We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Khandala hotels

The Dukes Retreat

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Hotel amenities
The Dukes Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Dukes Retreat to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Khandala
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
neema2015 Mumbai (Bombay), India
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    196
    51
    18
    15
See reviews for
161
89
4
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (392)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars NEW

We had our daughter's wedding at the Duke's Retreat. It was an excellent experience. The location and view are beautiful, the ambience is luxurious, the staff are courteous and willing, complete arrangements are made as planned. The food was delicious and served hot. A lot of variety in the menu. Car arrangements were made by the hotel to transport guests... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

the hotel is situated on the express way exit from lonawala... On a cliff. All the rooms face the valley across the highway... And can see a beautiful sunrise. Rooms, facilities, food are Decent, staff is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a memorable stay at our resort and that the service standards, culinary offerings and amenities were at par with your expectations. It is nice to know that our associates made a favorable impression on you and the fortunate location of our resort added value... More 

Indore, India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

WE enjoyed our stay. It is a very peaceful place have natural beauty on surroundings. Provides good quality morning breakfast and serve delicious food, but rates seems to be on higher side. The hotel have facilities for children's play and a swimming pool also which is good after a whole day tour when we jump we are relaxed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a memorable stay at our resort and that our ambiance added value to your vacation.It is nice to know that you liked the culinary offerings in the breakfast spread and that you and your family had a rejuvenating swim in our pool after a... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are very few hill retreats near Mumbai. Khandala is beautiful specially in monsoon. We stayed at the Dukes Retreat in January this year. It has an old world charm. The location is excellent. The landscape has used different levels very imaginatively . The maintenance of the property needs more attention. Staff is very courteous and helpful specially at reception.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay with us on this forum. Indeed, our enchanting location during the monsoon season mesmerizes our patrons at The Dukes Retreat. Your appreciation of the quality of accommodation and overall stay has inspired our team to keep up the good work. At our hotel, matching the level of guest satisfaction... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for couple of nights with wife and 3 year old son. I had requested for a room with a nice view beforehand and they fulfilled it. In fact my booking was upgraded and I was given sort of a duplex room (separate bedroom and living areas), which was nice of them. As soon as we entered the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to receive your five star rating on TripAdvisor. It gives us immense pleasure to know that you had an ideal stay and your appreciation of the many aspects of the hospitality accorded to you is gratifying. Your special commendation of the accommodation, services and facilities at our hotel has been conveyed to the entire team... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arriving at the premises the first impression is that maintenance does not have first priority. The first room I was offered was smelly and damp. This room was at the ground floor. The second room offered was a smokers room and finally the third room was acceptable. The staff is friendly. The rooms are specious but old with broken furniture.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. The Dukes Retreat endeavors to provide modern accommodation with uncompromised service standards to make our guests’ stay comfortable and convenient. However, we regret the inconvenience caused during your stay and the concerns have been notified to the relevant departments. Your appreciation regarding the friendliness of our associates has been conveyed... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is probably one the oldest establishment in the area. The view is impeccable! Even better in monsoon. But the service and food quality has gone downhill! It takes about 20 minutes on average to get the menu card. Don't bother waiting for the food- the menu offers a wide spread of cuisines but no one in the kitchen is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. The Dukes Retreat endeavors to provide our guests with the best experience with our uncompromised service standards and thus, we regret the inconvenience caused to you. Your concerns regarding the culinary offerings are taken into consideration and is shared with the team in the kitchen. We are pleased to know... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

This hotel offers the best view of Khandala from the Hotel Rooms and recreation areas. The Deluxe Rooms are awesome for valley view. Cottages are also available for the discerning traveller. Staff is very courteous. A welcome drink at check in It is an amazing place for couples & honeymooners. Food is excellent and the Bar serves the usual cocktails... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest,  Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Our motive has been to provide excellent service standards to our patrons, making their stay a memorable one. We are happy that our strategic location and culinary offerings were at par with your expectations. We appreciate that your stay was peaceful and a memorable one. It is good to know that you... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We stayed for 5 nights and we were a group of 15. Nice place to stay. Less amenities for children. Food was poor for Jain vegetarian. All over nice experience . Rooms too small affordable at reasonable price

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to know that you had a ‘Very nice experience’ at our resort and that we could delight you with our service standards and amenities. We are happy to know that you found our resort value for money. However, we have noted your feedback and will... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

This hotel has the best view of Khandala, the Deluxe Room is my recommendation if you want a seamless view of the valley Pros: a) Staff is very helpful and kind b) Check inn was smooth, welcome drink was provided and i was allowed to choose my Deluxe room, i checked 3 rooms and all were excellent c) It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your compliments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you consider us as ‘Khandala’s Finest’ and you were impressed by the panoramic views that our rooms have to offer. We are happy that our modern accommodation added value to your stay and the amenities made your stay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala > Khandala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay