We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Missenden Abbey Conference Centre

London Road, Great Missenden HP16 0BD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

A disappointing cream tea, and ignored or misunderstood dietary requirements. Polite and courteous but inexperienced waiting staff. My family and I had researched a few locations for afternoon tea to celebrate my grandmother's birthday in the South Bucks area before settling on Missenden Abbey on account of its seemingly reasonable prices and picturesque location. We informed the kitchen a week... More 

Helpful?
Thank R M
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked online. Upon checking in I found my room in a block I can only describe as resembling an old peoples home. Needless to say it didn't look like anything I'd seen online.. I told the receptionist who replied 'well, yeah. A lot of people say that. But we're not really a hotel if you know what i mean'.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scottyn
Jonathan D, Customer Service & Reception Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate feedback, this gets brought up in regular meetings. I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I am also disheartened with the response that you got from the receptionist. Although the information that we are conference centre rather than a hotel is correct, this is not... More 

Travelers are raving about these Great Missenden hotels

Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
410 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Missenden Abbey must once have been an impressive country house. It's now a university owned conference center with a revolting 1980's accommodation block. The main building is fairly attractive but as others have said, the accommodation is dreadful. It needs a complete overhaul. The entire building is grubby, dusty and unmanaged. My kettle was unusable it was so dirty; the... More 

Helpful?
Thank francophileonthemove
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. We will investigate and look into the details of this cleanliness and service shortfall that you felt you received. We make it a high priority to deliver... More 

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a conference centre which lets its rooms if no conferences are on. The grounds are beautiful as are the old building parts. The rooms are basic conference venue rooms, not what you might expect from a hotel. They are a bit tired. The breakfast was disappointing. It was a cooked breakfast but very poor quality ingredients. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank danhanjon
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay here with us.We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. Thank you for acknowledging that we are a Conference Center as we do not have the same facilities as a Hotel. I am sorry that you did... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All I can say is disgusting..!! Please avoid at all costs..!! Restaurant closed and been told guests need to book in advance. The only choice is scampi, chilli or chicken pie on the bar menu. Meant to be staying again tomorrow evening but will be speaking to head office tomorrow to get moved to another hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Folksc
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay here with us here at Missenden Abbey .We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. Please allow me to explain that Missenden Abbey is a conference center and not a Hotel. There are some very important differences... More 

Chippenham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First impressions are good on approach with the impressive looking building and welcoming reception. Parking was haphazard with many parking on the grass and the main parking area being muddy – a properly surfaced car park is required to avoid muddy trousers and random parking. Staff polite, friendly and helpful when checking in and they managed to find an extra... More 

Helpful?
Thank mark_warburton
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay with us here at Missenden Abbey. We make it a high priority to deliver high standards of service and we take pride and responsibility in the product that we are offering to our clients. Looking through your pictures which you have attached,... More 

Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

The venue is quite picturesque but the rooms were very tired. No drinking water provided. The toilets need some work too. Staff were very helpful as a definite plus. Breakfast was alright but for £80 not really worth it

Helpful?
Thank Erajh_Gun
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding attendance to a resent wedding that took place at Missenden Abbey. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. We are constantly looking at improving Missenden Abbey,and the bedrooms are on the list to be addressed. Please be aware that... More 

Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

We had the library again for my group which is certainly special. The service and food was a great deal better than last year. It is certainly a lovely venue and the staff are welcoming, albeit like a lot of these venues staff seem to change year on year. Mostly the decor and furnishings are good in the public rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your Christmas Party that was held in our Library last year. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. I am very pleased that we were able to satisfy your expectations and as you mention give you a better experience... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

First festive outing of this year and we weren't disappointed. Staff very attentive and and food was plentiful and very tasty. The music had the dance floor filled and everyone seemed to have really great time. Couldn't fault it.

Helpful?
Thank 7172emg
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Happy New Year and Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It means so much to all of us at Missenden Abbey. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your Christmas outing here at the Abbey. Please follow us on Facebook/ Twitter for the latest offers and events. We would love to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

I went to the Abbey on two consecutive Thursdays this month for their Christmas party night (although we didn't stay overnight). One evening was spent in the marque which was beautifully lit and very festive feeling. The other was in the Library, set as a private dining room. On both occasions the atmosphere was great, the drinks flowing, the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank VickiStrutt
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It means so much to all of us at Missenden Abbey. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your Christmas's events that you attended. Please follow us on Facebook/ Twitter for the latest offers and events. We would love to see you again for Christmas... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Missenden
2.9 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
6.3 mi away
Latimer Place
Latimer Place
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
5.0 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in High Wycombe
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay