We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dover Beach Hotel

Hotel website
Dover BB15026, Barbados
Special Price
35% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dover Beach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dover Beach Hotel
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    112
    54
    21
    14
See reviews for
38
110
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (259)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a first visit to Barbados for my wife and I. We chose Dover Beach hotel because of the positive reviews. However, we were disappointed. We were allocated a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor by the garden. The room is in dire need of renovation. The grouting on the tiles throughout was black and the tiles and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to write your comments. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment in your accommodation. Our regret, is that you did not draw these problems to our attention during your stay. This would have afforded us the opportunity to take the necessary corrective measure or to switch... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 6th trip to Barbados and second stay at Dover Beach. We will definitely be back.DoverBeach had everything we wanted, Oceanview room, steps away from the beach, super friendly and helpful staff, closeto many restaurants, safe, clean and a well equiped kitchenette. The restaurant on site has been upgraded as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent visit. Your comments epitomize what Dover Beach Hotel offers. We are so happy that you have found favour with our location , facilities and that you have enjoyed your stay. All the best to you. Looking forward to welcoming you home again. Rgds Marcia More 

Langley Park,, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our 3rd stay at Dover Beach Hotel and what a lovely, lazy 11 days we had. The hotel has upped its game at their outside restaurant/cafe and although we'd planned to 'eat out' a few times, the offerings at the Dover Beach Hotel cafe itself were so reasonable that we just virtually rolled off our sunbeds into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your frank comments. We are happy to read that you noted that changes and have certain aspect to your liking.. From our most convenient location we offer a variety of accommodation and cater to a wide variety of customers. Some of whom cannot contain their... More 

Kincardine, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dover Beach Hotel is nice, intimate and clean. Beautiful sandy beaches are just steps away. The hotel is located at the end of St. Lawrence Gap, walking distance to restaurants, entertainment and shopping. The staff is very friendly and are always around to offer assistance. Mary is fantastic at booking excursions. If you wish to take a catamaran tour, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a wonderful review! Thank you for your recent visit and your lovely comments. We offer a complete service at the hotel. Mary ensures that the guests are well informed about tours and other happenings in Barbados and the other staff members are always anxious to play their part. We try our utmost to live up to our... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Split into two units, the original hotel with reception, bar etc and good rooms with excellent sea views from the higher floors, plus now an annexe which is behind the main hotel and has no views and is definitely second class. Not that its a problem if you are just wanting to use the beach and wander down the St... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent visit and your review. We are certainly happy to read that you have found some positive aspect about the hotel such as our location, cleanliness and comfortable beds. We do offer choices by having a variety of accommodation. The rates also reflect this. We have also check and found no evidence to suggest... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

The hotel boasts a prime location on the South Coast beach front. The bar and restaurant have been upgraded since our last visit, but thankfully the weekly Happy Hour still happens where bajan canopes, calypso music are the order of the evening and guests mingle. We met couples from Kent, Surrey and Northampton,England. The staff at Dover Beach Hotel were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent visit, your recommendations and your wonderful comments about our staff. We are thrilled to read that we have contributed to the enjoyment of your stay and that opportunities were created for you to mingle and meet other guests. We would like to assure you that we remain committed to taking care of our... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I've been visiting Dover Beach Hotel now for several years. There's a good recommendation right there. This last visit, the hotel seems to be better cared for. Freshly painted, more umbrellas, thoughtful and helpful staff, better restaurant service, immaculately clean -- all adding up to a great holiday experience. This is not a very fancy hotel, but one where it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent visit and for your continued loyalty over the years. Your comments about the staff, our perfect setting, and your overall acknowledgement of the improvements done to the hotel have certainly boosted our morale.. The fact that we have contributed to your vacation experience and that you are willing to recommend the hotel means... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We have been coming for 14 years , and its like a second home , and the views from the balcony are stunning . The staff are very friendly and helpful , recently the bar has been refurbished and the food improved , and more umbrella,s have been added . The hotel also organised a tour of the island and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent visit and for your patronage over the years. Your wonderful comments about the view from your room and our staff members have been well received. We are continually working on improving our service and facilities in order to "create the experience" for our valued customers. Best regards to you as we look forward... More 

Clarksburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The hotel was perfect for my mother and I. We like older hotels. They tend to be more personable, which the Dover Beach Hotel definitely was. We did not have a car, so we had to pay for taxis. If I had been with my husband, I would have rented a car.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarksburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I took my 89 year old mother for a one week vacation. The room that was included in my package was not quite what I had expected. The staff at Dover Beach Hotel were very accommodating and found us the perfect suite. My mother was not able to walk stairs, so they found us a room with a patio, for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent visit and your wonderful comments about our staff. It was our pleasure to accommodate both you and your Mom especially when we were able to switch rooms to add to her comfort. At Dover Beach Hotel we cater to all ages. Once again we thank you and look forward to your next visit.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

195 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (167)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
1:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question