We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Silloth hotels

Golf Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Criffel Street | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4AB, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER BREAKS
Save Saved
You added Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Golf Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Silloth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
David C Banchory, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (121)
  • Photos (58)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    47
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
16
62
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banchory, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived at Silloth late on evening of 9thJuly after a cycle from Brampton on a very hot day. We made most welcome with secure bike storage. A delightful room with superb facilities. A wholesome tasty meal in the restaurant, great menu, - seem to remember the lovely chips! Service was excellent. Do not be put off by the flaking paint... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Golf Tavern is a slight paradox of an impressive interior and a fading exterior. First impression of he Golf Tavern are somewhat concerning. The exterior of the building could do with a serious lick of paint and the many of the windows need replacing. It creates a worrying feeling of what lies behind the recess door. The small reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had an excellent evening meal here whilst on holiday at Solway Holiday Village. Great menu, loads of choice for kids too. Food was delicious and also a bit different. Highly recommend a visit if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a pleasant place to stay with friendly and helpful staff. Our bedroom number five was very small but comfortable. The bathroom was large with a separate bath and walk in shower. Surprisingly comfortable fluffy bathrobes were provided but no face flannels and the glasses were plastic. In my view plastic glasses are rather downmarket for this grade of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Its great to hear you had a pleasant stay and found my team to be friendly and helpful. We provide guests with bathrobes and slippers but unfortunately not face flannels. Our bathroom drinking glasses are individually wrapped and plastic for 2 reasons, hygiene and guest safety, should you drop a glass onto the sanitary ware the glass and sanitary ware... More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We called in for afternoon refreshments when visiting Silloth. Whilst the staff were pleasant the choice was limited, only later to be notified they were out of scones for afternoon tea,. This was replaced with a toasted tea cake which was rock hard Exterior needs attention however I am sure it caters mainly for the golf crowd so I bet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Please accept my apologies for running out of scones on the day of your visit. Had you brought the texture of your teacake to our attention we would have replaced it without hesitation. Without any prior warning of how many afternoon teas we will serve on a daily basis its pure guesswork as to... More

Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our recent visit to the Golf Hotel Silloth was as usual most enjoyable. Garry, Paula and the rest of the staff were as usual friendly and looked after us well. The room was comfortable with dressing gown and slippers provided. Breakfast and dinner were tasty. Look forward to our next stay in September.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your recent review. It's really nice to hear you had another most enjoyable stay. I have shared your very kind comments with my team and we all look forward to your next visit in September. Kind Regards Gary P Conlan General Manager More

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time that my fiancée and myself have stayed at The Golf. Once again, we have been impressed by both the hotel and the staff. The room was impressive - clean, spacious and very comfortable. The friendly and efficient staff really made the visit - nothing was too much trouble. It is obvious that they ALL enjoy... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. It's great to hear you have enjoyed another stay and found your room impressive, clean, spacious and very comfortable. I am very fortunate to have a team of enthusiastic colleagues who all make huge efforts to look after our guests. I have shared your very kind comments and we all look forward to your... More

Lymm, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my second stay at the Golf Hotel in Silloth, as part of trips to play golf at the nearby Silloth Golf Course. (The golf was booked separately as the hotel is not connected to the golf club). I was upgraded to a newly refurbished room at the front of the hotel overlooking the town green. The room was... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our recently refurbished guest rooms. Glad you enjoyed your breakfasts and found my team to be friendly and helpful. We all look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Gary P Conlan General Manager More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were run down with wallpaper hanging off the walls, heavily stained threadbare carpeting and uncomfortable beds and the view from our room over dilapidated roofs and shabby buildings to the rear of the hotel were perhaps the worst of any Hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff however were most pleasant and friendly but the owners ,if... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. Sorry to hear you did not have a pleasant stay. Glad to hear my team were most pleasant and friendly. The owners since purchasing the hotel have invested over £500,000 in improvements and refurbishments. We are aware our second floor rooms need refurbished and this will be done as business permits. You have me... More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our first impression was Oh No! The front of the hotel was depressed, paint peeling off and looked nothing like the photo. Once inside we were met by outstanding friendliness, lovely room and great food. Sadly the heavy port traffic takes away the lovely room, as it is SO noisy. A coat of paint on the front and some decent... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. It's great to hear you were met with outstanding friendliness, a lovely room and great food. Sorry about the heavy port traffic. We will be addressing the outside as business permits. Great to hear your food was some of the best you have eaten in a Hotel and you had a great stay. We... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel

Address: Criffel Street | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Golf Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf Hotel Silloth, Cumbria

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Golf Hotel in Silloth underwent a major renovation in 2009. Gary Conlan, the Manager, with his enthusiastic team, will do everything they can to make your visit to us a pleasant one! We are privately owned and run and are passionate about local seasonal food, hospitality, quality and service, so sit back and relax and enjoy yourself!This historic landmark hotel in the town centre, overlooking the town green offers a private and peaceful setting for a few days relaxation "away from it all", a delicious meal in our refurbished lounge bar and restaurant or even perhaps a business meeting or conference. With growing function trade and traditional Sunday Carvery the hotel has everything to offer.The Golf Hotel is also gaining a reputation in North Cumbria as a wonderful wedding venue, either for a civil ceremony or the wedding reception itself or even both. Private party celebrations can also be catered for here. Why not celebrate an engagement, wedding anniversary or birthday with us?As well as comfortable bed & breakfast guest accommodation, we also offer a range of services for business visitors. We have rooms with excellent facilities which can be booked for business meetings or our Function Suite can be booked to hold a conference of up to 140 delegates. Set in the centre of the small coastal town of Silloth, noted for its invigorating but mild climate. It is well known for its peaceful laid back atmosphere or perhaps most of all, the beautiful Solway Coast Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), famous for its stunning sunsets, abundant bird life and beautiful coastline walks. Just a short swing away is the highly acclaimed 18 hole championship link golf course at Silloth-on-Solway Golf Club. Silloth is an ideal location for a short break or a family holiday. Our location allows easy access to the Cumbrian towns of Cockermouth, Whitehaven, Workington, Keswick and the historic city of Carlisle - with easy access from the M6 and A66. And yet we're just a short drive to some of the most stunning scenery in the Lake District National Park, the Roman wall and the Scottish Borders and Dumfriesshire, which is visible on the opposite shore of the Solway Firth. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
22

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer