We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Luisiana

Travelers' Choice award winner
Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luisiana
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Luisiana
Add Photo Write a Review

683 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    381
    211
    62
    14
    15
See reviews for
141
258
72
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (683)
  • Mar-May only
    (160)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (207)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (143)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (173)
All months
San Francisco
Level Contributor
382 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The rooms were large an d the check-in was good. The neighborhood is unattractive, the pool area need updating, some of the clients resemble women engaging in the world's oldest profession and I would make sure I used a credit card, not a debit card to pay the bill in the event that a dispute arises

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall, I would have to say that we had a most enjoyable experience staying at the hotel. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful throughout our stay. They answered all of our questions in a cheerful manner. The small restaurant in the hotel had delicious pasta. We had a room on the third floor so the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ivansala, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review

dear joanne thanks for your feedback so sorry for the GPS situations , we are a small hotel and we have only 2 gps , all was rented ! but i personally suggest to you to use WAZE on your phone , is better way to go in Costa Rica ! thanks for suggest me more hook , i take... More 

Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I visited Costa Rica with 3 family members from the USA. The stay was pleasant and the property was clean. My problem came when we ate breakfast for two days and signed the sheets for the rooms. At check out we paid for the meals withmy sister's credit card and the attendant gave us our total. Few days later two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ivansala, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review

hi miguelina like i explain in our email , i have your sign ...... i send to you the invoice with the sign .....was 6 breakfast you take and you sign for eat was not friend of yours , was you , was your family next time please book the rooms with breakfast included , is better , is ore... More 

Fort Myers, Florida
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I wanted to get back to San Jose to avoid a long ride the day of our flight but all of the chain hotels were booked or ridiculously expensive. We based our choice on price and airport proximity and hoped it wouldn't be too bad. It turned out to be a lovely place with lots of charm... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ivansala, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review

thank yuo so much nydiam we are the best place in relation quality-price ! hope you enjoy more in the future ! More 

Palmares, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This charming hotel is nestled in the mountains. The room was clean and had the most comfortable bed my wife and I ever slept in. The staff was very accommodating and definitely put the guest first. The restaurant was excellent with a variety of choices. Give it a try, the Hotel Luisana will ensure you have a great stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very happily surprised with the Hotel Luisiana. I was hoping for a decent place to spend a night, given the very reasonable rate. The staff were polite, the building very charming, and the room was immaculate! I have never been in a room that I felt was as clean. It appeared to be all new, and very comfortable.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

iF i COULD, I would give this ZERO stars! The pool area looks NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES! The pics also don't show the 3rd floor (no elevator) dungeon rooms that are for purchase mainly through third party websites...you know which ones! We normally stay at another B and B in the same area, when going into San Jose, and DEFINITELY... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review

dear customer ice machine was boken for one day , so sorry now we buy 2 of them , no problem in the future no extra money is needed for early check in ....is possible only if we have room already ac works well .....when i come in your rooms when you leave , was perfect next time please call... More 

Houston
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked 2 rooms because we are a family of five. The shower did not work in one of the rooms so we went to one of our other rooms to use the shower. The owner tried to tell us that the shower worked perfectly and we didn't know how to use it. There was nothing unusual about the shower... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review

dear lisa so sorry for what happens shower works so well , you doesn't want to wait 3 minute for receptionist help the shower was perfect , and when you ask me a discount for this situation , sorry but this is unacceptable..... normally a make discount or i refund if i have some big problem .... next time wait... More 

Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Probably the nicest $57 hotel room I've ever stayed in, in any country. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, in great shape, and newly furnished, and the service was excellent. They even brought a crib for my 4 month old. The pool is great for kids with a really big shallow area. The only drawback is that there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in San Jose, CR, had a long trip from Bocas del Toro, so I was exhausted. Was looking for something nothing pricey but comfortable and quiet. Hotel Luisiana exceeded all my expectations, the room was clean, the bed was AMAZING!! , the room was very comfortable in every way (quiet-clean-with good space). So far haven't found any other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

247 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (167)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (17)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (80)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay