We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Taihape hotels

Safari Motel

Save
You added Safari Motel to your Saves list
18 Mataroa Road, Taihape 4720, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Safari Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taihape
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dropped into taihape when myself and my partner were there last and were really looking for a quick and easy place to rest for the night, found the safari and honestly wouldn't have gone anywhere else, total bang for your buck and to top it off the friendly hosts and cleanliness of the rooms made for a whole world of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uki, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Older style motels but clean and well maintained, very good value = in fact the cheapest we found in NZ. Pleasant hosts were very helpful. Eating out in Taihape not so great - we would not recommend the Gumboot cafe over the road, so a unit with cooking might be the best choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I booked online requesting a queen bed unit for one person. Upon arrival I was asked if I was on my own, when I said yes I was asked if I wanted a single or queen bed - I don't think that was appropriate just because I was on my own and my booking clearly requested a queen bed unit.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
safarimotel, Owner at Safari Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to assess Safari Motel. Also thank you for making us aware of the repair required on the radiator in your unit. We do not turn the radiators off until 10am (checkout) Also your appreciation of our very reasonable, value for money tarrif , and great cleanliness. We always offer a choice of Twin... More 

Wellington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A neat and tidy place that was very cozy and comfortable. We stayed in a studio unit and had everything we needed for one night. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to stay in Taihape. It's only about 45mins from Turoa ski field. And for the price, you can't get anything better in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
safarimotel, Owner at Safari Motel, responded to this review

Hello, I am pleased that we made your stay a happy one. That is really all we aim to do. Reviews help to keep us on track. Thank you for taking the time to do this. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Snow in Taihape, desert road closed. Woke motelier up at 2.30am He was very cheerful :) Unit clean & tidy. Plenty of heaters & quick to warm the bed electric blankets. Shower was amazing! Plenty of hot water! Managed to get some sleep :) Very reasonable price. Thank you Safari Motel :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
safarimotel, Owner at Safari Motel, responded to this review

Hi , Thank you for your wonderful review. You appear to have been very happy with everything. So the 3 out of 5 for our mark is confusing ?? If we know what the problem is we can fix it? More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a fantastic little motel! I've stayed at places from Northland to Bluff, and this one is by far the best low-medium budget accommodation I've found. Everything was clean but homey, the shower was high-pressure, and the bed felt even nicer than my one at home. They even went so far as to provide earplugs for the noise from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
safarimotel, Owner at Safari Motel, responded to this review

Awe Thank you. Reviews like this really make our day. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at the Safari Motel for one night as a stop over between Wellington and Rotorua as I didn't want to do the 5-6 hour drive after a full days work. This place was convenient and easy to find on state highway 1 just after the big gumboot if your coming from Wellington. It was clean and the shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
safarimotel, Owner at Safari Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and effort to keep us on our toes. It is very much appreciated. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very nice place to stay for a few nights, the aparments was ok with carpark as well. Only be careful with the internet, because if you use it for email its ok, but if you download or watch movies or tv shows online its a rip off, you need to pay for that to the reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes
safarimotel, Owner at Safari Motel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review Safari Motel. We would like to advise that the free wifi where you are issued with a card with your password on is inclusive of only 300 mb. From this level onward you have to pay for any usage. We allow much more than this. However we do advise that certain... More 

Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The motel is directly located at the road from North to Wellington. The owner is very friendly and had some good recommendations for your further trip. The rooms are large and tidy. Bathrooms are en-suite. There is free w-lan and coffee/tea. There is also a fridge and toaster for making your own breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
safarimotel, Owner at Safari Motel, responded to this review

Yes, It really is great when you are driving to take a break. Halfway between Auckland and Wellington, and on the main highway. Thank you for taking the time and effort to help our industry do the best we can. More 

Anderson Island, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Not much on looks and a little dated but that really wasn't an issue. Good comfortable bed and well supplied kitchen. Good shower, very clean! Hosts brought an excellent breakfast in morning too! Ask for a room away from the road if possible. Oh, there is a train that passes across the road from motel but it is on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
safarimotel, Owner at Safari Motel, responded to this review

Thank you. We really appreciate your feed back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Safari Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motel

Address: 18 Mataroa Road, Taihape 4720, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay