We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grove Arms

Certificate of Excellence
Ludwell SP7 9ND, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grove Arms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Grove Arms
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    15
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
16
38
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Two nights at the Grove Arms and I cannot find a fault. Stayed in room 3, it was clean comfortable and pleasant. The food is all home cooked and delicious, especially the fish pie. Breakfast was also very good, all piping hot and cooked perfectly. However what really sets it apart is the friendly owner and staff. My wife and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went after buying an offer on groupon. We will be back. Lovely ambience, food choice was good and delivered quickly with excellent service from all the team we came in to contact with. We visited on steak night, they were delicious and cooked really well! Even without the Groupon voucher this place is fabulous value for money. Cleanliness standards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Experiences22, Owner at The Grove Arms, responded to this review

Hi Bencat243, Local feedback - thank you!!! Thank you for your comments in relation to our value for money and I am glad to see the locals are making the most of our groupon offer!! Our vision is to provide good quality pub food and offer the community both local and destination trade from further afield a fantastic experience through... More 

Poole
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very pleasant one night stay at the Grove. The staff were all very friendly and courteous and the food was excellent. We had a problem with the hot water tap just before we came down to dinner and we explained our problem to one of the staff. She said that they would get somebody in to fix... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Experiences22, Owner at The Grove Arms, responded to this review

Hi Row1, Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated! Where would a girl be without her dad to fix any such issues! Tradesman move aside "superman" is coming through! It is always annoying when these little things crop up and there is never any warning of them! However thank you for your patience whilst "superman" jumped into action!... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Here at the moment staying in room 3. Horrendous! Think I'm in the middle of a motorway. Have to have windows open because of heat, noisy as hell . Have phoned reception only to be told that there is nothing they can do as no other rooms are available. Great!!! Wish I stayed home in the City where it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Experiences22, Owner at The Grove Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which is slightly perplexing? We were aware of your feelings but were unfortunately unable to move you due to being fully booked. Furthermore the nearest motorway is the M27 which to hear the noise from there requires pretty sharp hearing which unfortunately mine is not :( It is always disappointing when people find our accommodation... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sign outside says it is AA Four Star, I would suggest it is more 3 star rooms, and 5 star service. OK, lets get the bad stuff out the way first of all. The road outside is, if you have the windows open, VERY noisy as there is a row of cottages opposite and the sound just BOOMS. I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Experiences22, Owner at The Grove Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review much appreciated - we are 4 star rated with the AA for our service, bedroom facilities and standard plus our setting. We were last reviewed in January 2015 and apart from refurbishment improvements we are still trading the same as we were then as we are now so I am hoping we do... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

We had an excellent generous meal, it was a good atmosphere and the service was friendly - we will definitely be going back! We live in Dorset not too far away and we were looking for something different and a bit special to celebrate our dad's birthday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

A short stay that was excellent in every respect. The menu was varied and the food presentation was good. The staff were welcoming, helpful and polite. Accommodation was very clean and comfortable. The price represented excellent value for money. All in all a very enjoyable experience and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We have just returned home after two nights at the Grove Arms. We cannot think of any negative to say, it was all very good, room, food and the young staff were very helpful. Would recommend, one of the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

Doggie breakfast! What a good idea! Lovely overnight stay and great dinner. Good atmosphere. I would definitely recommend especially if you have a dog as they are made so welcome (as were we!) would love to come again it's a real escape from busy life!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

My fiance and I visited after discovering The Grove Arms on a voucher code website. It's an hour drive for us but worth it as the countryside is beautiful. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly bar staff and waitresses who explained the menu and that there was evening entertainment (live band). Despite a lovely selection of food, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludwell
2.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lancers House
Lancers House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Mandeville
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay