We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Speyside B&Bs / inns

Blue Waters Inn

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Blue Waters Inn to your Saves list
Blue Waters Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
Ranked #2 of 4 Speyside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
Maddie_Chez Eastbourne, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (289)
  • Photos (258)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (89)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

We stayed at Blue Waters for 2 weeks, snorkelled in the bay & enjoyed 6 days diving, took the bus into Scarborough & Buccoo Point, visited Charlotteville, walked round to the next bays and organised a day trip with a local taxi driver to the rainforest, waterfall (not the Argyle which was low because there wasn't much rain) & englishmans... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited the hotel in June 2014 as a diver. It is a remote place far away from any city. It takes an hour and half to get there from Scarborough airport on a winding road that may make you sick. Do not expect spectacular views either. There are no places to walk to and spend evening. The one or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I frequently come and stay at Blue Waters for some wonderful peace and quiet and to recharge. The location is spectacular..the food delicious and the staff cannot be more helpful in and around the resort.....I have stayed in standard and deluxe rooms and have enjoyed both..i find the rooms very clean and the bed linen fresh..and attractive modern bathrooms...i particularly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review

What a glowing report - it seems as though Blue Water Inn ticks all the right boxes for you with the exception of the wine list. I will pass your comments back to the F&B manager to see how we can improve here. So glad you love our little peace of tranquility and calm and look forward to hopefully seeing... More

London, United Kingdom
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We, a small group of divers and a two year old, came here for the diving and stayed for two weeks. Overall the service, rooms, location and dive operation was very good. The location was beautiful with an array of bird life to entertain you. As for what was underwater, just fantastic, Beyond the resort, the rain forest is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we are truly happy you can report so many positives from your recent stay. Our location is indeed wonderful and allows divers easy access to the islands top dive spots and, as your rightly mention, the rainforest which is close by and must be visited when staying. There are indeed plans to refurbish the... More

San Fernando, Trinidad
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is amazing. Exactly what rest and relaxation on an island should be. Peaceful, calm, clear waters, Great friendly, attentive, respectful staff. Very clean rooms/ bath with towel change and tidied rooms everyday. Did not see an insect or mosquito. The meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner) were tasty. For me dinner was on par with international cuisine. Drinks at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, Marketing manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review

So pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay at Blue Waters Inn. We do try our best to make every guest stay special although "perfection" would be a tough call! We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. More

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This could be the most wonderful in the world. It embraces you with charming staff, good food, and the divine Anse Batteaux, a beach with shade, secluded yet not lonely : Arcadia. Is this how the legendary yet real Lakes of Albano and Nemi might be? Fresh air, streams of staff and endless tea and a strong cast of bird... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your highly positive review and we are delighted you had such a great stay at Blue Waters Inn. Our location is indeed truly special but is backed up by our dedicated staff who do their utmost to deliver great service. occasionally under trying circumstances! More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is charging way over the odds for the service they are providing. Our standard double was damp and dark with wet walls and mold on the ceiling and soft furnishings. The food is like English school dinners cooked by someone who doesn't eat English food and the dining room smells like the school cafeteria. Despite having a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You have mentioned a few points which did not meet your expectations which we are disappointed to hear. Indeed, your comments are in stark contrast to the other reviews we had at this time but I am pleased we were able to upgrade you to a Deluxe room for the remainder of your stay. It... More

Ipswich, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here as part of a two week birdwatching trip. Hotel was fine, right on the beach and everything worked. Food was good, but not outstanding. Staff very good. Saw quite a lot of birds near the hotel and the trip to little tobago was excellent. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and really pleased to hear you had a good birding holiday to Tobago and Trinidad. Blue Waters Inn is very popular with birders due to our close proximity to the rainforest and the off shore islands such as Little Tobago. More

Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We arrived at midnight after being delayed 3 hours at Piarco, but our hotel organised driver waited for us for at the airport to get us to the Hotel. he was a very good driver - whichw as important! We checked into our room to the sound of the waves - a little after dawn we looked out from our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review

Always goods to hear feedback from our guests and so pleased to hear you guys had a wonderful stay. Our location is gorgeous and perfect for complete relaxation. We do support the local fishermen and buy fresh fish as often as possible - it's good to spread the tourist dollar locally and support local people. We will be waiting for... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was the Reef section of our Tropical Rainforest and Reef Ecology course (May 2014). The rooms and staff were great. We snorkeled on Angle and Little Tobago Reef from the Inn. We also traveled to other side of Tobago to snorkel on three reefs on the Carribbean side too. Great trip and way to end a two week course... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review

Really pleased your recent trip ended on a high at Blue Waters Inn. Tobago has some excellent snorkelling and diving, especially just off the hotel meaning our guests have quick and easy access to the main sites. Thank you for your review and look forward to being of service again one day. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Blue Waters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Inn

Address: Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Blue Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Northeast Coast
Blue Waters Inn Tobago/Speyside

258 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (205)
Room/suite (21)
Dining (15)
View from room (16)
Pool/beach area (32)
Hotel & grounds (48)
Family/play areas (1)
Bathroom (1)
Videos (1)
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (54)
Pool/beach area (8)
Room/suite (8)
Hotel & grounds (5)
Dining (4)
Family/play areas (1)
Other (28)


Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With just 38 guest rooms and bungalows, Blue Waters Inn sits in 42 acres of tropical gardens directly on the beach at Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago. Getting to us takes approximately 85 minutes from the airport. Speyside is super relaxed with quick access to the Main Ridge rainforest and the key underwater sites of the island. Twitchers and divers / snorkellers are very well catered for and the hotel is perfect for those wishing to simply switch off and enjoy the hotels tranquil location. The beach shelves gently and is considered safe for bathing. Lay by the pool or in the open air jacuzzi and admire the view across Batteaux Bay towards Bird Island and Little Tobago in the near distance. Learn to dive at our 5 star PADI Instructor Development Centre or explore the rainforest with one of the local guides. All our rooms are air-conditioned and face the sea. Most offer fabulous sea views and are only a few steps from the sand. The Bungalows are bigger and offer either one or two bedrooms. Deluxe rooms are also very spacious and have an open plan kitchen / living room. ... more   less 
Number of rooms

See which rooms travelers prefer