We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solway Holiday Village

Hotel website
Skinburness Drive | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Solway Holiday Village
Add Your Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    154
    87
    83
    118
See reviews for
322
61
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (528)
  • Mar-May only
    (135)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (204)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we were on a sun newspaper break the caravan was clean and tidy no horrors had every thing we wanted but on the second morning the water boiler broke told reception sent somebody straight away to look at it could`nt be fixed put us in another van straight away and it was even better cheers to the team for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hagans-Leisure-Group, General Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hi Denise, Thanks for your review! We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon! :) Kind regards, Becky Hagans Leisure More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having just left this park after an enjoyable three night break I found myself having a giggle at previous reviews on here. Yes, we had some ups and downs with the park but overall we have left feeling like we've had a break and our 2yr old has had fun. The reviews that say there is nothing for children must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hagans-Leisure-Group, General Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hi SpinningJen, Thanks for taking the time to write up your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that your daughter had fun at Solway too! Also thank you for the constructive comments, we've taken those on board and will look into improving those points asap. Look forward to seeing you and your family again soon! Warm... More 

2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we checked in, the ladies in the desk were lovely, we opened our lodge door & it started it was like walking in to the 70s. Carpets were all dirty, the decor was very outdated, the couches smelled of sweat, it was very very cold even with the heaters on, you could even see our curtains move with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are in our seventies, looking for a quiet break and took up a `Sun` newspaper promotion 4 night caravan holiday. We chose the area as it is way off the beaten track, quaint and remote. We were a little apprehensive to read some of the critical and negative reviews on the internet, but we had no need to worry.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hagans-Leisure-Group, Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hi Alan, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review of your recent stay at Solway Holiday Village. We are delighted you had a great holiday, we'll pass on your kind comments to the staff at Solway! Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again soon :) Becky More 

doncaster
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend 20th -23rd Feb & had a lovely time. I'd read the previous reviews & was a little worried but as if ticked so many boxes for us (hot tub, soft play, pool, kids entertainment) we decided to give it a go. We chose a North Lakes Lodge with a hot tub. It was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hagans-Leisure-Group, General Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hi Jonige, Thanks for the positive review and we are all delighted that you had a great stay with us here at Solway! I've passed on your praise to Rory, he'll be pleased to hear that your little boy enjoyed the entertainment :) Kind regards, Becky Hagans Leisure More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just spent a week at Solway for the second time having previously visited in 2012. First of all we found the chalet (we stayed in 44) to be very clean and neat. It had everything we needed in it (although we would have liked some cleaning materials to use before we left) and was warm with the heaters on. Electricity... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hagans-Leisure-Group, General Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hi Aisforandy, Thanks for taking the time to write your review of your stay at Solway. First up we are delighted that you had an enjoyable time and that it was to your liking. We are working on upgrades but as you mentioned it is a time hungry thing but we are working hard and will get there very soon!... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a caravan which was clean and warm the people where very friendly and helpful . Thier is not much around and have to drive out to but is local to Carlisle castle and Keswick. The entertainment was ok but did not really take part and rather in pub down stairs was warmer. Went into swimming pool and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hagans-Leisure-Group, General Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hi Samantha, Thanks for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the staff pleasant and helpful! We hope you and your son will visit again! Warm regards, Hagans Leisure More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We are currently here staying in Chalet 61 (Buttermere) directly opposite reception. This is our 3rd visit here and think this may be the last based on so many things. Firstly the Lodge (Old Chalet with plastic cladding) - It is clean and so long as we feed in the pound coins it is also warm but the lay out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Hagans-Leisure-Group, General Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hi JMC663, Many thanks for your constructive comments here. We are all sad to hear that you feel disappointed certain aspects of your stay but we have read your review carefully and taken on everything. We have investigated further and actioned where we can. There are ongoing renovations throughout the park since your stay so we really hope you will... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Me and 5 other friends stayed here in the Orlando caravan from Friday until Monday in February 2015. The caravan was clean, tidy and in a good location. The pricing for things was very good, to hire the tennis court was only £2.50 per person and a £10 refundable deposit. They had a swimming pool, farm, tennis court, football court,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hagans-Leisure-Group, Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte, Thank you so much for your positive comments! We are delighted to hear you had a good time with your friends! Warm regards, Becky Hagans Leisure More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We arrived at around half past 9 (pm) on a Friday. The place is like a ghost town. The bar was absolutely dead. We collected our keys and dropped our stuff off in the chalet. After scrambling around in the darkness for 15 minutes we finally located the electricity meter - this provided you with about 20 minutes of electricity... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

221 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (180)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question