We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Lowlands hotels

Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lowlands
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Allan J Port of Spain, Trinidad
  • Overview
  • Reviews (658)
  • Photos (708)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (289)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

658 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    219
    86
    43
    17
See reviews for
166
312
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As usual my family and had a quick getaway to Tobago for a mini vacation at Magdalena Grand. It was during the weekend of the world cup finals so in between pool activities were the big screen games in the pub. Wonderful breakfast, beautiful weather, great football finals...not for the Argentina supporters and overall great time had. One issue I've... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel has not been kept up. Service is pathetically horrible. We were told our room would be ready shortly around 1pm (no biggie - expected 3pm checkin). At 345pm we were told they gave our room away and it would be another 45 minutes. Not sure why it took so long as there were very few guests visible on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Having stayed at this Hotel many times before, made booking and was told Hotel full, not a problem but again I made booking another week later the price went sky high so I ask to speak with the Manager 32 days later NO one called. Total waste of time, rude staff and poor unhealthy buffet food; shower don't work and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A very nice hotel with decent facilities and has a relaxing vibe. There was however a strange aspect to this hotel as one side (atlantic side) is very windy and the other side is extremely hot. I also found that i would go back to the room and have white crystalline substance on my body, I think this is salt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Des707, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. While we are located on the Atlantic side of the island, we are delighted to provide a complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach twice daily. The wonderful ocean winds that grace us on this side of the island are not comparable to the still side... More

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I've stayed at Magdalena both for business and vacation. For the price, you can find better accommodations on the island. My Husband and I arrived for check in and the staff at the front desk were so disorganized (not the first time I've experienced this here). It took longer than expected to get our room keys and organized. We got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nadine_Bev, Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. Please note that our check-in time is at 3pm, however should you arrive earlier we would certainly try our best to accommodate you. If we are unable to do so, we would have been happy to store your luggage while you use our facilities until your... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a quick trip to Tobago. I read through Tripadvisor before booking and saw this was the highest rated resort on the island. We had high expectations based on this and with their ocean front rooms. Unfortunately we were disappointed but review the pros and cons of this resort.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear TravelGrl727, Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. It is indeed unfortunate that we were unable to provide you with the quality of service that is customary at the Magdalena Grand Beach and Golf Resort. We take customer service very seriously and are disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Where to start, with the good, most of the staff are great, Shenelle and Inez who are doing room service whilst I'm tapping this are super, full of local knowledge giving hints and tips on how to spend my time. The bad...perhaps the fact that I had to pay the entire 5 days stay plus $200 dollars "float" upfront when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that our team members made your trip a memorable one. We would certainly pass along your comments to those that were mentioned. Our policy requires full payments to be made prior to arrival, however, you are provided with an option... More

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best place to stay in Tobago, which is a fabulous laid back less commercial island. Although on breezier Atlantic Coast with not your typical sandy Caribbean beach, there are good beaches nearby and the bonus of having laying turtles on the hotel beach! Most rooms have sea views and room to relax outside- balconies or decks - and good facilities.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kathy4999, Thank you for your wonderful review! It was indeed a pleasure to be of service to you! We are also thrilled that you got to witness one of the most spectacular sights - the turtles laying their eggs! We hope you also took advantage of the complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach! We look forward to your... More

Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at Magdalena are more than friends, they are my new family. On the day of checking in my mom was terribly ill and the staff treated us so kindly. Every day they would check on us by calling our room or visiting us personally to ensure that we were all ok. I could not have asked for more.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Isha A, Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words. It was a pleasure to be of service to you and your mom. We know what it's like to be away from home and under the weather. We happy to have had the opportunity to help make things a little easier for you all. Thank you also for... More

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Formerly the Hilton, the government has taken over this hotel and revamped it. As opposed to other government projects in the Caribbean, this one actually works. The location is quite nice and peaceful. It is away from the hubbub of the Crown Point area yet does not feel isolated. It's an easy trip into Scarborough or over the Caribbean side... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dmittleman, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It was a pleasure to be of service and we are pleased that you chose the island of Tobago and the Magdalena Grand for your vacation. Great to hear that you got out a bit and did some sight seeing! Peter Cox is wonderful and is... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

708 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (476)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (100)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (162)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Deluxe Oceanfront Room (71)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
144

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer