We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Proctor's Stead

3.0 of 5
Proctor's Stead, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TF , England
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got back from our 1st visit to Proctors Stead & what a nice site, shown to our pitch by the farmer on his bike. Facilities good & the other campers very friendly,10 minute walk into Craster but very busy on the bank holiday. Great pub just outside the campsite with great food & you can take the dog with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We come to craster in our motorhome every August bank holiday and stay at proctors stead. Lovely, well drained site with clean facilities n nice hot showers! Not too far to walk into craster or to the cottage inn pub - lovely meals! A great, relaxing place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We arrived here without booking and my wife went to the house to book in, she returned following a farmer on a bicycle to showed us to our pitch, he was a lovely chap and quite a character, well worth a chat! Facilities were excellent, very clean, recycling was thorough even catering for bbq ashes, showers took 10 pences and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed at here for 5 nights and really enjoyed our holiday. The site has good level small grass fields for tents no designated pitch spots just given a gap between two tents by the owner pointing whilst cycling past, not a great conversationalist but pleasant, good deep soil for pegs and appeared to drain well with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed at this campsite for one night recently and I have to say, it was my worst experience of camping so far. First of all the elderly couple who run the site were rude, unhelpful and ignorant. We were not even shown where any of the facilities were and as we arrived late, had to wander around the campsite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rob D, Owner at Proctor's Stead, responded to this review

Hi. We'd like to clarify a few points made in this review. 1) We were not at all unhelpful, in fact quite the contrary. We helped you to your pitch and it was not soaking wet. We also supplied you with you with an extension cable as you didn't bring one with you. 2) There are ample bins on site.... More 

Bingley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Well this was an usual experience but overall a really good one!! The pitches are spacious and we had lots of open 'green' area in front of our van The showers and the toilets were dated but basically clean, the 10p machines for the showers were a pain! The eggs and milk on site were good but essential as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Very busy Camping and Caravan site, lots of 1-2 day stop overs, relaxed comfortable not too structured. Only advice would be to have a play area, as children wanting to play with balls had no where to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We only had a couple of nights here in our tent. We were shown to our pitch, which was good and flat. The ground is great for pitching (no bent tent pegs!). The site was fully booked with a mixture of tents and caravans. Room between the pitches was perfectly adequate. We didn't feel squashed in at all. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I normally stay at another site in Northumberland but they couldn't fit me in, so decided to try Proctor Stead. On arrival I went into the office and paid the remainder of the balance, the lady was very friendly and asked me to wait in the car for her husband to return to show me to the pitch. We waited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our journey here started near Ashbourne in Derbyshire. We had an Ordnance Survey map with Dunstanburgh Castle on. Proctor's Stead was the first campsite on the map, and first site we tried this evening. We were shown to our pitch. No hook up so in the middle. Facilities a little old, but clean. Only 10p for a shower. I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question