We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Craster accommodations

Proctor's Stead

Save
You added Proctor's Stead to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Proctor's Stead, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TF , England
Hotel amenities
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Craster
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We come to craster in our motorhome every August bank holiday and stay at proctors stead. Lovely, well drained site with clean facilities n nice hot showers! Not too far to walk into craster or to the cottage inn pub - lovely meals! A great, relaxing place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We arrived here without booking and my wife went to the house to book in, she returned following a farmer on a bicycle to showed us to our pitch, he was a lovely chap and quite a character, well worth a chat! Facilities were excellent, very clean, recycling was thorough even catering for bbq ashes, showers took 10 pences and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed at here for 5 nights and really enjoyed our holiday. The site has good level small grass fields for tents no designated pitch spots just given a gap between two tents by the owner pointing whilst cycling past, not a great conversationalist but pleasant, good deep soil for pegs and appeared to drain well with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed at this campsite for one night recently and I have to say, it was my worst experience of camping so far. First of all the elderly couple who run the site were rude, unhelpful and ignorant. We were not even shown where any of the facilities were and as we arrived late, had to wander around the campsite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rob D, Owner at Proctor's Stead, responded to this review

Hi. We'd like to clarify a few points made in this review. 1) We were not at all unhelpful, in fact quite the contrary. We helped you to your pitch and it was not soaking wet. We also supplied you with you with an extension cable as you didn't bring one with you. 2) There are ample bins on site.... More

Bingley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Well this was an usual experience but overall a really good one!! The pitches are spacious and we had lots of open 'green' area in front of our van The showers and the toilets were dated but basically clean, the 10p machines for the showers were a pain! The eggs and milk on site were good but essential as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Very busy Camping and Caravan site, lots of 1-2 day stop overs, relaxed comfortable not too structured. Only advice would be to have a play area, as children wanting to play with balls had no where to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We only had a couple of nights here in our tent. We were shown to our pitch, which was good and flat. The ground is great for pitching (no bent tent pegs!). The site was fully booked with a mixture of tents and caravans. Room between the pitches was perfectly adequate. We didn't feel squashed in at all. It is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I normally stay at another site in Northumberland but they couldn't fit me in, so decided to try Proctor Stead. On arrival I went into the office and paid the remainder of the balance, the lady was very friendly and asked me to wait in the car for her husband to return to show me to the pitch. We waited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our journey here started near Ashbourne in Derbyshire. We had an Ordnance Survey map with Dunstanburgh Castle on. Proctor's Stead was the first campsite on the map, and first site we tried this evening. We were shown to our pitch. No hook up so in the middle. Facilities a little old, but clean. Only 10p for a shower. I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The club site was fully booked so we found this site in the back of the club book, Not sure what we would find, very pleasantly surprised, lovely surroundings, well maintained, tidy and clean. Toilets a bit old fashioned but cleaned about 6.30am! no queues, lots of room and lots of hot water..Beautiful area to visit, beaches,, villages,all great. Glad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Proctor's Stead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proctor's Stead

Address: Proctor's Stead, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Craster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Craster
Hotel Class:3 star — Proctor's Stead 3*
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proctor's Stead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.