We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Muri B&Bs / inns

Muri Beach Resort

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Hotel amenities
Muri Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Muri Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 4 Muri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Andrina M Tauranga, New Zealand
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    63
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
74
81
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (210)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived in the early hours of the morning in Rarotonga, so it was hard to get our bearings but come morning we awoke to a house belonging to Muri Beach resort. There were roosters crowing on the lawn and you looked directly out to the Ring rd that ran right around the Island. I was not happy being woken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
surf-6, General Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia orana Andrina M, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy that we were able to relocate you into the resort proper. We are also glad that you enjoyed the facilities and service at both Muri Beach Resort and Nautilus. Our staff are always on hand to make any visit as comfortable as possible and I'll... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Unfortunately just a disappointing experience. I think overall, hotel prices in Rarotonga are very high for what you get. If you're paying $300+ per night, you expect something nice, or at least a few extras thrown in. I don't want to write a negative review but would like to share a few things so that others can make an informed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
surf-6, General Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia orana trademark25, Thank you for taking the time to review Muri Beach Resort - we have noted your comments with interest to improve the overall experience. The resort is actually 100% solar powered and we draw nothing from the main grid. We are planning a soft upgrade to the rooms early next year which will also include the relaunching... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Once again we stayed at Muri beach resort have been staying last 8 years . Had a great time once again with my fantastic friends. Staff always went out there way to fix the problems that cropped up on our stay . Glad your back Chrissy was great to catch up . Always a pleasure to catch up with owners... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
surf-6, General Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia orana nanagabriel, Always a pleasure to have you at Muri Beach Resort and thank you so much for your kind words and comments. We do plan to do a soft refurb of the property early next year and we trust that when you return it'll be back to its sparkling best. Thanks so much again for coming and see... More

Oakura
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here October in a pool view room. Staff are very nice. room was okay , bed was very average could feel the springs in the mattress. No support at all, shower caddie was white with black mould all over it, I rubbed my finger on it and it came right off. I paid $355 a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
surf-6, General Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia orana OakuraSue1, Thank you for your review of Muri Beach Resort. I am glad you enjoyed the atmosphere & the pool area and that the staff were friendly! I am sorry about the state of housekeeping and I will be following this up. We do plan a soft refurb early next year and those areas you mentioned will be... More

South Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Our family of four stayed here for 6 nights, 4 in a 2 bedroom apartment and 2 in two single units due to other bookings. Negatives - there was a lot of changing and angst among guests that had confirmed bookings such as ourselves. I think that its up to the resort to be responsible for travel agent enquiries -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
surf-6, General Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia orana southaussies, Thank you for your review of Muri Beach Resort, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. I am disappointed about the poor service you received at Aqua and the overcharging. This is clearly not our policy and I will ensure that this does not occur again. I will also be investigating the need to change... More

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

What a let-down...a 2.5-star unit at a 4-star price. Multiple shortcomings: * Dusty and dirty * Cockroach spotted in bathroom * steep steps to unit and no porter on check-in * two windows had no curtains or blinds and light flooded in, waking us up soon after dawn * deck had two sunloungers -- but only one had a mattress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
surf-6, General Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Frank M, Thank you so much for your review of Muri Beach Resort. Whilst we are bitterly disappointed to have let you down, we will definitely be taking your points on board and striving to give a better experience to future guests. We only wish that you had brought these deficiencies to our notice at the time and... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in a garden unit. The staff at the resort and the Nautilus restaurant next door were brilliant service with a smile everytime but the room furnishings and bathroom could do with an upgrade. Shower product caddy was unclean upon arrival with mould and another guest hair, basin and toilet very worn. Pool lovely and outdoor furniture... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom villa Room 6 with my 3 teenage children. The villa was clean and had enough space for our family of 5. I do think it is overpriced for what it is but I imagine it is fairly in line with other resorts in Rarotonga. The location is excellent and the kids could walk up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

stayed in room 2, ocean view villa, basic but clean, 2 adults plus 1 child. had everything you need but basic, only 3 cups, 3 plates etc, very small TV. Had a DVD player once we asked, but no DVD's to borrow, only 4 TV channels, and mainly R18 movies playing, not great for a 11 year old, often repeating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The staff were all really lovely and helpful. The room was a good size and clean. The resort is in very close proximity to the beach but still quiet (minus the roosters). It's also easy walking distance to an amazing bakery/cafe as well as hire places, other shops (post shop, gift shop etc) and the night market.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Muri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Address: Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (39)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay