We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grove Arms

Certificate of Excellence
, Ludwell SP7 9ND, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Grove Arms
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    16
    6
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
40
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Gloucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just returned from two nights B & B. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Excellent breakfast and a comfortable room. Liked the additional touch of a small residents seating area with a fridge for milk ( provided if needed in a small flask) or anything else. On both evenings we decided to eat in as the quality of the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night and also had dinner at the pub. Very friendly and efficient staff at checkin, at the bar and the restaurant. Food was good and reasonably priced. Could not fault anything. Overall a great pub in a lovely location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location,friendly staff and OK food. My room was pleasant and comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was larger than i expected. Nicely decorated rooms. No elevator. Car parking off road and free. Wifi free and easy to access. Be aware on booking that they sometimes have live music which can a plus or a minus depending on your point if view.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here on a living social deal, £129 for 2 nights B&B for my husband and me plus our dog. What a treat! The young staff here are without exception, welcoming, friendly and professional. We ate here on both evenings of our stay and the food was freshly cooked and delicious and also very reasonably priced. Our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shaftesbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Just over a week ago my son was staying and thought we would take him to our local pub to have lunch, I had a steak which I asked to be cooked Medium to well done (no blood) when it came out it was blue in the middle and swimming in blood which I was told was the sauce so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Two nights at the Grove Arms and I cannot find a fault. Stayed in room 3, it was clean comfortable and pleasant. The food is all home cooked and delicious, especially the fish pie. Breakfast was also very good, all piping hot and cooked perfectly. However what really sets it apart is the friendly owner and staff. My wife and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Experiences22, Owner at The Grove Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay with us! I always have a soft spot for terriers - George is certainly a handful but I wouldn't be without him! Yours was definitely well behaved although they will all do anything for a doggie breakfast! It is so pleasing to hear you felt really welcome from when you... More 

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We went after buying an offer on groupon. We will be back. Lovely ambience, food choice was good and delivered quickly with excellent service from all the team we came in to contact with. We visited on steak night, they were delicious and cooked really well! Even without the Groupon voucher this place is fabulous value for money. Cleanliness standards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Experiences22, Owner at The Grove Arms, responded to this review

Hi Bencat243, Local feedback - thank you!!! Thank you for your comments in relation to our value for money and I am glad to see the locals are making the most of our groupon offer!! Our vision is to provide good quality pub food and offer the community both local and destination trade from further afield a fantastic experience through... More 

Poole
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

We had a very pleasant one night stay at the Grove. The staff were all very friendly and courteous and the food was excellent. We had a problem with the hot water tap just before we came down to dinner and we explained our problem to one of the staff. She said that they would get somebody in to fix... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Experiences22, Owner at The Grove Arms, responded to this review

Hi Row1, Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated! Where would a girl be without her dad to fix any such issues! Tradesman move aside "superman" is coming through! It is always annoying when these little things crop up and there is never any warning of them! However thank you for your patience whilst "superman" jumped into action!... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Here at the moment staying in room 3. Horrendous! Think I'm in the middle of a motorway. Have to have windows open because of heat, noisy as hell . Have phoned reception only to be told that there is nothing they can do as no other rooms are available. Great!!! Wish I stayed home in the City where it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Experiences22, Owner at The Grove Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which is slightly perplexing? We were aware of your feelings but were unfortunately unable to move you due to being fully booked. Furthermore the nearest motorway is the M27 which to hear the noise from there requires pretty sharp hearing which unfortunately mine is not :( It is always disappointing when people find our accommodation... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Sign outside says it is AA Four Star, I would suggest it is more 3 star rooms, and 5 star service. OK, lets get the bad stuff out the way first of all. The road outside is, if you have the windows open, VERY noisy as there is a row of cottages opposite and the sound just BOOMS. I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Experiences22, Owner at The Grove Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review much appreciated - we are 4 star rated with the AA for our service, bedroom facilities and standard plus our setting. We were last reviewed in January 2015 and apart from refurbishment improvements we are still trading the same as we were then as we are now so I am hoping we do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludwell
2.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lancers House
Lancers House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Mandeville
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay