We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northern Sands Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Main Street, Dunnet KW14 8XD, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Northern Sands Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunnet
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Colin L Dunnet, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    23
    35
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
32
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Dunnet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We haven't been to the hotel for some time even though it is local to us. We were informed of the pensioners two course meal and decided to give it a try. We were a party of six and none of us were disappointed. The ambience, food and service were excellent and I haven't any hesitation in recommending it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valla, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here a couple of times now so it must be ok .The owner, Don goes out of his way to be as helpful as he can.We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable(dont expect 5star)with the beds to my liking.The pub food is generous in servings and tasty.I think Mr Doug Turner was a bit harsh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Highlander63, Owner at Northern Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and it is good to see you returning again and on behalf of the management and staff hope to see you again in the near future. More 

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Three of had dinner at the hotel on 28th March. I ordered Thai Fishcakes.. being a chef, and having cooked this many times, I know it does NOT consist of 90% mashed potato. I made comment to the waitress, no feed back from kitchen resulted. Main course was satisfactory. Dessert one of us ordered Strawberries & Ice cream. On the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Highlander63, Owner at Northern Sands Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt the need to leave the negative feedback after you contacted the hotel direct and we discussed the issue which I felt was to your satisfaction. We take all issues seriously and act accordingly so no one leaves the hotel disappointed. We pride ourselves in the quality of our food and generally we do not get... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

After trying and failing to get accommodation in John o Groats, we finely found salvation at 7pm in dunnet at the Northern Sands Hotel. At £70 for a b&b stay it was beyond our budget but at that stage in the evening we felt we had little choice. The room was old fashioned with 2 single beds pushed together. Although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Highlander63, Owner at Northern Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments they are very helpful. firstly the bar does not shut at 8 and you certainly should not have been informed so, it stays open till 11 and I have spoken to the staff regarding this. The kitchen was closed however we did offer a meal despite this. We do not feel the rooms are old... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Stage 2 of my 5 day tour landed me at Northern Sands Hotel in Dunnet on the north coast of Scotland. Onsite parking and an excellent room plus my first taste of Haggis made this a very memorable stay. About a 20 minute drive / ride to John O'Groats and a short walk to Dunnet Bay and beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

When we checked in there appeared to be a mix up about our booking. Even although manager/owner not on site the staff very quickly resolved the matter. They also provided complementary dinner for any stress/inconvenience caused.i

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thurso, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Been a while since I visited the carvers, but it is still fabulous! Beautiful tady food, amazing puddings toi!mdefinately worth a visit ! Plenty of choice as well so you don't feel restricted to a set menu as such, a perfect Sunday lunch venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I was treated to my dinner at The Northern Sands by my friends Mr and Mrs Mackay. What a nice little restaurant, cosy and welcoming. The portion sizes were excellent, not too big and not too small. The staff were very friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Room was not the same as the piuctures I had seen. Room was dated. Carpet in the bathroom is never good and the tiles needed a regrout. Compared to other places we stayed on the trip this was the least asppealling room. There was a little noise from below which I think was the kitchen. You could see that effort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goole, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We were recommended this hotel to eat at while staying at a local b&b, food was excellent, and the Orkney fudge cheesecake was so nice I have never tasted a cheesecake like it. Portions were very generous, quality was 1st class and staff was so friendly we will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay