We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Rectory Howick

Certificate of Excellence
Old Rectory, Howick, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3LE, England
Old Rectory Howick
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    73
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Sandvika, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My son and I were on a biking trip from Newcastle to Edinburgh and we stayed overnight at the Old Rectory. We were welcomed by a charming host and hostess and immediately made to feel at home. Nice, refreshing walk along the seaside to the nearest pub and restaurant in Craster.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richmond
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have returned to the Old Rectory after a five year gap, We stayed in Holly a large comfortable room overlooking the pretty garden with many birds to watch from the window seat. We were well cared for by Christine,David and Linda who is there at breakfast too. We had a lovely stay but not long enough sadly, We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

Many thanks. Lovely to have you back. Keep the ice pack working! Christine is so impressed, she is going to buy some. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

A warm welcome to a beautiful house. Our rooms were spacious, well appointed with comfortable beds. One room is advertised as dual aspect (Jill?) but one window is in the bathroom. Breakfasts were delicious, a large range to accommodate all tastes including the most divine Northumberland sausages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

Glad you liked the sausages! Turnbull's best Northumberland sausage. We love them too. The sea view from Jill is in the bathroom, as you say, but it is a double window and is a lovely view. Hope to see you again. More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Every bit as good as expected from other reviews! We were looked after so well by Christine and David in their lovely period home. Explored the coastal path both north and south and visited the Farne Islands. Northumberland never disappoints!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

Thanks Brenda for your wonderful review. The coastal path is amazing and as you say Northumberland never disappoints. So happy you had a good experience at one of our great eateries. More 

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Took the inlaws away for a weekend, a Christmas gift. We had a large room with day bed for our daughter (10) but both rooms had all you needed in them. Fantastic choice for breakfast, for me its all the fruits and cereals, but the special porridge done overnight in the aga went down well with others. Very quiet, very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed being here. Hope you win our Lucky Dip for the Church funds! Sorry about the Wifi - we're still hoping BT will get faster. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Lovely hosts David and Christine, not forgetting Linda who helps out at breakfast. Really warm welcome, comfortable warm accommodation, breakfast like nothing you have had before with excellent conversation around the communal table. Nothing too much trouble. Thank you. I would recommend without hesitation

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

Thank you for coming back to see us again and enjoying our communal breakfast table too. Many friends are made around it. Look forward to your next visit. More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful four night break at the Old Rectory. We stayed in Jill which was so spacious and comfortable made all the better by thoughtful touches such as milk in the fridge, super fluffy towels and bird books and binoculars on the coffee table. The breakfasts were fantastic, as other reviewers have said, kept us going till... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

Lovely to have met you. We look forward to you coming back. Christine is waiting for her M&S order to arrive! Many thanks More 

Stockport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Have just returned from a short stay at the Old Rectory, Howick and must say we have had a most enjoyable stay. If you're looking for ultimate comfort and great breakfast then this is the place to stay. Would highly recommend you stay here when in this part of the world. Lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. More 

Ilkley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Just been back to the Old Rectory for a couple of nights - it was great to be welcomed back as soon as we arrived. The room was wonderful with space and furniture that make it home-from-home as well as all the usual facilities. Fridge with fresh milk is a plus. Will be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

We are glad we could help you enjoy the peace and quiet of our lovely Northumberland coast. It was lovely to see you again. Come back soon. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

This was our second trip to the OldRectory. Beautiful, peaceful location. We stayed in "Holly".a lovely room, overlooking the garden, hens and bird feeders. A very warm welcome, delightful house, very clean room with en suite. Quality toiletries, comfy bed, great breakfasts! I could go on and on. David, Christine and Linda make it all special, and we will return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

It was lovely to have you back and we hope to see you again soon. Our best wishes to both of you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craster
3.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
5.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 4 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
5.7 mi away
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities