We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Proctor's Stead

Certificate of Excellence
Proctor's Stead, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TF , England
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    19
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been many times to this site. Rob makes you feel at home and has side lines such as milk, juice, eggs etc. that he sells from the house. Nice and clean facilities. The grass is always neatly cut and the electricity hook up is good. The nearby Village Inn makes lovely meals in beautiful surroundings and they also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our 1st time in a small 13ft caravan .it was an 'experience '...The site was great all modern showers toilet and wash rooms wash machines dryer and electricity hook ups so no problems there at all We needed awning to be put up. Which is extra. ..but again the price was very reasonable and very friendly owners and very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here a number of times and we do really enjoy it. I love Craster and the Northumberland coast. The site is very well maintained and clean. Toilets are looked after and pleasant. Only niggles are no soap in dispensers in ladies wash area and tepid water in showers/sink areas. Overall a good campsite in super coastal surroundings

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We found Proctor Steads by chance in 2009. What a superb quaint and idyllic site. If your looking for peace and tranquility on the beautiful Northumberland coast, you will not find better. The owners Rob and Ruth, Northumbrian characters in their own sense provide you with the very best of hospitality and well worth a chat to. This is our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Just got back from our 1st visit to Proctors Stead & what a nice site, shown to our pitch by the farmer on his bike. Facilities good & the other campers very friendly,10 minute walk into Craster but very busy on the bank holiday. Great pub just outside the campsite with great food & you can take the dog with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We come to craster in our motorhome every August bank holiday and stay at proctors stead. Lovely, well drained site with clean facilities n nice hot showers! Not too far to walk into craster or to the cottage inn pub - lovely meals! A great, relaxing place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We arrived here without booking and my wife went to the house to book in, she returned following a farmer on a bicycle to showed us to our pitch, he was a lovely chap and quite a character, well worth a chat! Facilities were excellent, very clean, recycling was thorough even catering for bbq ashes, showers took 10 pences and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed at here for 5 nights and really enjoyed our holiday. The site has good level small grass fields for tents no designated pitch spots just given a gap between two tents by the owner pointing whilst cycling past, not a great conversationalist but pleasant, good deep soil for pegs and appeared to drain well with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed at this campsite for one night recently and I have to say, it was my worst experience of camping so far. First of all the elderly couple who run the site were rude, unhelpful and ignorant. We were not even shown where any of the facilities were and as we arrived late, had to wander around the campsite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Rob D, Owner at Proctor's Stead, responded to this review

Hi. We'd like to clarify a few points made in this review. 1) We were not at all unhelpful, in fact quite the contrary. We helped you to your pitch and it was not soaking wet. We also supplied you with you with an extension cable as you didn't bring one with you. 2) There are ample bins on site.... More 

Bingley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Well this was an usual experience but overall a really good one!! The pitches are spacious and we had lots of open 'green' area in front of our van The showers and the toilets were dated but basically clean, the 10p machines for the showers were a pain! The eggs and milk on site were good but essential as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities