We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ramakrishna

3.0 of 5 8 Othavadai Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Special Rate
Best Deal on A/C Rooms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ramakrishna
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Ramakrishna
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
14
29
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bound to select because there is no option for 0. The customer service is very poor. It is like a 3rd grade lodge administration. I booked for a day NON_AC and I checked in during evening 5:30 PM. While checking in upgraded to AC by paying Rs.500/- extra which was for 24 hour as per their commitment. Next day I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for writing on Trip Advisor. Few points we want to clarify , 1) we never do such cheap behaviour to any of our guest, being small hotel we have been successful till date , is only because of our service and kind attitude to all our guest. 2) we have Intercom telephones in all our Rooms... More

old bar
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The standard room we stayed in was adequate but the bathroom was a little shabby and the hot water not reliable. The service we received from the staff was impressive and the hotel is well located. Maybe the deluxe rooms are worth a look.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing your experience with positive feedback on Trip Advisor. In regard to Hot water,we request our guest to drain one full bucket as our solar Hot water system takes time to deliver in taps. we will work on this issue and sorry for the inconvenience caused. Thank you again and We hope to see you... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Mahabalipuram is a very small town so it was quite easy to go to the restaurants and sights. The hotel staff was very friendly, attentive and informative. They were always very willing to help. The room was decent. The only problem was the door to the toilet was too low and I hit my head a few times. Wifi was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing your experience with positive and detailed feedback on Trip Advisor. we have enabled our login system for wifi to avoid downloading and free wifi is provided in our hotel in subject to terms and conditions. Thank you again and we promise to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.... More

Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Word of caution : The pics are heavily photo-shopped and not to be taken as giving a real picture of the actual hotel. We booked this hotel because of the reviews but it was a shocking experience. First of all this is not a 3 star property. Its a guest house kind of set up. The place is shabby from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review

Dear guest, Greetings from Hotel Ramakrishna Mamallapuram. I am extremely disappointed and concerned to read your review on Trip Advisor. My apologies for not providing you with a pleasant experience at our Hotel. We have never mentioned in our Website that our property comes under 3 star Category and we are yet to do our exterior work and it has... More

hyderabad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

After reading such excellent reviews on TripAdvisor I booked this hotel and I was shocked. When I first reached the hotel and was not sure if I am at the right place as I was shocked by the look; I then remembered one review that I read which said "Do not go by the way the hotel looks from outside"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review

Dear guest, Greetings from Hotel Ramakrishna Mamallapuram. I am extremely disappointed and concerned to read your review on Trip Advisor. My apologies for not providing you with a pleasant experience at our Hotel. We agree our Hotel Room Size are small but we have worked on interiors to make our guest feel comfortable and relaxed. you have mentioned about dirty... More

Chennai
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hotel Ramakrishna is a nice hotel. Very neat and clean hotel. Room service is average. Wi-fi is available. This hotel is very close to the beach (Just 10 minutes walk). Many food spots and shops are nearby. Value for money spent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing your experience with positive and detailed feedback on Trip Advisor.Thank you again and We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home. We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram. Best Regards Balaji. More

Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel with avg amenities, good room and excellent location. Hotel is situated in the middle of city, next to best food points. Free WiFi:)) value for money. Beach is walkable location. Food cost in hotel is some what more cost.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing your experience with positive and detailed feedback on Trip Advisor.We will re- consider on our Food Cost. Thank you again and We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home. We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram. Best Regards Balaji. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Have to appreciate the interiors ! Service is average . located very near to the beach .. Hygienic and clean .. Go for a deluxe double bed room , Won't regret it . Don't judge the hotel by its reception or exterior pathways and balconies .. Internet is free and fast .. But have to pay extra id u wanna... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing your experience with positive and detailed feedback on Trip Advisor. Due to Local Town Board road extension and other reason we are holding our front elevation and Exterior work,we hope to do it as early as possible.Thank you again and We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them... More

Madurai, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I Stayed in this hotel on june 10,11,12th for three nights. Hotel is located close to beach less than 5 mins walkable. Friendly service and security cameras around for safety. Lot of restaurants are nearby and rates are really reasonable compare to other hotels, rooms are well refurbished,free wifi provided... Do not judge this hotel by front elevation, rooms are... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing your experience with positive and detailed feedback on Tripadvisor. Due to Local Town Board road extension and other reason we are holding our front elevation work,we hope to do it as early as possible. Thank you again and We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The rooms for look like the pictures but are fine and the aircon and wifi works. Adon and Moses were so helpful. Adon teaches the yoga as well and I thought he was very professional yoga teacher - yoga life yoga studio. It's a great location also, close to all the sites and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing your experience with positive and detailed feedback on Tripadvisor. Your appreciation of our team members Mr.Adon and Mr.Moses has been conveyed to them and needless to say, they are delighted. I look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again and We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Ramakrishna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ramakrishna

Address: 8 Othavadai Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ramakrishna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ramakrishna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay