We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Rectory Howick

Certificate of Excellence
Old Rectory, Howick, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3LE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Craster
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Old Rectory Howick
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    78
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

What a beautiful B&B! What a great find by my husband on our trip to the area. We had Holly room, which was a great size, very comfy bed, lovely settee to watch television in the evening. Little touches like cold milk, selection of tea and coffee, biscuits etc. The breakfast room was laid up each morning with an amazing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had two nights here at the end of a walking holiday doing the Northumberland Coastal Path. Really lovely large room (Holly) overlooking the walled garden. Lots of bird life to watch from the window seat. LightEnsuite shower (no bath) with lovely products & towels. Communal breakfast table was a pleasant change from whispered conversations in other small B n B's.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Old Rectory for 3 nights for a family get together. The rooms were lovely and very spacious, and we were made to feel very welcome straight away. The breakfasts were fantastic, and could keep us going all day! The location was excellent - just a short walk along a road to the coast (ok with kids).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the nicest bed and breakfast places I have stayed. We had everything we needed including gorgeous white soft towels and robes. Full cooked breakfast was amazing with local produce. Would highly recommend and would certainly stay again. Thank you for all the nice little touches too - sweeties and chocolate cake! Location brilliant and not too far from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for five days in August as part of our summer holidays on the North East coast and were absolutely delighted. Christine and David were the perfect hosts and could not have made our stay more comfortable or enjoyable. They tended to our every need - including an early breakfast 'takeaway'. Linda who looked after guests at breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandvika, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

My son and I were on a biking trip from Newcastle to Edinburgh and we stayed overnight at the Old Rectory. We were welcomed by a charming host and hostess and immediately made to feel at home. Nice, refreshing walk along the seaside to the nearest pub and restaurant in Craster.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richmond
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We have returned to the Old Rectory after a five year gap, We stayed in Holly a large comfortable room overlooking the pretty garden with many birds to watch from the window seat. We were well cared for by Christine,David and Linda who is there at breakfast too. We had a lovely stay but not long enough sadly, We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

Many thanks. Lovely to have you back. Keep the ice pack working! Christine is so impressed, she is going to buy some. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

A warm welcome to a beautiful house. Our rooms were spacious, well appointed with comfortable beds. One room is advertised as dual aspect (Jill?) but one window is in the bathroom. Breakfasts were delicious, a large range to accommodate all tastes including the most divine Northumberland sausages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

Glad you liked the sausages! Turnbull's best Northumberland sausage. We love them too. The sea view from Jill is in the bathroom, as you say, but it is a double window and is a lovely view. Hope to see you again. More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Every bit as good as expected from other reviews! We were looked after so well by Christine and David in their lovely period home. Explored the coastal path both north and south and visited the Farne Islands. Northumberland never disappoints!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

Thanks Brenda for your wonderful review. The coastal path is amazing and as you say Northumberland never disappoints. So happy you had a good experience at one of our great eateries. More 

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Took the inlaws away for a weekend, a Christmas gift. We had a large room with day bed for our daughter (10) but both rooms had all you needed in them. Fantastic choice for breakfast, for me its all the fruits and cereals, but the special porridge done overnight in the aga went down well with others. Very quiet, very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDAVIDJ253, Owner at Old Rectory Howick, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed being here. Hope you win our Lucky Dip for the Church funds! Sorry about the Wifi - we're still hoping BT will get faster. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craster
3.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
5.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
5.7 mi away
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities