We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Capo Sud

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Via del Capo Marinaro, 301, 57031 Lacona, Capoliveri, Elba Island, Italy
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Capo Sud
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Capo Sud
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    73
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
140
146
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (346)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (203)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Capo Sud
See the most recent reviews
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed for 6 days, left just two days ago and I can tell straight away I already miss the incredible views, lovely setting, and quality of the water. The beach is really near to the hotel, just about two steps away. Couldn't bother with the swimming pool since the sea was so clean and near hehe. I'd like to remark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
HotelCapoSudFrank, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review

Dear Erika P00, we thank you so much for your review and for your time. We are happy you spent an enjoyable holiday in our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our cuisine, always genuine and with fresh ingredients, the tranquility and cleanliness of our beach and the courtesy of all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

The Capo Sud is a hotel of contrasts. We were disappointed that the room was poorly furnished and the air conditioning did not work. The management offered an alternative room but we elected to stay were we were and found that switching off the (uneccessary) drinks refrigerator made a significant difference to the temperature. We had become paranoid about mosquitos... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelCapoSudFrank, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your comment. It's our policy to do our best in resolving all kind of problems and in this situation particularly, we offered us to change the room for a better satisfaction, but our suggestion was denied. This can let us think that probably the problem was small. During the closing time of the Bar... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

After having booked this holiday following generally good reviews on "Trip Adviser" we were disappointed at arrival at the hotel. Although set in a beautiful natural spot and quiet surroundings the accommodation left much to be desired. The chalets are very basic and in need of update. There is no Air Conditioning available in any of the Chalets just a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelCapoSudFrank, Direttore at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review

The air conditioning is available only in some rooms and on request at time of booking. It never happened before that a Guest, who reserved a room with air conditioning received a room without it. About the cleaning products, since this year, our hotel adheres to eco-hotels of Legambiente, the association that is committed to protect the environment and nature.... More 

london uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Capo Sud in Jun 10.It was a exquisite experience with very attentive staff,awesome food (kudos for the fresh fish!!) and brillliant location with a private beach. This is a place to go if you want to relax and while your day away. We will be definitely coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelCapoSudFrank, Proprietario at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your opinion on our House. Our cook and his staff are proud of your praise; all of us wll do our best to make enjoyable your next holiday at the "Capo Sud"! More 

Bergen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay. Close to the beach, clear water and a nice hotel in total. The only exception was the head waiter. We arrived for dinner and outside the restaurant it was 6 tables occupied and 12 tables not in use. We asked for permission to eat outside but did get strange arguments that it was impossible.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelCapoSudFrank, Proprietario at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review

Thank you for appreciating the setting of our Hotel. The task of a maitre is not an easy one: usually all the commensals of our restaurant would like to eat near to a window (with any weather), on the terrace (if the weather is warm) and inside (if it is windy), and for a matter of space or of organisation... More 

Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

The people at this hotel are very, very helpful which saved us a lot of time and hassle. The location of the hotel on the nicer southern part of the island is ideal, the beach of the hotel is ok. The breakfast is good. We had room category blue with very nice view onto the sea and private balcony. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelCapoSudFrank, Direttore at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your appreciation of the "Capo Sud" and for the time spent to write your comment. We are glad you have appreciated the work of our steaff and our House. Please take note that in an island,like Elba, goods , some taxes and services are more expensive than on the continent: Comparing our pricess with those... More 

England
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

The locale and helpful reception staff were great. The swimming pool and sea side location are a bonus. It was a pity that you couldn't take your breakfast outside and that head waiter seemed to want to guide us to a less favourable table to keep window ones for his favourites. The location means that to really enjoy Elba you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelCapoSudFrank, Direttore at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review

thank you a lot for your kind words. In this season the warm weather has arrived much later than usual in Elba; that's why the breakfast has been prepared indoor till the beginning of June; since then our commensals have enjoued their breakfast outdoor and so it will probably be till september We hope you will be again our welcome... More 

New England,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Hotel Capo Sud is a hidden away lovely hotel in a fine location in Elba for those who prefer a warm, hospitable, family-oriented environment over the glitter of a five star hotel. The staff are gracious and helpful, the dining area clean and comfortable (one can sit on the terrace if one prefers), the food excellent, and the accompanying beach--where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelCapoSudFrank, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your appreciation! It's true, our hotel is hidden and far away from the chaos, but those who are looking for it, know how to find it! September is surely a very good time to stay at the hotel because you can enjoy the quiet all around and the sea is still nicely warm. We hope... More 

London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights, wished I stayed for more. We had a sea facing room with a gorgeous view and balcony. Most rooms are semi-independent small like cottages which is ideal if you want a more private stay. Room was a bit 70's decor but had all we needed. Bathroom on the small side but functional. The hotel is only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelCapoSudFrank, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments. Effectively the hotel panoramic position and the nearness to the sea is very appreciate from our guests, that's the reason why we have so many affectionated guests, as you correctly remarked and are happy you will be one of them. Raffaella Pagnini More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

388 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (146)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
4:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (199)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Blue Double Room (30)
Viewed
Blue Double Room with Futon (27)
Viewed
Blue Family Room (28)
Viewed
Green Triple Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question