We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Muri Beach Resort

Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Muri Beach Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    139
    69
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
84
88
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (235)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room, we had was exactly what we needed. Cool and spacious.. It was the staff that really made our trip. France was our Faveourite. We have never been so well looked after before! Anything we needed she was there and with a huge smile on her face. She showed us the best deals on transport and reccomened things for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were more than happy with the staff and their response to queries and any issues that arose during our stay. With regard to location it is very good,close to cafes and restaurants and with direct access to Muri lagoon. It met our desire to self cater and the swimming pool and surrounding garden area was very pleasant. However the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didnt stay at Muri Beach - instead we opted for the best location in Raro and rented a private house for 5 weeks.Twice we found ourselves at the resort for a meal on one occassion and happy hour for the second. Both times the over powering smell drove us outside - even sitting poolside with cocktails was unbearable. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We had the best time here. Our room was spotless and clean with new towels whenever we wanted. The kitchen was fully stocked with Equipment and we did some self catering. Make sure you find the butcher in town for meat (it's on a side street). The pool and bar area and gardens were immaculate and newly refurbished and replanted.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Just like a postcard! Clear waters just like on postcards and very shallow so able to walk out to the motus (islands) across the lagoon - fab for kayaking too. Nice and safe and the local dogs that occasionally wander around are friendly just like the locals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

We chose Muri Beach Resort because it was one of the cheaper resort options on Muri Beach. Overall, accommodation in Rarotonga seems to be a bit overpriced for what you get compared to other similar countries. I'm also a bit disappointed that most accommodation in Raro, including MBR, charge for wi-fi. The location was fantastic, just a short walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Whangarei
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights at Muri Beach Resort paying for daily service. On the first day I had to clean the toilet myself because of the strong smell of urine and the toilet brush was disgusting. The dusty curtains were nearly rags. The air conditioner was extremely dirty as were the wooden blinds in the bathroom. Our sheets were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time spent with us. We are working through all the rooms and are installing new curtains and upgrading the bathroom vanities and shower cubicles. House keeping had no idea that you had any issues with the room and if notified would have been more than willing... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Best value for money on Muri beach, which is the best place in Rarotonga. France at reception was so friendly and Margaret the van driver was fantastic. We had room 13 with a garden view, full sized fridge freezer and full cooking facilities. Only saw one cockroach, but is to be expected in a tropical climate. Air con was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

what can I say, free upgrade from lagoon room to a beach front, beautiful setting, lovely pool (most days I had it to myself) and friendly helpful staff. Room had an awesome view and all of the other villas looked wonderful also. Lovely small peaceful resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

We had 3 units for a weeks stay with family including 2 children. The resort was ideal for our stay and we definitely would recommend Muri Beach Resort. The accoummodation was great. The pool was good and we enjoyed a complimentary scuba lesson there. We also used the BBQ to cook a tuna we caught on a fishing trip. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (147)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (39)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.2 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#7 of 18 in Muri
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay