We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dover Beach Hotel

Hotel website
Dover BB15026, Barbados
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale Up To 40% Off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dover Beach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dover Beach Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    64
    122
    56
    23
    16
See reviews for
40
120
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (281)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I am the best friend of JALUV review of this hotel. Everything she said is true. We have stayed at many Hotels in the Caribbean and this is the worst one.I have no problem with the staff. The staff is very polite and nice. But that's it. My response is to Marcia Y the Manager at the Dove Beach Hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you experienced some inconvenience during your stay. Due to the nature of the business, problems can occur at any time, however, I can assure you that we have had all the equipment in that room serviced to avoid any such re-occurrence. We have also put measures in... More 

yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited Barbados many, many times and prefer the small family run hotels rather than the large corporate ones. The hotel does exactly what it says on the tin. Small intimate and on the beach. The room we had was large, airey and modern. It had a fridge and electric kettle I asked for a toaster and some plates... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your recent visit. We are happy to read that you thought that the hotel portrayed the qualities of a small intimate hotel. We are also pleased that all your concerns were corrected in a timely manner and that your expectations were met, contributing to a perfect holiday. With regards to the beach chairs we have... More 

Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're looking for friendly, comfortable and authentic Barbados, and you want to be right on the beach, you should consider the Dover Beach Hotel. We've visited Barbados many times, and this was our second visit to the Dover Beach Hotel. We've been very satisfied on both visits and would happily return. This is not a luxury hotel, but its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your visit to Dover Beach Hotel and for taking the time to share your review. From all accounts it appears that you have enjoyed your stay in Barbados. We are thrilled about this. Friendliness, comfort are some of the great features which we share with our valued customers. Thank you once again for your continued... More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice place to stay nothing fancy but clean rooms and safe hotel. Steps away from beach and short walk from some great little restaurants and courtyard where beer is cheap. Nice people that own the huts make you feel at home

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your review. We do appreciate your brief comments and description of the property. All the best to you and please come again. Kind regards Marcia More 

Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved our stay at Dover Beach. We were already familiar with the island and looking to stay in this area. What we loved about Dover Beach: Great location (both beach and walking for food/ bars), nice patio to watch sunset on the ocean, small kitchenette allowed for some meals/ drinks, and even the food at the restaurant was good. Basic... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your review with others.. We concur that we have a great location and acknowledge the fact that we are not a luxury hotel but offer clean comfortable and affordable accommodation. How wonderful to add you to our list of satisfied customers!. Please note that we... More 

Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 weeks in June 2015 . This hotel is small and traditional and is located at the quiet end of St Lawrence Gap. There are 3 blocks , the main one has some sea view rooms and the other 2 have garden and road views and we had a garden/road view which was fine as you could watch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your wonderful comments about the staff and facilities. All of our Team members and Mary, our concierge, are thrilled to have contributed to your holiday experience. With regards to your concerns about the restaurant, we will discuss this matter with them and will strive to... More 

New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My best friend and I stayed here from 6/6-6/12/15 and I wanted to give a more positive review, but the bad out weighed the what little good there was so here goes: 1-on our 1st night at the hotel we noticed that the AC did not properly cool off the room, I made a complaint the next day and maintenance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your recent visit. It was certainly distressing to read your comments that the negatives outweigh the positives and that you really did not have a good holiday experience. We certainly must offer our apologies. Our regret, is that you did not find the time to speak to Management who is here daily and always have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dover hotels

Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I got a 40% deal online so I got the ocean front room. Room was two twin beds pushed together. Other than that it was a pretty standard room but I had a great ocean front room. It's a cheaper option in the gap. The resto on the property was pretty good too. Only downfall is that if u want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your recent visit to Dover Beach Hotel. We are indeed happy to read that you capitalized on a Special deal which was being offered. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that you had a beautiful view of the ocean. We do offer a variety of accommodation some with twin or... More 

greenford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

our holiday exceeded our expectations the hotel was very clean and tidy the staff couldn't do enough for you. The help and advise we were given were more than we would expect from a hotel the staff were so friendly they made our holiday.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your review. How wonderful to read that your holiday experience exceeded your expectations! Our team members are thrilled to have contributed to your wonderful vacation. Please note that it is our intention to exceed in providing excellent customer service to you,, our valued clients. Kind regards Marcia More 

Whitby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I have stayed at the Dover Beach Hotel many times over the past 28 years. The location is magnificent, right on the beach,and the views particularly from the Ocean View rooms are spectacular. The staff are most helpful and the atmosphere is relaxed, just right for getting into holiday mode.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcia Y, Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your recent visit to Dover Beach Hotel. We must be doing something right that keeps you coming. We really appreciate your loyalty and continued patronage through out the years. All our team members are pleased to have played their part to the enjoyment of your holiday experience and are looking forward to welcoming you back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

203 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (172)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
1:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay