the next time you visit Horten. More 

Alicante Province, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not the most pleasant of hotels. The room was on the fifth floor overlooking the fiord, which was the only plus side. The rooms decor and furniture is shoddy and for the price paid was poor value for money. There are workmen on site refurbishing a room at a time and the noise is very loud if you have the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Iain S, Thank you for your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and about the noise until 8 p.m. The workers are not supposed to work that late. As you correctly point out we are at the moment renovating our rooms, and I hope that you can give... More 

Travelers are raving about these Horten hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Not a great hotel at all terrible room with a small bed and unclean surroundings... Did not bother having an evening meal but if breakfast was anything to go by I wouldn't bother!! We ended up moving to a hotel in Tonsberg that was cheaper and was incredibly better!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Damien Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations this time. I hope you will give us a new chance some time in the future. Thank you for staying with us. More 

Cupar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Staying here for 3 weeks whilst in the area on business. The hotel appears old and very tired however maintained well and is very clean. Rooms are inoffensive and basic and once again maintanied well and very clean. Staff polite and friendly. Breakfast is very basic and the same everyday. The chef must love eggs, each day we get boiled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Douglas Thank your for staying with us for 3 weeks, and thank you for your feedback. I am happy to see that you found the hotel well maintained and clean, and that our staff provided good service. Regarding the incident with the taxi drivers it is correct that they use a room in connection with the pool table to... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and have to say there was nothing that stood out or had a wow factor. It's a place to rest your head, rooms are clean enough but the one I was in was small and dull. Basic, just a T.V and bed with toilet. No kettle, coffee, tea, etc. When you enter the hotel there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Sean Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the room you stayed in did not meet your expectations, on the other hand I am happy to learn that our staff did a good job, and that you enjoyed our restaurant and breakfast. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. More 

Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I accompanied my husband who had a 3 days conference with his job. I and 9 months baby spent most time relaxing in the room and around the hotel. The room was spacious and super clean,I had nothing to fear, my baby crawled all over. The toilet and shower was also clean. The breakfast buffet was GREAT, they have most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Nora Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. More 

Bexhill on Sea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

A typical Norwegian "old" hotel that has been well used, but it is all well clean, good sized room and good bathroom / shower with a pretty view over the harbour. The breakfast selection beats the best hotels I stayed at in Norway and the service was great. The staff went way out of their way to accommodate and help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Per Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate it. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially glad that you liked our staff and our breakfast. We hope to see you again soon :) More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This hotel has been around for a while. Very dated but the room I had was quite large. No air-conditioning but they did provide a fan witch turned out to be sufficient. Typical European corner shower, but I had a HUGH tub. Considering the location out of the main stream, I slept very well and that is all that matters.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Allan I am glad to see that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Ponchatoula, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This is a very old hotel and it looks and feels like it. The hotel front desk staff were not friendly. The restaurant was awful. My food was burned or very poorly prepared. The cook should probably look for other type of employment. My bed linens were not changed until I requested them to be. The breakfast buffet was uninviting.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Eddie I am sorry to hear about your experience in our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. More 

Jelgava, Latvia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Good enough for night retreat if one is in Horten for business purposes. Nothing to highlight, average breakfast buffet, reasonably sized rooms, comfy beds, usual BW cleanliness. Any extras mentioned (like iron, board, etc) are not provided in rooms but will be supplied on demand and free of charge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Kasx007 Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you had an okay stay with us. The next time I hope we will manage to make your stay even better. Welcome back :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell

Address: Jernbanegaten 1, Horten 3187, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Horten Municipality > Horten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay