We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
17
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here before/after completing the Otter Trail trek. The before we had a room w shared bathroom. This was a bit rundown, forgotten and dirty. Bathroom I don't want to mention - outside and not kept clean/foliage & insects not controlled. On our return we had an en-suite - It was like staying in a different place. Clean, comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sandy, My Name is Marius Marnewecke and I am the owner of Tube 'n Axe. Having read through your review I would like to offer my response to issues that you have raised: 1. The budget rooms in which you stayed on your first stay were in a very shabby state and we have subsequently fixed leaks in the... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice setup for hostel, unfortunately no people when we were there otherwise the place would have been much better. Safaritents are recommandable. Unfortunately no washingmachine for guests, no free coffee or sth, the sandwiches are not so good. The environment itself is pretty, but you can do nothing really in the evenings since the town is very little. Oude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a great Backpacker place to meet people, drink and hangout. There's a fire pit and many hammocks that you can lay on. They were doing the pool when I was there, it would be a even better backpack place if there was a pool. The place is also has good scenery because you can see mountains in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nawojowa Góra, Polska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I camped there and everything was ok, except service. Maybe we were there on the bad day, but guy at the reception was acting strange - everything what I asked him he treated with aggression. And I don't think I was difficult in any way - it was the only place in South Africa I had this kind of awful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We were blessed by an awsome experience at tube n axe,the staff and atmosphere. My next visit to the area will be spent there. I would recommend it for anyone in the area that is passing through. A place of piece and a pocket of revival!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
28 hotel reviews
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We booked well in advance as we were a party of five (from Europe) roadtripping across SA. The booking process, via email, was exhausting having to speak to a different person each time and receiving very few replies. I sent an email confirming our arrival several days before staying, to which I received no reply. All other backpackers we stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We absolutely loved our stay here. Staff are friendly, the tented units where we stayed are clean and comfortable. Great entertainment area! They also have awesome activities available. Would go back to tube n axe anytime!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I stayed in the Tubenaxe with two friends for two nights and I am so glad we chose this backpackers. The facilities are amazing from the huge log fire to the incredible breakfast spread in the morning (breakfast is not included but is very affordable and veryou very good). The staff are great - if your need helpe organising anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Anais, Thank you for your wonderful review and I hope that we will see you again! Best regards, Marius More 

cape town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

My son and i stayed in T&A for two nights over the December period. We were doing the canopy tours so we just needed a place to lay our heads. The rooms here are very neat, and the outlay is great. However, the frontline desk is VERY unfriendly and no one takes the time to inform you of anything upon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S Wales
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
194 hotel reviews
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Title says it all. Nice friendly bar, decent beer good wifi. Had dinner there one night and the burger was fine! Be sure to visit it if you are in Storms River. Reviews have to be at least 200 characters so this makes up the text!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question