We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aspen Court Motel Taihape

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
27 Mataroa Road | State Highway 1, Taihape 4742, New Zealand
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT - BEST PRICE
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Aspen Court Motel Taihape
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    151
    71
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
86
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly, helpful and efficient reception.Very spacious, clean room with comfortable beds and a well equipped kitchenette.The spa bath was really welcome after a day on the slopes. A very pleasant and peaceful place to stay. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Motel Taihape, responded to this review

Thank you pete7591 for your review. Good to hear you chose to stay in Taihape for your ski trip up the mountain. Great choice. We do hope to see you again later this year for some Spring Ski-ing. Cheers More 

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Helpful and welcoming reception. Very large clean room with comfy bed and a sofa, also a sensible place to put your case. Free wifi, let them know how many devices as need different password if more than one being used. Would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Motel Taihape, responded to this review

Thanks Mapua1962 for taking the time to write this review. We have recently completed our refurbishment of our older units and the place looks great! As part of this we also upgraded our Internet system to Traffic Mate, this allows guests to access our UNLIMITED FREE WIFI with up to 3 devices off one voucher. Next time you stay you... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We enjoyed staying at this motel on the way to the ski fields. The 1 bedroom unit we had was super spacious- probably the largest motel we've stayed in. Everything looked pretty much brand new and was superbly clean. Road/train noise was not an issue at all. If we stay in Taihape again we would definitely stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Motel Taihape, responded to this review

Thanks RRouthan for your review. Please do stay again and yes we are a great base for Turoa Skifield...and much quieter than staying in Ohakune. Our units are large as we know people appreciate the additional space. See you next time you are up our way. Thanks. More 

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

This was the 6 year in a row MGs from the North Island have defended on Aspen Court. Great rooms and ideal for our cause. Just next to Gumboot restaurant also. Hospitality fine and rooms ha e just be renovated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Motel Taihape, responded to this review

Thanks Ross A for your review. Good to hear from you, see you next year for the 7th Annual Visit. Hopefully not too cold for you lot this year....I heard a few complaints form the soft Aucklanders. More 

Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Our Aspen Court booking was a very last minute affair. We were heading north but had to turn around due to snow and ice making the road impassable. We called as we drove south and managed to get a room. How glad we were. The rooms are immaculate. They are a generous size and have everything you need for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Motel Taihape, responded to this review

Cheers Neil C for your comments. We had just re-opened our units after the refurbishment so it was great you experienced that. The weather was not too flash early July but hopefully you were all nice and warm inside your unit. It would be great to see you again one day soon. Regards. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Well appointed motel with quality fixtures and fittings. Comfortable beds and I was very thankful for the heatpump. The notice on it did say DO NOT adjust the settings, but it was freezing, so I did. Put them back where they were though on leaving. Nice roomy bathroom and a lovely surprise of under floor heating. Not the warmest of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Motel Taihape, responded to this review

Hello 2xs Considering there are only 4 motels in Taihape and Aspen Court is the newest by say, I don't know, 30 years or so and the fact we have recently refurbished our older rooms, it is fair to say that yes, we are the best motel in Taihape.....look at all of our reviews and compare. You may have been... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015 via mobile

Awesome place to stay, nice and modern, very large unit and great price. The 1 bdrm family unit was nice and clean. I would Highly recommend. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Had free use of a portacot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Motel Taihape, responded to this review

Hello Taranakite Great to hear from you and pleased you enjoyed your time with us. All the best back in the home of the ITM Cup Champions. More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Stayed x1 night. Facilities were basic, but good and clean. Very good for the price we paid. Our room was up the back, so well away from the road and it helped limit the traffic noise. Happy to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Motel Taihape, responded to this review

Thanks Morfdawg Thanks for your review and great to hear you were comfortable. We have just recently completed our refurbishment program so next time you stay with us you can compare! All the best and thanks. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

This is a lovely quiet motel. Lots of room and very quiet and very comfortable. We were only there for a one night stop over. Wish it could have been longer. The owner was lovely and very helpful. There was a big spa bath in the bathroom which was very relaxing. All this at a very affordable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Motel Taihape, responded to this review

Thanks Fiona P for your review. Yes we are affordable and it was great that you had an enjoyable experience with us AND were well looked after by George and all of the staff. We do hope you enjoyed your time travelling within New Zealand. It was a shame you could not stay two nights and get to see the... More 

Palmerston North
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Having stayed in several different motels because of my work I was delighted once again to stay at Aspen Court in Taihape for the first time in a couple of years. The room was spacious, bright, clean and very very comfortable - in stark contrast to some of the places I have recently visited. If only they had motels like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Motel Taihape, responded to this review

Thanks Vacati0ner056 for your nice review. Great to have you back. We do actually have similar motels down south....in Kaikoura, Franz Josef and Mt Cook Village. The Kaikoura motel is soon to be called Quality Suites Kaikoura, the name at Mt Cook is Aoraki Court while we have Aspen Court Franz Josef completing the trio. We look forward in seeing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taihape hotels
0.0 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#3 of 4 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
12.0 mi away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#4 of 4 in Taihape
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay