We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Jernbanegaten 1, Horten 3187, Norway
Special Offer
30 % Off Scandinavia
BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Horten
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    18
    16
    3
See reviews for
3
5
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Best Western Horten Hotell for 5 days when I was at a course at Kongsberg Maritime. The hotell is now under refurbishment and my room had just been finished. The rooms are now very nice. Only thing maybe could be better is the ventilation but I just kept a window a little open during the night. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear KURTSTKURTST Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to see that you appreciated our new rooms, and were satisfied with our staff. Before 2015 is over we will have new ventilation and windows, and our public areas in the ground floor will be getting a facelift. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Turku, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I was positively surprised how nice looking were the interior in a refurbished room. I was staying two nights and I had my room in the 4th floor in the end of corridor. The room was very quiet and comfortable. Also the bathroom was modern and off course clean & tidy. Bed was good as well with two sets of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Traveller_mj12 Thank you for your feedback. I am really happy that you liked our new rooms and bathrooms, and that our personel was friendly and helpful. You are right that our refurbishing project is not complete yet. The plan is to complete the project within this year, where whole first floor is a part of that plan. We hope... More 

Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Spent 2 nights in this hotel, located pleasantly just across from the harbour. The room was spacious, clean and warm with all the basic amenities required for a simple business stay, staff were polite and efficient. Breakfast really good. it set you up for the day ahead, overall for my requirements on this trip the Best Western was very suitable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Stuart M. Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! More 

United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

This is the only convenient hotel in town close to businesses. It provides basic needs to sleep but don't expect any extraordinary amenities. Could use some serious updating.My room chain lock was broken and a cleaning attendant came in my room with their key without knocking. I had to go all night felling unsafe until they replaced it.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Jeramy H. Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to see that you enjoyed Horten, and we deeply apologize for entering your room without knocking. We will go through our procedures to prevent it from happening again. As you may have noticed we are currently renovating the hotel, and right after easter we will have 65 renovated rooms... More 

Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

The staff was very friendly. The room was clean, the bed was good and the bathrom was delicate and newley renovated. I had a room without a view, but that doesn't matter on a business stay. The breakfast was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear BrittH2013 Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you liked our new bathrooms, and at the moment we are also renovating our rooms. We hope to see you back soon. More 

Sattahip, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The hotel is located close to the ferry terminal between Horten and Moss. The personnel in the lobby were very service minded. The breakfast was OK. The dinner menu was small but the food was very good. I stayed there from sunday to Friday two week in a roe. I had two different rooms one single and one double. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Kaptein123 Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to see that you got good service, and enjoyed the food in our restaurant. Regarding the rooms we are currently renovating our hotel, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to brand new rooms the next time you visit Horten. More 

Alicante Province, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 via mobile

Not the most pleasant of hotels. The room was on the fifth floor overlooking the fiord, which was the only plus side. The rooms decor and furniture is shoddy and for the price paid was poor value for money. There are workmen on site refurbishing a room at a time and the noise is very loud if you have the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Iain S, Thank you for your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and about the noise until 8 p.m. The workers are not supposed to work that late. As you correctly point out we are at the moment renovating our rooms, and I hope that you can give... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Not a great hotel at all terrible room with a small bed and unclean surroundings... Did not bother having an evening meal but if breakfast was anything to go by I wouldn't bother!! We ended up moving to a hotel in Tonsberg that was cheaper and was incredibly better!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Damien Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations this time. I hope you will give us a new chance some time in the future. Thank you for staying with us. More 

Cupar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Staying here for 3 weeks whilst in the area on business. The hotel appears old and very tired however maintained well and is very clean. Rooms are inoffensive and basic and once again maintanied well and very clean. Staff polite and friendly. Breakfast is very basic and the same everyday. The chef must love eggs, each day we get boiled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Douglas Thank your for staying with us for 3 weeks, and thank you for your feedback. I am happy to see that you found the hotel well maintained and clean, and that our staff provided good service. Regarding the incident with the taxi drivers it is correct that they use a room in connection with the pool table to... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and have to say there was nothing that stood out or had a wow factor. It's a place to rest your head, rooms are clean enough but the one I was in was small and dull. Basic, just a T.V and bed with toilet. No kettle, coffee, tea, etc. When you enter the hotel there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review

Dear Sean Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the room you stayed in did not meet your expectations, on the other hand I am happy to learn that our staff did a good job, and that you enjoyed our restaurant and breakfast. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question