We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Grand Hotel

3.0 of 5 Place du Telepherique, 05330 Serre-Chevalier, France
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Le Grand Hotel
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
35
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Grand hotel is very well located for skiers, right on the main square in Chantermarle, directly opposite the main 'Rattier' gondola and handy for ski hire, shops etc. We were a little concerned before arrival as we had seen several negative reviews of the hotel, but we needn't have worried at all as we had a very good stay. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was all you can expect and more from a skiing holiday. The bar staff are all brilliant and make you feel very at home. The restaurant/food was very good. More than enough choice for breakfast and dinner and of very good quality. The rooms are small but clean and practical with lots of hot water.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
patrick J, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam et Sir, We are so happy to receive your review about Grand Hotel, your feedback are very valuable to us as they are used to help us to improve our customers services. We are pleased to know that you felt like at home and you have appreciated the bar, the food, the rooms and the location of the... More 

London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Twin room was tiny; no real room or space for 2 people to move around or put anything. We did opt for the smallest, cheapest room as planned to spend most of the time outside! That said, the room, like a lot of the hotel, seems like it has seen better days. However, the food, location, snow and pistes were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
patrick J, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you so much for your review about Grand Hotel Serre Chevalier, we appreciate very much your feedback as it helps us to improve continuously our customer services. Your hotel has 2 types of rooms : the 20m2 one have more space et also have lovely balcony looking the mountain scenery. We recommend you to book the 20m2... More 

Ilford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Booked a room for 2 with Thomson and upon arrival room was very very small in fact not enough room for 2 adults. Bathroom was even smaller and fit for children only. Breakfast was just adequate however dinner was the worst food we have ever eaten in a skiing hotel and this is our 12th holiday away. The stair wells... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
patrick J, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are very sorry to see that you are disapointed about your room and the food services. As you can see in the most customer reviews about our hotel that they very much like the food and hotel location. We are also surprised about your feedback about rooms as you have booked the cheapest small room. We will... More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Have just good back from an enjoyable week in Serre Chevalier staying at The Grand Hotel. Traveled with Neilson who we have used before but for summer holidays and were really good. However, Neilson were probably the worst part of the holiday. No one in the UK seemed to know what the ski packages included; had to wait 2.5 hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a week skiing at Serre Chevalier and this is the hotel we chose. Great location,not ski in- ski out but not far off.There is about a 20 to 30 feet walk from the ski locker room to the road, cross over the road and clip on your skis. Food ok but repetitive . The village is a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
patrick J, Propriétaire at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Bonjour Madame et Monsieur Nous tenons à vous remercier pour votre avis sur le Grand Hotel de Serre Chevalier et... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a hotel of contrasts. The service is generally very good apart from the booking in. Rooms are unavailable until 4pm on the day of arrival despite the fact that check out time is 10am. This is due, I think to the fact that there are only four cleaners for the whole hotel. These poor souls are to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
patrick J, Propriétaire at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We thank you for your review and your appreciation of our Hotel Services and Food. Yes, the large choice of Food are very well appreciated by our Customers. For me and all my staff it is very important to make a pleasant stay for our customers. We are sorry if you got your room later than you desired,... More 

Dorset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have just returned from a brilliant week staying at the Grand Hotel. The hotel is perfectly located just steps from the main gondola and the centre of the resort. We chose to upgrade to a balcony room which had great view of the slopes. The room was spacious and clean, with the added bonus of a sofa. The bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
patrick J, Propriétaire at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We thank you for your review and we appreciate very much our customers feedback to improve our services. You have appreciated your room, the hotel location and the foods. My Staff and me are doing utmost to make the pleasant stay for all customers. Your comments are great. and it is an award for our staff to get... More 

Yetts o' Muckhart
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Perfect position for skiing, just across a quiet road to one of the major cable cars giving excellent access to the slopes. A well managed and excellent team gives first class service. Excellent and very varied buffet meals and good wine list. Good sized room with the best shower we have had in a ski hotel. Good sized ski room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
patrick J, General Manager at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank You So Much for your great testimonial regarding GRAND HOTEL SERRE CHEVALIER, My Staff and myself are operating utmost to make all our customers very happy and to offer the best in class services. Your inputs help us very much to improve our services. We are looking forward to welcome you very soon at Grand Hotel Serre... More 

Tudweiliog, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Grand Hotel for a week of skiing for two consecutive years and would not hesitate to book another week there. The staff are welcoming and you get what you pay for, which is a basic clean room. Admittedly there are unpleasant whiffs in some of the stairwells and communal areas but this is very often... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
patrick J, General Manager at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank You very much for your feedback regarding Grand Hotel Serre Chevalier. We would like to continually improve our level of services to offer a pleasant stay to all our customers, therefore your inputs are very helpful. We are looking forward to welcome you to Grand Hotel Serre Chevalier Best Regards Grand Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: Place du Telepherique, 05330 Serre-Chevalier, France
Location: France > Provence > Hautes-Alpes > Serre-Chevalier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay