We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Die Tuishuise

Certificate of Excellence
36 Market Street, Cradock 5880, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Die Tuishuise
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sandton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cradock was a wonderful trip back in time. Thankfully there are some people who believe that old buildings are worth saving so the collection of these restored homes and the hotel itself is just amazing. We arrived late and were pleasantly surprised when the reception offered to bring a meal to our house, very friendly, helpful staff. The houses are... More 

Helpful?
Thank YodaMika
Swellendam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travel regularly between KZN & The Western Cape & always stop overnight here. It really is a home from home. What you get is always more than just meets the eye. The "Huise" are much bigger than they look from the outside & always fascinating to explore & comfortable. Dinner & breakfast are all they should be, plain simple... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 692derekw
348lisa, Owner at Die Tuishuise, responded to this review

Dear Derek Its always wonderful to welcome you back! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We so appreciate it, we will proudly share your message with our staff at our weekly meeting.Until soon! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely short stay here. The accommodation was very good and a lot of attention to detail. The ONLY slight downside was the unusually high temperatures at the time +/- 40 deg: The aircon in our room was great but the absence of more effective fans in the other rooms meant a hot night for the kids. Food... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 380iann
348lisa, Owner at Die Tuishuise, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time to do the review. Thank you for the compliments about the stay and the food. Noted about the fans, we are sorting out the fan problem. Until next time! Warm regards, Lisa More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this establishment countless times, and have never been disappointed. Friendly staff, clean, well-priced accommodation. Always made to feel at home. The fact that nothing ever changes here is the secret.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andrewshall
348lisa, Manager at Die Tuishuise, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it is so appreciated! We simply love having you, your family and furry family to stay! We will proudly share your message with our staff at our weekly meeting! Until the Fish! Warm regards, Lisa More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love tuishuise Main bed in Victoria very noisy even when you turn over let alone anything else!!! Mattress in the bed if firm and fine The problem is that the old bed is worn out at the joints that slide into each other and is thus very noisy at the slightest movement A handy man might need to weld the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank keithmD7544BN
348lisa, Manager at Die Tuishuise, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it is so appreciated! We are having the beautiful bed in Victoria professionally fixed, so it should be sorted for another 100 years ( we hope). Until soon! Warm regards, Lisa More 

knysn a
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We so enjoyed our stay in these lovingly restored cottages. We stayed in Victoria House which is very spacious and well equipped with a nice size garden and garage. It was a treat to be able to walk down the road under a starry karoo sky to the Albert Restaurant in the main hotel where they serve incredibly good food.... More 

Helpful?
Thank voyagerKnysnA
348lisa, Owner at Die Tuishuise, responded to this review

Hello! We so appreciate your compliments about your stay and the food! We are really passionate about what we do and are grateful to people like you, who love our life's work and passion! You are quite right, we will be working on the Victoria Bathroom, so watch this space! Until next time! Warm regards Lisa More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
192 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If you're not too critical about creaking floors and less than comfortable pillows, you'll enjoy your stay here because it's a so quaint and different. The little pool is nice for a dip and the whole atmosphere is a bit old worldly. The Lion House was well equipped with DSTV, hair drier and every other convenience you'd need for a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HarveyCapeTown
348lisa, Manager at Die Tuishuise, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review - noted re pillows! Until next time! More 

Avranches, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is without doubt the worst place we have ever stayed. It is decrepit, badly maintained, noisy and in a ghastly town. Why our travel agent thought this was a good idea one cannot imagine. The rooms are separate cottages with broken locks, squeaky floorboards, creaking beds and constant traffic noise. The restaurant is cheap and cheerful but the accommodation... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
348lisa, Manager at Die Tuishuise, responded to this review

Dear Mike. It's Lisa, Manager at Die Tuishuise. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We like to sort out any problems immediately, we would have loved to have spoken to you while you were here, to make your stay more comfortable. The houses are all historic, dating from the 1840s, so unfortunately we... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in lion house. Beautifully restored old Voortrekker house. Yellow wood floors and ceilings. Staff super helpful and accommodating. Gave us a late checkout when we had car trouble. The hotel has a small splash pool which the kids enjoyed.

Helpful?
Thank 1967FJ45
348lisa, Manager at Die Tuishuise, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Hope your car troubles are all sorted. Warm regards for a fabulous 2016! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

We try to stay at Tuishuise at least twice a year en route from Johannesburg to Plettenberg Bay. We also try to overnight there on the way back too. We have 3 children and love to stay in the quaint little houses from "yester-year!" The experience of dining in the hotel with the traditional "farm food" also adds to the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paulsC2285GG
348lisa, Manager at Die Tuishuise, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! You are so kind! Was lovely to see you again! Hope Plett was awesome? Wishing you a fabulous 2016! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradock
0.4 mi away
Albert House B&B
Albert House B&B
#4 of 11 in Cradock
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Samara Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mountain View Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay