We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Silloth hotels

Golf Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Criffel Street | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4AB, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER BREAKS
Save Saved
You added Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Golf Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
77%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Silloth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Linda S Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (128)
  • Photos (58)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (38)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    51
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
16
64
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking for somewhere to stay in Silloth I was initially put off by the external appearance- some peeling paint, but was pleasantly surprised when we stayed. Our room was lovely- those on the first floor have been refurbished- with a huge bathroom and view over the green. Breakfast and dinner were both good, and the staff were friendly and helpful.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fine for a night or two. Lovely view over the green. Decor a bit tired. Breakfast very good. Evening meal ok. Service good in morning but ok and could be better in evening. Not much to do in Silloth in the evening but lovely level walk along the sea front with views to Criffel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. Kind regards Gary P Conlan General Manager. More

Yarralumla
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Golf Hotel is an excellent hotel with great staff and fine food. A perfect location in Silloth. My only suggestion would be to cover the skylights in the summer months in order to keep the rooms darker.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a lovely review. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Gary P Conlan General Manager More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had eaten at this hotel previously and that's why we stayed due to the lovely food. The room we stayed in was good in size but was not clean and full of dust. I mentioned this to staff when departing. The receptionist asked me to show the house keeper the issues which I did and was advised it gets... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your recent review. Your feedback is invaluable to us and very helpful. We will ensure our dusting is maintained to the highest standards as the majority of guests inform us our hotel is very clean. Our carpets are vacuumed on a daily basis as is testament to the number of vacuum cleaner bags used per week.... More

Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here overnight as we we're playing at Siloth Golf Club the next day. Staff we're very friendly and the cooked breakfast fab! Stayed here before and would sty again. Bathroom a bit jaded now, but still clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your recent review. It's lovely to hear that you had another enjoyable stay. Please return soon. Kind regards Gary P Conlan General Manager. More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was adequate for our needs, but pricey for the quality offered. We had an 'executive, room on the rear of the first floor which was on the small size and unfortunately had the kitchen extractor fan immediately outside. The view from the window was of scruffy flat roofs. The decor in the room was tired and scuffed in... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your recent review. I am afraid I cannot concur with your statement "the view from the window was of scruffy flat roofs". We have a clean well maintained flat roof to the rear of our Hotel, it is a flat roof however but certainly not scruffy. We recently had to remove all our bath panels as... More

Workington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed in much better for £ 50 charged here, breakfast was good though. Would only consider revisiting if hotel went through renovation. The rooms on first floor are said to be much nicer but the room I had should not have been £50, £20 more like. Shower took ages to warm up and bed was uncomfortable as it probably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. I am very sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay. Please contact me personally on your next visit and I will ensure you have a fantastic experience. Kind Regards Gary P Conlan General Manager More

Geneva
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good plentiful food, very helpful staff for sorting our gear and bikes, rooms, personally beds quite soft, all in good value.. While purely cosmetic when you arrive your heart sinks as the outside is in serious need of a lick of paint and could put off potential customers.. Invest a little and you will match with the interior and get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. Please return soon. Kind regards Gary P Conlan General Manager. More

Banchory, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived at Silloth late on evening of 9thJuly after a cycle from Brampton on a very hot day. We made most welcome with secure bike storage. A delightful room with superb facilities. A wholesome tasty meal in the restaurant, great menu, - seem to remember the lovely chips! Service was excellent. Do not be put off by the flaking paint... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. It's lovely to hear your room was delightful with superb facilities and you enjoyed your wholesome and tasty meal. Please return soon. Kind regards Gary P Conlan General Manager More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Golf Tavern is a slight paradox of an impressive interior and a fading exterior. First impression of he Golf Tavern are somewhat concerning. The exterior of the building could do with a serious lick of paint and the many of the windows need replacing. It creates a worrying feeling of what lies behind the recess door. The small reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. It's very nice to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. Please return soon. Kind regards Gary P Conlan General Manager. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel

Address: Criffel Street | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Golf Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf Hotel Silloth, Cumbria

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Golf Hotel in Silloth underwent a major renovation in 2009. Gary Conlan, the Manager, with his enthusiastic team, will do everything they can to make your visit to us a pleasant one! We are privately owned and run and are passionate about local seasonal food, hospitality, quality and service, so sit back and relax and enjoy yourself!This historic landmark hotel in the town centre, overlooking the town green offers a private and peaceful setting for a few days relaxation "away from it all", a delicious meal in our refurbished lounge bar and restaurant or even perhaps a business meeting or conference. With growing function trade and traditional Sunday Carvery the hotel has everything to offer.The Golf Hotel is also gaining a reputation in North Cumbria as a wonderful wedding venue, either for a civil ceremony or the wedding reception itself or even both. Private party celebrations can also be catered for here. Why not celebrate an engagement, wedding anniversary or birthday with us?As well as comfortable bed & breakfast guest accommodation, we also offer a range of services for business visitors. We have rooms with excellent facilities which can be booked for business meetings or our Function Suite can be booked to hold a conference of up to 140 delegates. Set in the centre of the small coastal town of Silloth, noted for its invigorating but mild climate. It is well known for its peaceful laid back atmosphere or perhaps most of all, the beautiful Solway Coast Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), famous for its stunning sunsets, abundant bird life and beautiful coastline walks. Just a short swing away is the highly acclaimed 18 hole championship link golf course at Silloth-on-Solway Golf Club. Silloth is an ideal location for a short break or a family holiday. Our location allows easy access to the Cumbrian towns of Cockermouth, Whitehaven, Workington, Keswick and the historic city of Carlisle - with easy access from the M6 and A66. And yet we're just a short drive to some of the most stunning scenery in the Lake District National Park, the Roman wall and the Scottish Borders and Dumfriesshire, which is visible on the opposite shore of the Solway Firth. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
22

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golf Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer