We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Valley Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
300 Mangahoata Road | Pukeokaku, RD 2, Taihape 4792, New Zealand
River Valley Lodge
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    27
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
26
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

If you are a nature buff, this is one experience not to be missed! My family and I took the rafting trip down the river with our river guide, Anthony. Though we didn't stay at the River Valley Lodge, it looked cozy and clean though the bathrooms were clearly not for families with kids. The rafting trip was certainly worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for just the one night whilst aboard the Kiwi Experience bus and it was great! You really are in the middle of nowhere with limited connectivity to the rest of the world, and personally I find this very refreshing! All of the staff were lovely and welcoming (excuse my poor recollection of names!!) the crazy guy with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stunning location but be prepared there's no thing at all around, no wifi or phone service but sometimes that's nice. Food was gorgeous,trips on the river to be done during the day. We just played drinking games all night and chilled out by the lake all day, not much more t do in the. Evening

Was this review helpful? Yes
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Thank you for your review and nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and especially the food! There is in fact wifi (though it can be slow) and a pay phone in the public phone box, but no cell phone reception. I hope you enjoyed the rest of New Zealand. Regards Brian More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with my partner during our kiwi experience in a double room with THE MOST AMAZING bed I've ever slept in! The roast dinner was delicious, the breakfast and lunch were real nice homely cooked meals and the staff were open, friendly and inviting! This however was not even the best part, if you visit River Valley Lodge I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Thank you for your review. We always make sure all the staff see reviews. Everyone likes seeing their name mentioned as I am sure Ants will in this case. I'm sure the sheep appreciated the rescue as well! All the best Brian More 

Fort Collins
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was fantastic. Cabin is great location next to river, can't quite see the river from room, but it's a short walk to the rivers edge. Definitely the most private option of the rooms available. Food was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for review. Always nice to read that people enjoyed their River Valley stay. Kind regards Brian More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

This place was just WOW! The accommodation was ok, the food was ok and the shower facilities were ok. But the scenery and location was just stunning. You can opt to go white water rafting but I chose to swim in the river and read my kindle. It was so relaxing and all the staff were really friendly. I miss... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca Thanks for taking the time to write a review of River Valley. Even after having lived here for 37 years I still get a WOW feeling as well when I take the time to take in the grandeur of the surrounding scenery. All the best with your travels. Brian Megaw More 

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

I'm a country girl so this hostel's location was right up my street. I stayed here for a night with the kiwi experience. The hostel is wooden framed and old school in the sense it encourages backpackers to talk to one another, play bored games, have a social drink. Therefore, wifi is at a cost. I did not buy it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would just like to clarify one thing, re the mosquitoes, cockroaches etc. We do in fact not get mosquitoes at night, though we do indeed get sandflies that bite during the day. Sandflies seldom come inside. Neither do we have cockroaches in our area. What you saw were probably the native Huhu beetle, which... More 

Palmerston North
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We stayed for 3 nights for a horse clinic, bringing 2 horses of our own for training. The horse facilities were excellent, among the best anywhere, with a massive arena, a fine round pen, and challenging items for training in “cowboy challenge” should one wish to use them. Food was world class, as good as anything I have eaten in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Arnold Thank you for your review. Bringing horse training clinicians to River Valley is something we would like to do more of in the future. People such as yourself writing reviews certainly gives that project a little more impetuous. Thanks also for your comments about the food. The style of food we try and present is mostly good for... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

I visited river valley as a kiwi experience member and was really excited from what the bus driver had said. When we arrived, we were hurried into the main dining area of the building (which was beautiful) and sat through an orientation with a very sarcastic man, who tried so hArd to be funny he just seemed rude. Which I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for review. I am sorry that your River Valley experience was not that positive. However there are some inaccuracies in your comments. You did not prepay for your dinner - as in fact you later say that you did not have to pay. Our person on reception obviously took your concerns seriously and did not charge you. This... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Right. Let me start with saying I visited this place via the Kiwi Experience bus circuit. We were placed in dorms which were clean and just ok. No issue there, however, the place itself is near a river and as such there are a lot of sand flies and mosquitoes that also live in and around the lodge as such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

It is not often that we get a review such as yours. Thank you for going in to such detail, as it is only with that sort of detail that we can actually attend to any issues raised. First of all, the sandflies and mosquitoes. We actually have no mosquitoes here, so nothing that bites at night, though sandflies from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question