We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crystal Bay Yacht Club

3.0 of 5 209/1 Moo 4, Ao Thongtakian | between Chaweng and Lamai, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Yacht Club)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    28
    17
    7
See reviews for
32
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been living in Thailand for almost two years. My family came for a visit and we wanted to spend a few days in the beach. We choosed this resort for the good reviews, price and beautiful pictures (reality is not like the pictures!) . Normally I check reviews very carefully in booking.com, agoda and tripadvisor. I have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worms, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The restaurant, bar and kitchen is under repair and modernisation. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The cove is beautifully quiet and peaceful. Sadly rubbish does float onto the shore from elsewhere but the hotel staff react quickly early morning and clear the beach. This, I understand, is a growing problem for all Thailand beaches. The rooms are clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I have just spent 5 peaceful and idyllic nights at the Crystal Bay Yacht Club. I can now understand why some reviewers came for a few days and stayed for a month or more. It is difficult to explain how beautiful this location is and how lovely the hotel. It is not polished or pretentious but understated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights and i seriously couldnt fault the place!! Got a gorgeous private beach with little huts to lay in looking over the sea!! The sea had quite a lot of rocks in so wasnt ideal to swim in at places but if you looked atound there were perfect spots!! Staff in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thanks for your 5 star review. I hope you can come soon. More 

Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We stayed almost a month at Crystal Bay and it became like home. Great staff, lovely bungalows, big bathrooms. Special thanks to ... everyone. From the girls at the reception desk to the restaurant team. We have not been easy customers, rather boisterous, always in need of something or other. French in short. But what's best than an early swim... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful and kind review and hope you come visit us again. More 

Beijing
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

As a local, I go there offen for its beautiful beach and lovely food. The restaurant there used to be wonderful but my recent visit was disappointing. I heard that there has been a mangement change-over. The spring rolls as one of tourists's favorite Thai dishes used to be so good and hand-made but now they are just tiny and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Sorry you were dissapointed in our restaurant when you visited. We have made a huge number of improvements to the resort since we took over in July, but there are still a few areas where are working hard to improve. However, I am very happy to tell you that our restaurant is currently having a multi million baht refit and... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Very good location on a wonderful Beach (even if THE best access to THE seaside is from THE other end of THE Beach). Big and silent rooms, good breakfast. THE restaurant is med level, quite high prices vs THE general offer. THE staff is kind and helpful. Very good and romantic place to stay! Good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at what was previously Samui Yacht Club for three nights in July 2014. We first inspected it before we checked in and although it looked tired, it was well situated on beautiful Silver Beach and. it appeared to have a rustic charm about it. The one thing the hotel has going for it is wonderful staff they have.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. You are correct that the resort is in need of some upgrades. We just took over the resort at the beginning of July 2014 (4 weeks ago as I write this) and we have already started to implement many changes. The beach and pool and gardens are almost perfect already but the rooms are in need... More 

Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Formerly called Samui Yacht Club, this resort hotel with old, tired, spacious bungalows has new management from 1 July 2014 (the same managers who do an excellent job at Crystal Bay Beach Resort 100 metres up the beach), so some of the small 'issues' are sure to be ironed-out quickly. The rooms are a bit outdated but are clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thanks for your honest and detailed 5 star review! We are absolutely thrilled to take over such a large and wonderfully located resort such as this. As you rightly mention, the resort is in need of some upgrades, and we will be implementing many over the coming weeks and months. The restaurant is our first priority and we have already... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The resort is the last of five on silver beach therefore is quiet and not many people on that area. The staff is friendly and didn't made any issues with us making early check in and late check out without Extra fee. We had no hassles whatsoever for renting a car and motorcycle. All that process appeared transparent and fair.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomDarwin, Partner at Crystal Bay Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thanks for your detailed review. You stayed at the resort some time ago and the resort is now under new management since July 2014. We are making a lot of upgrades to the resort including massive improvements in the Restaurant. I hope you can come and visit us again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crystal Bay Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Bay Yacht Club

Address: 209/1 Moo 4, Ao Thongtakian | between Chaweng and Lamai, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Yacht Club)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Bay Yacht Club 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crystal Bay Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Yacht Club Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Yacht Hotel
Crystal Bay Yacht Club Ko Samui/Lamai Beach
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay