We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Muri B&Bs / inns

Muri Beach Resort

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Muri Beach Resort to your Saves list
Muri Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
92%
Ranked #1 of 4 Muri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014
Ange747 Wellington, New Zealand
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    60
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
70
81
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a let-down...a 2.5-star unit at a 4-star price. Multiple shortcomings: * Dusty and dirty * Cockroach spotted in bathroom * steep steps to unit and no porter on check-in * two windows had no curtains or blinds and light flooded in, waking us up soon after dawn * deck had two sunloungers -- but only one had a mattress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
surf-6, General Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Frank M, Thank you so much for your review of Muri Beach Resort. Whilst we are bitterly disappointed to have let you down, we will definitely be taking your points on board and striving to give a better experience to future guests. We only wish that you had brought these deficiencies to our notice at the time and... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in a garden unit. The staff at the resort and the Nautilus restaurant next door were brilliant service with a smile everytime but the room furnishings and bathroom could do with an upgrade. Shower product caddy was unclean upon arrival with mould and another guest hair, basin and toilet very worn. Pool lovely and outdoor furniture... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom villa Room 6 with my 3 teenage children. The villa was clean and had enough space for our family of 5. I do think it is overpriced for what it is but I imagine it is fairly in line with other resorts in Rarotonga. The location is excellent and the kids could walk up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

stayed in room 2, ocean view villa, basic but clean, 2 adults plus 1 child. had everything you need but basic, only 3 cups, 3 plates etc, very small TV. Had a DVD player once we asked, but no DVD's to borrow, only 4 TV channels, and mainly R18 movies playing, not great for a 11 year old, often repeating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The staff were all really lovely and helpful. The room was a good size and clean. The resort is in very close proximity to the beach but still quiet (minus the roosters). It's also easy walking distance to an amazing bakery/cafe as well as hire places, other shops (post shop, gift shop etc) and the night market.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waikato
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had 2 rooms for us and our 3 adult children.Short walk to most things such as many eating places, night market, hire companies (bikes, motorbikes and cars), tour operators (lagoon cruises, sufaris, quad bike etc.) Resort restaurant (Aqua) is good and the neighbouring Nautilus restaurant great. They share owners and quality of service. Rooms are advertised as Garden Villa,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed five nights for a friends wedding and the Muri Beach area is a fantastic location. Staff were excellent during the stay and transfers with Margaret were excellent with her coming to the rescue of the wedding party during very heavy rain. Overall the rooms are functional and well suited to a family holiday although I agree with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

A group of us from nz stayed here for our wedding. It was beautiful to say the least, Sane at reception was a breath of fresh air everytime we went into the office so friendly and helpful. Margaret was amazing she went above and beyond for us. And Mata and Tevita did a beautiful job of setting up the reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed at this resort as part of a group for a renewing of vows. We had a wonderful greeting at the airport with many laughs in the pick up van witn Margaret. We stayed in pool villa #4. Nice spacious unit. One closer inspection it is due for a up date. The bathroom vanity was worn and water damaged.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Shore City, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here over Easter April 2014 for five nights, the staff is amazing and so is the manager and our airport transfer Margaret was the best :-) The first day we were woken early with the construction next door as they are expanding the resort but this was the only day thank goodness. I felt with was overpriced for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Muri Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Muri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Address: Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (39)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Muri with
any amenities