We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Axminster accommodations

Littledean at Deanswood

4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Blackpool Corner, Axminster EX13 5UJ, England (Formerly Deanswood Bed & Breakfast)
Hotel amenities
Littledean at Deanswood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Littledean at Deanswood to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014
Stina13 Cambridge, United Kingdom
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

It says Bed & Breakfast at the top, it isn't. As stated by the last reviewer, there is a breakfast hamper provided for the first day. However; it is far from generous, not even a bottle of orange juice but that aside it is a lovely bungalow in a good location. It is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. If you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrie O, Owner at Littledean at Deanswood, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Littledean. You are quite correct that the accommodation is self catering as shown when you booked it. I'm sorry that you did not find the breakfast basket quite as fulsome as you would have liked but it is self catering accommodation and the basket which comprises fresh home baked bread,eggs,milk,butter,preserves,muesli and other... More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

After reading the reviews on here (all bar the one talking about sharing this with others, which you don't) me and my partner decided this would be a nice independent retreat. Within an hour or 2 of booking, we received an email from the owner (Carrie) offering to make us bread as a welcome....Where else offers that kind of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fergus, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We arrived here on a miserable evening in March and were delighted to discover the amenities provided by this bed and breakfast. We enjoyed the spaciousness of this cottage, and after having spent several nights in regular bed and breakfast accommodation, it was nice to be able to sit in a comfortable chair to watch television! The breakfast basket was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

A clean and comfortable cottage in a great location. Friendly and helpful owner. Lots of nice touches in the accommodation - brochures, maps, information folder, umbrellas, washing machine, dishwasher. It was lovely to have a breakfast hamper provided for the first morning and after that it was self catering in the well equipped kitchen. We were lucky enough to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrie O, Owner at Littledean at Deanswood, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the self catering cottage. I''m not sure you stayed in our self catering accommodation. If you book a1 bedroom cottage for 1 or more nights you will have the sole use of the lounge and fully fitted kitchen and obviously will not be sharing any facilities. If you book a 2 bedroom cottage for... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent a night here in December 2013 before heading to the River Cottage HQ. It was exactly what we needed. There was a friendly welcome right from the driveway and it seemed that the owners had tried hard to think of everything their guests might need (and succeeded!) Rooms were in a great, newly-built standalone bungalow, giving the guests... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philomena7
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The room was clean, modern, comfortable and importantly - warm! As a single traveller I wasn't entirely comfortable in staying in an annex with several rooms accessed from the central foyer area, though this may not worry other travellers. My welcome wasn't quite so warm unfortunately, being left to stand outside in the rain while the landlady was fetched, who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrie O, Owner at Littledean at Deanswood, responded to this review

Thank you got taking the time to leave a review. I am puzzled that you seem to have stayed last May when I think it is possible you stayed in November. I am sorry you did not like the separate accommodation which has just 2 bedrooms although you are right, in that many people do like being separate. You seem... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a delightful B&B this is. Extremely clean and well maintained with a very hospitable host. It was perfect having a separate purpose built cottage with our own entrance. Room had everything you'd need and a very comfy bed. Ensuite bathroom has a large shower. Nice lounge area to relax in as well. Delicious breakfast with local produce. Excellent value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cronulla, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked this B&B because it was close to River Cottage and we spent 3 nights here. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean, but we were a little surprised that it's a freestanding cottage and not part of the main building. Breakfast was very good but we had to go around the back of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Don't really get all the rave reviews. I thought it was a pretty standard B&B and room was much smaller than I expected. Wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer than one night. Unless you sleep with all the windows closed, a lot of traffic noise from the road it is on. I expected something more rural and peaceful from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrie O, Owner at Littledean at Deanswood, responded to this review

Dear RoshLondon I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Deanswood as your other communications had indicated that you had. You stayed on the bank holiday Saturday which as I think you realised is an extremely busy time here in the West country. Our road B3165 was busier than usual with holiday traffic and the local farming... More

Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had 7 Lovley nights, clean comfy room everything you would need - great shower - relaxing sitting area Quiet location, nice woodlend garden to wander around good views ,carrie's cooked breakfast's are Fresh, Tasty, nicely presented and kept us going for the day, and good choice... No need to stop for lunch more time to explore the area, great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Littledean at Deanswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Littledean at Deanswood

Address: Blackpool Corner, Axminster EX13 5UJ, England (Formerly Deanswood Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Littledean at Deanswood 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Littledean at Deanswood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Littledean At Deanswood Axminster, Devon

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Littledean at Deanswood

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby