We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor Hotel at Kippford

Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #3 of 4 Kippford B&B and Inns
A recent review
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    28
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
18
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Had a lovely lunch at this lovely cosy hotel.Scenery outstanding. Staff lovely and food really nice. Village of Kippford is gorgeous, definitely be back. Maybe stay over next time! Would recommend 100%.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place has went downhill so fast it's frightening, I loved this place years ago, the food, the location, then it was rented to new owners and unfortunately they spend all their time the wrong side of the bar. To expensive for what you get, considering it's right at the water it should do an array of fresh seafood not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
anchorkippford, Owner at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Firstly I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our food.I can assure you that our menu consists of as much locally sourced produce,freshly prepared,as seasonably possible.{You may want to look at our other reviews}.If you had studied our menu you would have seen that we also have many fresh seafood dishes available.Yes we do have deep fried... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Small, family run hotel. Really nice staff, no problem when we changed our minds about when we wanted to eat, and where! Good food, lovely view from our room out over the estuary. They even had nice beer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We stopped here for lunch on Saturday (May holiday weekend). The place was jam packed full - no seats left outside and inside was packed too. However when I approached the bar to order drinks I received a beaming smile from the young lady behind the bar. That was a good start. The light bite menu was perused by my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

Great little inn. My wife and I were hosted here on our cycling tour of the region. Steep walk up to the third floor but worth it for the views. The room was clean and well appointed, but the walls are thin. Our neighbors awoke at 530 and though not loud, their voices carried. Otherwise the site and staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bordewrs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Staying at kipford for a few days, went to the anchor yesterday for a meal to celebrate my husbands birthday. The food here is very good. We can take in our dogs which is nice. Even the wet weather did'nt spoil things. Would recommend a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ceargwrle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Great way to end a days riding on the motorbikes. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially the young fella when we got talking about the Argentine Moto GP. My room was both airy and very well presented and spotless clean. There is a great selection of locally sourced foods that make up a great menu for your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

The hotel is in a beautiful location with gorgeous views over the estuary, You feel a warm welcome the minute you walk through the door, the place gives you a big warm hug, All the staff are friendly and welcoming. Both bar and food service was speedy and efficient. There is a varied menu with something for all tastes. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Been before for bar meals but this is the first time we've stayed. Room was spotless with a lovely sea view and well decorated. Dog made very welcome in the bar and bar meals were just as good as we remembered. Breakfast brilliant and as much as you could eat. Staff very friendly and helpful. So good we stayed an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We rented a cottage in the village and visited the Anchor several times during the week, as the weather was good we sat outside just having a drink a couple of days at the many tables with great views over the estuary. On our last night we ate in the pub and the food was very good as well. To... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay