We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Sossusvlei accommodations

Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge

Save
You added Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sossusvlei - Kulala Wilderness Reserve, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Hotel amenities
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sossusvlei
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    58
    15
    12
    4
See reviews for
33
86
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Kulala Desert Lodge 10 out of 10 for location close to the iconic Sossusvlei red dunes of Namibia, Delightful ambiance & the ability to have guest sleep on their roof, star-gazing for the night as my wife & I did to gaze at the twinkling inky black heavens festooned by what has to be a billion stars - astonishing experience.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On our second trip to Namibia with our girls (ages 5 and 7) we stayed here for two nights and were thrilled with the quality of the accommodation, the flexibility of the staff for kids' meals and the friendliness with which we were welcomed. I have skimmed some of the more negative reviews of the property and, with all candor,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rtwtripper1, You certainly do have a way with words. Thank you for your marvellous review we are delighted to see that the camp and its staff lived up to and in some cases exceeded your expectations. Unfortunately, you are not able to purchase tickets to stay in the park after sunset, as this is a National Park it is... More

West Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While I enjoyed my two night stay at the lodge it is pretty desolate and windswept. This is emphasised if you have - as we did -the furthest tent from the main building. Looking out from the lodge it is hard to see any other sign of human habitation for miles around. The wind blows in off the big red... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review

Dear IcebabyWestMidlands, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time in the desert with us, unfortunately everything you mentioned is just part of the experience of a Desert Safari. We hope the rest of your trip was more to your liking, The Kulala Desert Team More

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
90 hotel reviews
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay at Kulala Desert Lodge. Atasari, the manager, and his staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was quite good and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Only issue we had was that the lodge was quite full when we arrived and our thatched and canvas kulala was the furthest from the lodge. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Spriglet, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pity you were unable to take advantage of the sleep-out but understand completely as trying to navigate the stairs in the middle of the night can be rather tricky and even more so if you have to do... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 fabulous nights - our days filled with fantastic nature walks, nature drives, sundowners and delicious food. The staff was attentive and enthusiastic, with special kudos going to Deputy GM Carlin and guide Valentinus. The highlight was our Bush Breakfast, prepared for us while several oryx watched from a nearby ridge. Doesn't get much better than that....

Was this review helpful? Yes
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SusanRS1234, what a remarkable experience you had at KDL. Thank you for sharing your pure enjoyment of the variety of activities you participated in, the delicious food you dined on, as well as the company of the amiable staff and management complement. Thank you - your kind words mean so very much to us. Warm Regards the Kulala Desert... More

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

After being collected from the nearby airstrip we were driven to Kulala which appeared out of nowhere like an oasis in the desert. We thought the ochre coloured property had an almost Mexican feel about it and was very different to anywhere else we'd stayed. All the staff were great and we were warmly welcomed then shown our tent. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tembomamba, What a lovely way to describe the lodge as we very much agree with the sentiments mentioned by you as that is how we feel about this camp in the middle of the Namib Desert. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed not only the camp, but your lodgings as well as the setting. We do... More

London
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
85 hotel reviews
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We spent two nights here. The accommodation is great. It is semi-rustic, a tent with a thatched roof and concrete built bathroom at the back. Plenty of hot water and powered by solar energy. It is close to Soussoulvlei and the tour to the dunes was very good, as was the guide. Mattresses can be provided for you to sleep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Milonga, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear the management was all over the place with their instructions; we have discussed this with the staff and this should not happen again. Unfortunately WiFi is not in any future plans for our camp at this time; It has been a conscious decision of ours, for the foreseeable... More

Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 via mobile

We were made really welcome. The staff were helpful, especially Carlin who looked after us and made sure we had what we needed. In retrospect, a focussed start, more time and help with the big dune climb would have been useful but the search for ant lions was great. The food (and singing) was good and the setting wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Crmf2014, Thank you for your fantastic review, we will be sure to pas on your regards to Carlin and the whole team at Kulala Desert Lodge. We will certainly look in to the time allotted to guests for climbing the Dunes, perhaps it is a good idea to extend this time to allow everyone to enjoy this experience in... More

melano
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

The Lodge itself is clean and nice, but nothing overhelming. Personal is very friedly either guides and staff from restaurant and management. If you need to do a web check-in for a flight they are very kind in helping you. Rooms are clean and good, some moskito around, but with moskito net and with repellent manageable. Cuisine is the only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MelanoSwiss33, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad to hear that our staff were able to exceed your expectations and that the mosquito's did not cause too much bother. The latest recruit to the Kulala Desert Lodge staff is a Cape fox who has taken up residence under the main deck and patrols the length and... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

What a place in the middle of nowwhere. Beautiful terrace for afternoon tea and sundowners Staff put out a rooftop bed where we slept onel night under a cosy downie, albeit with hat,leggings and a fleece as well. Enthusiastic singing by the staff nightly Dining room can be cold so take evening sweaters and jeans rather than dresses . If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gillian M, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time. We pride ourselves on running quality itineraries and offering the best experience possible for such a remote location. If there is anything you feel that we can do to enhance your experience, please do not hesitate to contact... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge

Address: Sossusvlei - Kulala Wilderness Reserve, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Kulala Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge Sossusvlei, Namibia - Namib-Naukluft Park

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:48
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby