We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imani Beach Villa

Off Malawi Road | P.O.BOX 3248, Bububu 3248, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Imani Beach Villa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stresa, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

A little hotel in a small village. The location is fairy and people are very open. From here you can go everywhere. If you're not a traveller and you need a lot of comfort, search for a resort, this is not the place for you. But if you wanna live the real africa, meet beautiful people and live an adventure... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Diossina86
Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

The sunset view over the water was beautiful. I had a private room with A/C and bathroom for $40 and it was very comfortable. The hotel can arrange pickup or drop-off to the airport and ferry as needed for a good price (to the Ferry is $10 or 15,000 TZS). It is also easy to walk to the main road... More 

Helpful?
Thank Evelyn P
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

After spending a month with students, it was the place to stay. Quiet, excellent service and friendly staff. The room was decorated with flowers like had never seen before and the facilities were just perfect. Non commercial but clean and welcoming. Just the place to spend relaxing after a busy month. Will definitely come back.

Helpful?
Thank gullick73
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We booked Imani after recommendations from friends who had stayed there previously and enjoyed it. I can say I would definitely recommend it to others as well. Tito was a great host, and all the staff were so nice. They also have a three-legged dog Hop on the property! After an overnight flight from South Africa>Kenya>Zanzibar, it was so relaxing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed at Imani for a couple of nights in 2012 and returned the next time we were in Zanzibar for the relaxed vibe, yummy food and beautiful tree house - perfect for candlelit dinners. We loved the bedroom - huge antique bed, huge bathroom and beautifully decorated. Staff are very friendly and helpful and can organise lots of trips... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leopardskinlin
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Air-con turned off every 10min, shower did not run at all, and beach is a bit of a thoroughfare. On the other hand the food is good (but expensive) and WiFi is pretty reliable. We had lower rates as it was the off-season, but if it was full price I probably wouldn't stay again.

Helpful?
Thank JenJP88
SimonBububu, Owner at Imani Beach Villa, responded to this review

Hi Jen, thank you for your review. It is frustrating for us, and our team of staff, that you did not explain earlier in your stay that you were having a problem with your air con and shower. The air con works perfectly fine, but perhaps you needed some guidance setting and controlling it. Furthermore, it would have been a... More 

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We were picked up at the airport by a local taxi driver who was arranged by Imani and greeted when we arrived. They took care of the payment and just added it to our bill. When we arrived, we were not asked for any I.D. just asked what kind of room we wanted (1 or 2 beds as both were... More 

Helpful?
Thank JEH87
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here after 4 days in stone town. We loved it! It had a unique character including slightly short beds (if over 6ft), a 3 legged dog named hop (very friendly and well looked after) and a stunning tree top bar overlooking the water. It is only 10km from stone town and very close to the spice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We were booked in here by our travel agent in the uk saying it was close to stonetown. Sadly when we arrived we were not greeted by anyone in fact we were asked if we even had a booking which even our driver thought was very unprofessional. They pulled one of the workers from the mosque on his day off... More 

Helpful?
Thank devison
SimonBububu, Owner at Imani Beach Villa, responded to this review

We always take guests comments very seriously, especially disappointed guests. We are sorry to hear that Imani was not what you were expecting. In the first instance, we can only apologise that the staff were not expecting you on the day of arrival. The email with your arrival times was found in the Deleted folder unopened, and this was an... More 

Madison, WI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We stayed here over Christmas, 2014. Overall, the hotel is a small, charming place with attentive and very friendly staff. If you're expecting a generic, sterillized mega-resort and pristine beach, this is not it, but if you want a good hotel that feels like Zanzibar, this is the place. The good: -The Staff here are great. The Chef is as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank aegisys
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (140)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (41)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bububu
3.5 mi away
Al-Minar
Al-Minar
#17 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
4.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 159 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
2.9 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
3.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
15.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay