We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Kinlochewe hotels

Kinlochewe Hotel

You added Kinlochewe Hotel to your Saves list
Garve | Wester Ross, Kinlochewe IV22 2PA, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Kinlochewe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochewe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinlochewe
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here over New Year. It's an interesting one to review, and it really depends on your expectations. Our expectations were quite high, so we were initially a bit disappointed. Once we adjusted them, we enjoyed this hotel much more. On the plus side: A good base for hiking - fantastic scenery all around you, and it's fairly straightforward... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I stayed here in October as part of a photography course, and found it a very warm and welcoming little place. The selection of Scottish ales and locally-sourced food is excellent. My room was comfortable with everything needed for a relaxing stay. I especially appreciated the good local knowledge, tales of village life, and the Tunnocks caramel wafer on my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Glasgow, Canada
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The Kinlochewe Hotel is a lovely old classic Scottish hotel - the owners, Andrew and Gail, have had it for about 7 years now. I stayed here for two nights during a long hike on the Scottish National Trail, so arrived as a tired, hungry, and slightly smelly/dirty backpacker! From the time I arrived to the time I left I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

My biking mate and I stayed for three nights in mid September, The double rooms were ok, though the decor and some of the furniture was a little tired. We had dinner every night and were not disappointed. There was a good choice, the prices were reasonable, and the staff were very attentive. However the rooms are expensive perhaps because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

If you need to stay in Kinlochewe, e.g. for the CT Trail, then take the B&B nearby. And if you're just looking for a bunkhouse in the area for a few days' stay, then Torridon or Gairloch will suit you well. Trust me - you'll be much happier! Owner was exceptionally rude, both when we arrived and when we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry if your perception of us was "rude" and "unwelcoming"- I cannot understand why - we are really very friendly - as commented on many times on this site. Your view of us was patently different from the vast majority of our guests, many of whom return time after time and we have some great times with them.... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over the August bank holiday and really enjoyed our stay. The owners Andrew & Gail were fantastic hosts , and also must mention their big friendly cuddly dog Ben !. The food here is nothing short of superb ! It is so good to stay in a hotel that caters very much for the walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review - thank you. That Bank Holiday weekend was amazingly busy and hectic but what a fantastic buzz it was. We really enjoyed it too. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed the food and the ambience and appreciate the effort we go to to make our guests stay a happily memorable one. We really... More 

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a table here for an evening meal - we hadn't booked. We were told a table would be available for us in about half an hour so we sat at the bar with a drink studying the menu. We were spoilt for choice - everything sounded so nice! I started with the black pudding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience dining with us and found the ambience to your liking. The leather sofas are very comfortable aren't they? We try to do things a little differently to the norm and we really value feedback and comments from our guests. Our menu offers many different and out... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is a very old inn and so is quite restricted for size but it all worked very well and we found our hosts to be convivial. Our room was small but well appointed. The bed was very comfortable with spotless quality linen and the bathroom was very tiny but the towels were huge and thick and fluffy. We knew... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

What lovely comments - thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. I hope you will return again soon - and enjoy one of our larger rooms! Glad you liked the "old boots" with the flowers and plants in - quite a few of our walking and climbing guests leave... More 

Emsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

As a mature couple on a cycling honeymoon to Scotland, we stayed in 15 different places in August 2104. This was our ninth stop and we received a very warm welcome from our hosts. There was secure parking for our bikes. Our room was a good size and very clean and comfortable although slightly dated. There was good atmosphere and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We really do appreciate it. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the ambience in the bar - and the, food, the beers and the whiskies too! I hope the porridge and the haddock for breakfast set you up well for your cycle ride.... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Good food and good beers. But the host leaves a sour taste. Very short with potential customers he didn't want to accommodate (people looking for food after 8.30, and family looking for some shelter when their camper had broken down). Not many alternatives in the area so you'd think he could be a bit more gracious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Your review seems to be based on a part overheard conversation and subsequently, you seem to have got the "wrong end of the stick" ! The reason the people were turned away for food after 8.30 pm was because we were already FULLY BOOKED for that time slot. We cook everything fresh and to order and so have to limit... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kinlochewe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlochewe Hotel

Address: Garve | Wester Ross, Kinlochewe IV22 2PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Kinlochewe
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Kinlochewe Hotel Torridon
Kinlochewe Hotel Scotland

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (19)
Hotel & grounds (5)
View from room (2)
Room/suite (4)
Bathroom (1)
Dining (1)
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay