We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Louise

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
375 Seppeltsfield Road, Marananga, South Australia 5355, Australia
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Louise
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Louise
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    32
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
151
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (202)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My boyfriend brought me for a visit to Barossa and we stayed here overnight. Many reviewers complain that it is overpriced. However, considering that Australia is overpriced and this place is part of the Luxury Lodges of Australia, in this context The Louise is actually reasonably priced. We stayed at one of the Stonewell Suites and I love the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen-Louise-C, Owner at The Louise, responded to this review

You've described your recent, romantic stay with us with such glowing comment; and we truly appreciate your mention of the interior design of our guest suites with private courtyards and the luxurious bathroom with Jacuzzi and indoor and outdoor showers. Happy that you have enjoy these amenities, as well as your views to the vineyards surrounding the property and having... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a fantastic place to relax and enjoy visiting the Barossa. Rooms have everything you could possibly want - a comfortable and spacious living area, really comfortable bed with good quality pillows, outside terrace areas, and spa bath complete with a rubber ducky. Breakfast is delivered to your room, and offered a good choice of options. Not cheap, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen-Louise-C, Owner at The Louise, responded to this review

Your review is such a treat for us to read and share with staff here at The Louise! We are so pleased that you found your guest suite both spacious and comfortable and that you especially enjoyed the spa bath with rubber ducky as well as the outdoor terrace. Thank you for sharing that you were pleased with the choice... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sadly, after hearing so much about this hotel we were not that impressed - overpriced is the one word that would describe our stay. Whilst the staff were friendly and efficient we found the bar, restaurant and food a bit soulless. Considering most of your time is spent in your very nice room, I would expect to come in to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen-Louise-C, Owner at The Louise, responded to this review

Thanks for your acknowledgement about the posting of the luggage that you inadvertently left behind here. It is not frequent that we need to send onwards a full suitcase; but we are happy to know that your luggage has made its way back to you at your home near Brisbane, AU. Your observation of rate comparison with a "five star... More 

sanctuary cove
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Louise is justifiably famous - and it is lovely. We had suite 33 which has the 2 bedrooms as there were 2 couples. It worked really well. Lovely terraces front and back and gorgeous views over the vineyards. Restaurant Appellation excellent. Not surprisingly, a good wine list. Central location for exploring the Barossa, and easy to find (not all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen-Louise-C, Owner at The Louise, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely comments following your stay in our two-bedroom guest suite, designed for two couples, such as yourselves. We enjoy knowing that you thought our Appellation restaurant excellent and that you found it easy to find our central location in the Barossa. I'm not sure we are "famous," as you've written; yet reviews such as yours do... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've always wanted to stay in the Louise as we love the Barossa and the Louise always gets such good reviews - so I was just a little disappointed with our recent stay. Firstly I must say that our meal in the restaurant was beautiful and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. WiFi was free so that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helen-Louise-C, Owner at The Louise, responded to this review

We appreciate your comment on a beautiful dinner in our Appellation restaurant, reserved for evening dining only, in order to assure that both the meal and setting remain truly special for our in-house guests. You note the decanter of local port in your guest suite that references the origins of the Barossa developed in the mid-1880's to harvest grapes for... More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the third visit to the hotel and we love the location and the area. The hotel staff are very friendly and offer great suggestions of things to do. We enjoyed the quiet ambience of the hotel and relaxing at the pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen-Louise-C, Owner at The Louise, responded to this review

Your appreciation of our Barossa Valley location and suggestions by our staff of the many and varied activities to enjoy during your stay with us at The Louise are a treat to read. I am so pleased that you've written that you enjoyed the quiet atmosphere we also cherish on property and relaxing at our new infinity edge pool on... More 

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights at the Louise and loved every minute of it. Everything was first class and the service was tremendous. There cant be a better place to stay. You have lots of room in and out of the rooms. Each room has a patio area in the front and the back. Outdoor showers were also a plus. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen-Louise-C, Owner at The Louise, responded to this review

Your review describing The Louise as "first class" means a great deal to us. Thank you as well for your very positive comments on our service and your experience in our on-site restaurant during your three day stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the front and rear patios and outdoor shower amenities in your guest suite,... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Staying at this boutique Lodge can be easily characterised as a treat. Superb rooms, most gracious, helpful and friendly service in all areas and a restaurant, Appellation, which ticks all boxes. There is nothing more to wish for........

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen-Louise-C, Owner at The Louise, responded to this review

"Nothing more to wish for..." is such a beautiful compliment. We'd like you to wish for a return to stay with us again at The Louise and to enjoy another evening in our Appellation restaurant. Thank you for the compliment on gracious and helpful service by our staff, who strive to meet the expectations of our guests. We are truly... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We stayed in this beautiful hotel last Friday night. Our party had suite 20 and suite 21. We thought the hotel was absolutely fabulous, certainly amongst the best that I've ever stayed in UNTIL we got into bed! It was just like a camp bed, I have rarely been so disappointed, the most uncomfortable nights sleep ever! My daughter, in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helen-Louise-C, Owner at The Louise, responded to this review

We are always pleased to welcome family units to The Louise, such as your joining your daughter and her partner for a time away with us. Your description of our property as "absolutely fabulous" is a wonderful and much appreciated compliment. That you experienced an uncomfortable night's sleep is truly disappointing, as we would have wished you only sweet dreams... More 

Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We enjoyed our stay very much: + extremely nice suites (we got an upgrade), dinner perfect, breakfast on the terace of the suite even better, lovelely wine area, very good wine estates and testing cellars nearby. Very nice service - extremely expensive, but adequate for service

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen-Louise-C, Owner at The Louise, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments on our guest suites, breakfast on the terrace and the service provided during your stay by staff at The Louise and in Appellation restaurant. We were pleased to offer you an upgraded suite at check-in and are delighted you have so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question