We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garden Route Game Lodge

3.0 of 5 N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Hotel packages
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Offers & Announcements
Great Rate - R 3790/nt
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Garden Route Game Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Garden Route Game Lodge
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    135
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
144
211
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (486)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (116)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (113)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were bitterly disappointed by this place. We stayed in one of the cute wooden round room (cabana?). The photos shown on this site make the rooms look MUCH bigger than they were. For the price (not cheap), the room was not what we expected at all. The bathroom was so small, we both couldn't be in there at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Besides seeing the big 5, the staff were friendly and very helpful to assist me with any needs or questions i had and the accommodations gave me the true south african experience i was looking for. I will be coming back again for sure!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Roger, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had a lovely stay, saw the Big 5 and that the staff were friendly and helpful. We are delighted to hear that you had a true African experience and that you enjoyed the accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Megan... More

Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staying at this lodge was one of the best experiences of my life. The thatched chalets out in the scrub land with animals and birds galore is a dream come true. The accommodations were so charming, I felt like I was traveling back in time. The food in the restaurant was plentiful, delicious, and marvelously displayed. The cozy fireplaces really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Carla, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so delighted to hear that staying at the Lodge was one of the best experiences of your life that you found the accommodation charming, the food delicious and the Game Drives beyond your expectations! We look forward to your next visit for yet another wonderful experience. Warm Regards,... More

Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
75 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arriving early was no problem, we had a warm welcome and though our room wasn't ready we sat in the bar and had coffee by the fire. The thing that stands out is that everyone is very friendly and helpful. Our chalet was spacious and clean, bed was comfortable, pillows just ok. Bathroom was well equipped though quite cold as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and sharing your experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, the spacious and clean chalet, the Game Drives and that your Guide did all she could to ensure that you see all the animals. I’m delighted to hear that the staff made you feel welcome and that they were... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at GRGM for 2 nights in September '14 and had a great time, starting from an excellent warm welcome from reception staff and one of the rangers, through lovely room and meals and most of all the safari drives. We stayed in one of the chalets which was lovely, clean, extremely nicely decorated. Only thing I'd say is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend and I visited the Garden Route Game Lodge for the first time and had an experience to be cherished and remembered. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and our little thatched roofed rondavel hut was just gorgeous! The food provided at the buffet breakfast and dinner was just incredible and our safari game drive far exceeded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you for your insightful review. We always enjoy great feedback and we are so happy to hear that you had a cherished, memorable experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the gorgeous Chalet, the incredible food and that the Game Drive with knowledgeable Matthew exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back with... More

Killinchy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I didn't really know what to expect of this place or how good the safari would be but I was definitely excited about it. It was even better than I thought it would be. We arrived just after dark and got escorted to our cute safari hut (along with a warning to look out for critters such as honey badgers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night and our first impression of the resort was very good. Stunning location, clean pool area, clean rooms and fair prices for the drinks. The game drives itself were a fun experience as long as you bear in mind that it's just a big zoo you're visiting. Staff was friendly but completely disorganised, especially in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GManagerGRGL, Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our private game reserve on the Garden Route. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and found the grounds and public areas to be in a satisfactory condition. While our private game reserve is 3000 hectares ( 7400 acres) in size we are in a... More

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The front of house rang me to ensure that i was okay as i travelled; the manager met me as i arrived, the chef shared a recipe and the game driver made me laugh; all whilst seeing the "Big 5". Loved my time at GRGL!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

stayed here as part of our honeymoon and was amazing from start to finish the staff were great the safari was cool the food was amazing apart from maybe a better vegetarian offer but that was only a minor detail all meat was cooked in front of you the best . The accommodation was also great views of the animals... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Garden Route Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Route Game Lodge

Address: N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Albertina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Route Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Garden Route Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Route Game Hotel Albertina

323 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (310)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (186)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay