We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tube \\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    32
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
19
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place is awesome! If you're like me and you hate those industrial/impersonal places in a natural environment (it just doesn't make sense), this is your spot. Our booking was correct and we got our 3 beds in the cabin right next to the entrance. They were still building the pool back then, and by "they" I mean the people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed only one night in this hostel but thats enough to say that we wouldn't come back again. First of all the stuff is very unfriendly and not helpful. We arrived about 2 hours before check-in time. The woman at the reception told us we can't get our rooms yet, because they're not ready. That thing itself isn't actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our two-night stay here was hindered by wet weather, we stayed in one of their unique log cabins and they provided us with extra blankets. But the most amazing treasure they have is their dinner chef: man the guy can cook! BEST chicken schnitzel i have ever tasted - homely comfortable delicious food perfect for the weather. Good friendly vibe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Alfred, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

What a great, clean and hospitable place! I visited Tube ’n Axe with different kind of groups, first time with students, second time with my dad and the last time with some friends (we are all Hospitality students). This shows already that the backpackers place is not only for backpackers. Due to the wide range of rooms (4 Persons room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Stayed here for 1 night. Was clean and comfy. Food was good and reasonably priced. Loved sitting by the fire! Only complaint was my room was right next door to the bar so was very noisy which meant it took a while for me to fall asleep. Staff were friendly and informative about local activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

I went there in February and always wanted to write a review but kept forgetting! It's an amazing place to stay with good vibes, nice and helpful staff and a beautiful location. Thanks to Charles (you'll get to know him if you stay there) I bungee-jumped from Balkarns Bridge. An amazing experience and if it wasn't for him I certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

I stayed here before/after completing the Otter Trail trek. The before we had a room w shared bathroom. This was a bit rundown, forgotten and dirty. Bathroom I don't want to mention - outside and not kept clean/foliage & insects not controlled. On our return we had an en-suite - It was like staying in a different place. Clean, comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sandy, My Name is Marius Marnewecke and I am the owner of Tube 'n Axe. Having read through your review I would like to offer my response to issues that you have raised: 1. The budget rooms in which you stayed on your first stay were in a very shabby state and we have subsequently fixed leaks in the... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Very nice setup for hostel, unfortunately no people when we were there otherwise the place would have been much better. Safaritents are recommandable. Unfortunately no washingmachine for guests, no free coffee or sth, the sandwiches are not so good. The environment itself is pretty, but you can do nothing really in the evenings since the town is very little. Oude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

This was a great Backpacker place to meet people, drink and hangout. There's a fire pit and many hammocks that you can lay on. They were doing the pool when I was there, it would be a even better backpack place if there was a pool. The place is also has good scenery because you can see mountains in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nawojowa Góra, Polska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I camped there and everything was ok, except service. Maybe we were there on the bad day, but guy at the reception was acting strange - everything what I asked him he treated with aggression. And I don't think I was difficult in any way - it was the only place in South Africa I had this kind of awful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
0.2 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge
Armagh Country Lodge
#3 of 5 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
60.9 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#4 of 5 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#6 of 10 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dijembe Backpackers Hostel
Dijembe Backpackers Hostel
#2 of 10 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay