We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crystal Bay Yacht Club

209/1 Moo 4, Ao Thongtakian | between Chaweng and Lamai, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Yacht Club)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    37
    20
    9
See reviews for
41
66
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Hull
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a Seaview deluxe villa which I believe have been recently renovated. We didn't really have much of a Seaview from our balcony as shown in pictures when we booked so I was quite disappointed. We had room 605 and there were trees blocking the view of the bay from our balcony. Whilst I appreciate you can't go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Our Seaview Deluxe (or Hillside Seaview) all have slightly different views. Our resort has a lot of trees and tropical plants and therefore no two rooms will have exactly the same view. However I am very sorry if you feel the view was not as good as advertised. Regarding service at the resort. I am very... More 

Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wish we had found this place sooner so we could have stayed longer. We got a great deal on a massive free standing ocean view room. The bed was fantastic and we slept well. The beach is best we could find on the island with sift white sand shallow clear swimming water safe for kids (although a bit rocky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us, we wish you had found us sooner also. Perhaps you will come and see us again? Thank you for a great review. More 

California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The beach was beautiful! Definitely one of the best in Samui. Apart from that the place is OK at best. Price not too expensive but you can definitely find better value. Close enough to both Lamai and Chaweng so its only a short cab ride into town. A lot of reviews mention rude staff, I can't agree or disagree they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do pay alot of attention to customer feedback and always make changes where possible. Regarding beach access it is a tricky issue in Thailand, where resorts by law must provide access but few actually do. We choose to allow access to the beach via our car park and restaurant. We have never had any... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is definitely the upside of this hotel, the beach is really beautiful and there are a few nice restaurants on a walking distance from the hotel. The room we had (garden view) was also very nice and comfortable. As for the downside... We were terribly received by the staff !! Some of them were nice and helpful (the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you found some of our staff rude. We also received a complaint from another guest and the member of staff in question is being dealt with. Regarding not enough information when you check in, your feedback is very useful actually and we are now designing a new information sheet for guests when they... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just checked in to the Crystal Bay Yacht club.. But my partner and I had a very rude welcome. We had requested during the booking to have an airport transfer to the hotel but received no response from the hotel whether or not we had a transfer organised. After travelling 10 hours to get to Koh Samui after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

We were very surprised and disapointed in our staff member for her behavior in this situation. it is totally unacceptable. We made sure she apologised to you and she has been warned not to let her personal life affect our customers again. It was out of character but we will not allow it to happen again. We are very sorry... More 

Dunedin NZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

If you are looking for a lovely beach on a small bay this could be the place. The bungalows are spacious and well appointed. The resort is a little tired but is slowly making strides of improvement. The buffet breakfast at the new Rock Salt restaurant is fine. The beach with it's calm waters is the real attraction and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We have made many improvements to the resort since taking over and have many more planned. I hope you can come back and see us again. More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Apparently under new management for the last 6 or so months, so any older comments might not be so relevant now..... Not that close to Lamai beach where all the shops and restaurants are but a short tuktuk trip or on one of the taxi bikes gets you around cheap and easy. We had a car and there was parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent and detailed review. You are right that the resort has been under new ownership since July 2014. We have made alot of upgrades so far but still have many more planned. Very glad you loved our restaurant, Rock Salt. If you have time we would love you to review it here: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g2314594-d7360324-Reviews-Rock_Salt-Maret_Ko_Samui_Surat_Thani_Province.html More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

After reading the reviews I went here with a open mind. However, the room was not as advertised, old TV, rooms with out mosquito nets etc and when I complained they just shrug their shoulders and say they will get back to you, but they NEVER do. This also happened when I had a accident and followed up with them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you had a poor experience in our resort. We have made many upgrades to the resort since taking over last year and some of the pool and beach furniture has been replaced already and we plan to upgrade the rest soon. Regarding the level of service in the resort we are now looking to recruit... More 

San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

We just had the most wonderful and relaxing week at Crystal Bay Yacht Club! We can wholeheartedly recommend this resort for those that are looking for lazy days in a lovely spot. The beach is lovely to look at and sunbathe, but not a great swimming beach. Lots of rocks and coral, which adds to the charm. The food in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. Hope you can come see us again. I would just like to point out that Crystal Bay is a great swimming beach but to avoid the coral and rocks you will need to walk a few meters down the beach towards our other resort Crystal Bay Beach Resort. More 

east preston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

My wife and I spent one week here and I can thoroughly recommend the resort. Fabulous view from our ocean view room, very comfortable bed, large room and cleaned spotless every day.The beach was superb and cleared every day of flotsam etc.The food is of the highest quality and expertly prepared, some of the best I have had in Asia.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. Very glad you liked our new restaurant Rock Salt also. You can leave a review for it also if you have time. http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g2314594-d7360324-Reviews-Rock_Salt-Maret_Ko_Samui_Surat_Thani_Province.html More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay