We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    30
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
18
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Port Alfred, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

What a great, clean and hospitable place! I visited Tube ’n Axe with different kind of groups, first time with students, second time with my dad and the last time with some friends (we are all Hospitality students). This shows already that the backpackers place is not only for backpackers. Due to the wide range of rooms (4 Persons room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Stayed here for 1 night. Was clean and comfy. Food was good and reasonably priced. Loved sitting by the fire! Only complaint was my room was right next door to the bar so was very noisy which meant it took a while for me to fall asleep. Staff were friendly and informative about local activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

I went there in February and always wanted to write a review but kept forgetting! It's an amazing place to stay with good vibes, nice and helpful staff and a beautiful location. Thanks to Charles (you'll get to know him if you stay there) I bungee-jumped from Balkarns Bridge. An amazing experience and if it wasn't for him I certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

I stayed here before/after completing the Otter Trail trek. The before we had a room w shared bathroom. This was a bit rundown, forgotten and dirty. Bathroom I don't want to mention - outside and not kept clean/foliage & insects not controlled. On our return we had an en-suite - It was like staying in a different place. Clean, comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sandy, My Name is Marius Marnewecke and I am the owner of Tube 'n Axe. Having read through your review I would like to offer my response to issues that you have raised: 1. The budget rooms in which you stayed on your first stay were in a very shabby state and we have subsequently fixed leaks in the... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Very nice setup for hostel, unfortunately no people when we were there otherwise the place would have been much better. Safaritents are recommandable. Unfortunately no washingmachine for guests, no free coffee or sth, the sandwiches are not so good. The environment itself is pretty, but you can do nothing really in the evenings since the town is very little. Oude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

This was a great Backpacker place to meet people, drink and hangout. There's a fire pit and many hammocks that you can lay on. They were doing the pool when I was there, it would be a even better backpack place if there was a pool. The place is also has good scenery because you can see mountains in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nawojowa Góra, Polska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I camped there and everything was ok, except service. Maybe we were there on the bad day, but guy at the reception was acting strange - everything what I asked him he treated with aggression. And I don't think I was difficult in any way - it was the only place in South Africa I had this kind of awful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We were blessed by an awsome experience at tube n axe,the staff and atmosphere. My next visit to the area will be spent there. I would recommend it for anyone in the area that is passing through. A place of piece and a pocket of revival!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
28 hotel reviews
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We booked well in advance as we were a party of five (from Europe) roadtripping across SA. The booking process, via email, was exhausting having to speak to a different person each time and receiving very few replies. I sent an email confirming our arrival several days before staying, to which I received no reply. All other backpackers we stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We absolutely loved our stay here. Staff are friendly, the tented units where we stayed are clean and comfortable. Great entertainment area! They also have awesome activities available. Would go back to tube n axe anytime!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay