We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Kinlochewe hotels

Kinlochewe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinlochewe Hotel to your Saves list
Garve | Wester Ross, Kinlochewe IV22 2PA, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (119)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
Kinlochewe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kinlochewe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinlochewe
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    35
    18
    9
    11
See reviews for
9
52
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good food and good beers. But the host leaves a sour taste. Very short with potential customers he didn't want to accommodate (people looking for food after 8.30, and family looking for some shelter when their camper had broken down). Not many alternatives in the area so you'd think he could be a bit more gracious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Your review seems to be based on a part overheard conversation and subsequently, you seem to have got the "wrong end of the stick" ! The reason the people were turned away for food after 8.30 pm was because we were already FULLY BOOKED for that time slot. We cook everything fresh and to order and so have to limit... More

Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel on August 4th, had a very good meal and a selection of real ales on tap. The menu listed ingredients that were all locally sourced and well presented on the plate. The meals were served in the bar which is set up for this, some may not like this!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the food and real ales. Thank you for taking time to review us. If any diners wish to eat in a quieter environment than the bar (which can get quite busy) then we are always happy to seat them in our guest dining room -... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having passed this hotel many times, we decided to pop in for lunch, as we had a bit more time on our hands. The bar/lounge was well set out and Loch Fyne Mussels were the special of the day for lunchtime - they were delicious, washed down by an excellent pint of local ale. The barmaid/waitress was very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review - thank you. The seafood and shellfish we serve are all locally sourced and SOOOO tasty! The mussels are actually from Loch Eishort and are particularly succulent and tasty. We serve them simply in order to preserve their flavour and they are very popular. A pint of Real Ale (or two!) goes very well - as... More

Isle of Islay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Kinlochewe hotel offers a good range of locally brewed ales,a comprehensive wine list and excellent choice of freshly prepared meals using local produce.Altogether a good experience and a warm welcome in pleasant surroundings.We were not staying in the hotel,but were very impressed both by the standard of catering and friendly service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate you sharing your experience and are delighted you enjoyed sampling our locally sourced, home-cooked food and our choice of wines. We hope to welcome you back soon! More

Lochaber, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We did not stay at the hotel but it was recommended to us to go an eat there. We were not disappointed. We were delighted that they allow well behaved dogs in the bar area as we had our wee collie with us. The food was wonderful and the service excellent. I must say that the homemade remoulade that accompanied... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Ooh! you nearly made me blush! Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. It is so nice to hear your appreciation of our ethos of home-cooked, locally sourced food. We have some amazing local suppliers who work so hard to supply us with amazing ingredients that we serve to our guests. Please come... More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

we rather overstretched ourselves walking up lots of Munros and camping over three days and arrived smelly and exhausted looking for food at 5.15pm. The food was not ready yet but we were duly booked in, given tea and spread our maps on a table in the bar until 6.30pm. We only managed starters and pudding but the soup was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Those Munros are quite challenging, aren't they? As many of our guests are walkers and climbers we are well used to people arriving feeling rather dishevelled and weary. We are so pleased to hear that the soup and pudding hit the spot and you enjoyed them. Our special potato bread rolls are baked for us by the artisan "Isle of... More

Glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were not guests at the hotel but we were staying in Kinlochewe and were keen to find somewhere to eat each of the 5 nights of our visit. We were extremely pleased to discover that our very well behaved 6 year old son and our quite well behaved 7 year old dog were both allowed into the hotel. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in June as part of the Celtman Extreme Triathlon weekend. The location was perfect for getting to Shieldaig, Torridon, Achnasheen and Gairloch, which are key points along the triathlon route. The scenery is amazing. We had the double room with en-suite and it had everything we needed; lovely BIG bed, kettle, tea, coffee and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Wasn't that a great weekend? We really enjoy the Celtman event and there was a wonderful buzz around the area. We are very much in awe of all the competitors and their teams for the effort and dedication they put in to training and competing in extreme events such as this. It is set in such beautiful scenery and I... More

Linlithgow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have visited the hotel a few times before and really enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the friendly dogs (!). We had a late exit from the hill after an adventurous walk up Beinn Dearg in the Torridon range and were a little tired and threadbare by the time we reached the hotel. It was a little past 8.30pm (when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

You are very welcome - we are glad we could save the day! It's great that you enjoyed your meal and the Real Ales and whiskies - we have plenty of those to refresh tired walkers after a weary day on the hills. We hope you will come again soon. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in June. We had a £75 economy room with separate Bathroom shared with one other room. The Victorian looking Bath I have only ever seen before in National Trust historic houses. It had a combined plug & overflow tube about 50 cm long. The surface of the Bath was very badly chipped The dormer roof/celing came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the rime to post a review and we are pleased to hear that you liked the location, our comfortable lounge and the breakfasts. We would like to point out that you chose to book one or our economy rooms which gives bed and breakfast for only £37.50 per person - a rate that is hard to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kinlochewe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kinlochewe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlochewe Hotel

Address: Garve | Wester Ross, Kinlochewe IV22 2PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Kinlochewe
Also Known As:
Kinlochewe Hotel Torridon
Kinlochewe Hotel Scotland

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kinlochewe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer