We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Taihape hotels

Safari Motel

18 Mataroa Road, Taihape 4720, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Only.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (24)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Safari Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Taihape
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taihape
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
6
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic little motel! I've stayed at places from Northland to Bluff, and this one is by far the best low-medium budget accommodation I've found. Everything was clean but homey, the shower was high-pressure, and the bed felt even nicer than my one at home. They even went so far as to provide earplugs for the noise from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at the Safari Motel for one night as a stop over between Wellington and Rotorua as I didn't want to do the 5-6 hour drive after a full days work. This place was convenient and easy to find on state highway 1 just after the big gumboot if your coming from Wellington. It was clean and the shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very nice place to stay for a few nights, the aparments was ok with carpark as well. Only be careful with the internet, because if you use it for email its ok, but if you download or watch movies or tv shows online its a rip off, you need to pay for that to the reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes
safarimotel, Owner at Safari Motel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review Safari Motel. We would like to advise that the free wifi where you are issued with a card with your password on is inclusive of only 300 mb. From this level onward you have to pay for any usage. We allow much more than this. However we do advise that certain... More

Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The motel is directly located at the road from North to Wellington. The owner is very friendly and had some good recommendations for your further trip. The rooms are large and tidy. Bathrooms are en-suite. There is free w-lan and coffee/tea. There is also a fridge and toaster for making your own breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anderson Island, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Not much on looks and a little dated but that really wasn't an issue. Good comfortable bed and well supplied kitchen. Good shower, very clean! Hosts brought an excellent breakfast in morning too! Ask for a room away from the road if possible. Oh, there is a train that passes across the road from motel but it is on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Booked same day and it was sad there was no negotiations on the price. Room was dated but clean and comfortable. TV old style and few channel choices. Sleep was a major problem as on the main road and trucks pass by all night. Also my room was next door to a place trucks park so early morning 3 or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
safarimotel, Owner at Safari Motel, responded to this review

Hello Bronwyn H. Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to Safari Motel on the Trip Advisor review site. We have priced our budget units as low as we possibly can, so we do not have room to negotiate any further downward. However, our other units which are priced higher may be negotiable at times for return... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Forget about street appeal (not a lot), This motel is all you could wish for as a place to stay. Very clean; comfy beds; and congenial hosts. We will continue to use this motel whenever we stop in Taihape. Certainly value for money. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch NZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved this gem of a Motel. It was clean, comfortable, and the owners went out of their way to welcome us.We actually required 2 seperate beds instead of 1, and this was attended to very promptly and with a smile. I would recommend it 100% !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a little gem! Passing through TAihape, this is a great place to stay. We booked, at a great arte. We advised we would arrive late and with no fuss, the unit arrangements were estblsihed so we could get in. Whilst not new, it was impeccably clean. No odours or smells - just really clean. It had plenty of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

arrived late at night and was given a room by Manager at a good rate Room very clean and tidy , older style but had everything one needs Only issue was i got a room with 2 single beds, and being of the larger size I did roll out , so check to ensure you get a double as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Safari Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Safari Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motel

Address: 18 Mataroa Road, Taihape 4720, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

12 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Affordable, Welcoming, Comfortable and Clean. Hosted by a Kiwi gal and an Irishman. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Safari Motel to your Saves list