We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rounceval House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
64 Rounceval Street, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6AR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rounceval House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Somerset
Level Contributor
244 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was our first time in Chipping Sodbury and despite the heavy rain; overall we enjoyed our time there. The hotel is well situated being in the centre of the town. There were plenty of restaurants to choice from nearby. The owner of the hotel was very friendly and welcoming. He also turned out to be very knowledgeable about the... More 

Helpful?
Thank CindyAnn37
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is absolutely lovely. Old building with lots of character, the family room we stayed in was magical, our daughters even asked of they could check for Narnia in the wardrobe. The family room we had is two connecting rooms, the main with large double and the attached room with two single beds. Mark and Anita are lovely and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marcus1169
Graested, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

“Fawlty Towers” comes to mind about this place, which is unfair because the staff is actually very friendly. The rooms are very different, but nothing bad. Breakfast is good and wholesome, and can be adapted on request

Helpful?
Thank RHjorth
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a parent, family room often means ok for 3 but 4 at a squash, not the case here, lovely room, kids own room and space, a bit quirky as you're in the room of this old hotel but good quirky not bad. Excellent breakfast also rounded off a very pleasant stay. Chipping Sodbury is also a pleasant Cotswold-border town... More 

Helpful?
Thank P N
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

What a wonderful hotel. Mark thank you and your staff for making this a wonderful experience. Your care and attention to detail were very much appreciated. Your kindness in our hour of need was refreshing and second to none. The rooms were all lovely (we had 3 of them) the English Breakfasts were amazing, the selection of fresh fruit and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette D
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Stayed at this hotel 4 times now while visiting family, always very clean and a warm welcome received. Parking is not an issue and being at the top of the high street away from any late night noise from the pubs. Breakfast cooked to order with plenty of choice. We will continue to use this hotel for future visits.

Helpful?
Thank Paul N
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

We arrived tired and grumpy and discovered that that was no walk-in shower as we had hoped - but things got better! The place was immaculately clean and the bed very comfortable. The bath water kept draining away - due to the seal having gone - but we told the owner about it and he said this would be fixed... More 

Helpful?
Thank lilymoon85
Mael-Carhaix, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

The hotel was clean, the bed comfortable, the staff helpful and the breakfast good. Unfortunately our room which was in the eves was really only suitable for the small and agile. My husband is 6ft3in. He hit his head on the door, he is no contortionist and needed help to get out of the bath and the shower was too... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tubbymac
Marcus026, Owner at Rounceval House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are genuinely sorry that you did not enjoy all of your stay with us. Our superior rooms all have high ceilings however in some parts the hotel has low beams and doorways due to the age of the building. (1670) I guess people back then were much shorter. We have tried to contact... More 

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

The room was good with all required facilities. Rooms at the rear are probably quieter although town traffic is not that much - esecially in the evening.The owner was a mine of helpful information which made our visit to Chipping Sodbury all the better.

Helpful?
1 Thank BaanSuan
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Booked into the Rounceval House Hotel as I was in the area for a wedding. I booked a superior room so that I had a little more space and certainly wasn't disappointed. The room was first class, really quirky and original and enough room to have a party. The hotel itself is beautiful and the breakfast is first class. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank kizzikat2015
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Sodbury
6.7 mi away
Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel
10.7 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
23.3 mi away
Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#2 of 5 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay