We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Onna-son hotels

Sunmarina Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66-1 Fuchaku, Onna-son, Kunigami-gun, Okinawa Prefecture 904-0494, Japan
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sunmarina Hotel to your Saves list
Sunmarina Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
86%
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Onna-son
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Yang901 Hong Kong
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    170
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
152
82
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a 3-nights stay in late August. During my stay the weather was perfect with clear water as advertised photos displayed. Unlike other large resorts nearby in the Onna area, the hotel only got around 200 rooms, this was a big advantage. Even I stayed during the peak season with full house, nothing was crowded, from the carpark, beach,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SUNMARINA_HOTEL, General Manager at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yang901, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we are happy to know that you enjoyed our laid-back, resort atmosphere which we believe has just enough of all you need for a vacation. Thank you also for your kind words about our facilities and services; we will continue to try our best in improving our... More

Hong Kong SAR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Although not every staff know English, they are very helpful. They helped us with calling nearby restaurants to ask for pick-up services, contacting local taxi, and other requests. I like the dyke outside the beach very much. It makes the beach calm. And it's very great to enjoy the sea view, coral and the ocean wind on the dyke.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hehe910, Thank you for choosing Sunmarina Hotel to spend your summer holiday. The natural beauty of the island is one of the many reasons why Okinawa is a popular destination, and we are very lucky to have the dyke for people to walk down and watch the sunset or for swimmers that wish to see the ocean life from... More

Okinawa, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was extremely disappointed with this hotel. It all began when we went to the hotel and asked if we could check in for a night, the staff told us there was no vacancy, but we showed them online where it said they did have room available. So they had us reserve the room online, right there at the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TonyaPaige, Thank you for choosing to stay with us out of the many resort hotels located in Onna-son. We wish we could say how happy we are to know of your pleasant stay…however; we must apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the lack of flexibility in our services upon your arrival. This is something we are currently... More

San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My dad and I managed to score an excellent deal ($100 USD per night; all inclusive and breakfast included) from the hotel website. The hotel was very easy to find, and had a secluded private beach. Everything was perfect from the staff who greeted us and helped us carry our bags in the parking lot to the front desk staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate W, Thank you for choosing Sunmarina Hotel, and we are very happy to know that your stay with us was enjoyable. It is our goal to please every guest that we welcome, and it is a great pleasure to receive such praise about our facilities and services. All guest reviews good and bad, are posted for our team... More

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My Stay - Apr30-May4 The Good - 1. View, 2. bath towels were expectedly clean 2. sea sports variety, Average 1. Breakfast buffet menu was average The Bad - 1. Overpriced & over-rated (averaged USD350/night, most expensive night >USD600 2. Room had a persistent stale smoke smell througout my stay despite the No Smoking room request. It only got better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Extrmly_unhappy, Thank you very much for spending your holiday with us and we hope that your time on the island was a pleasant one. Our ultimate goal is to offer a satisfying resort stay for all of our guests and have everyone think of us as THE PLACE to stay in Okinawa. We do admit that this goal has... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We intended to stay for 5 nights and shorten it to 3 nights once we entered the hotel room. The room looks like it's set back in the 80s with musky smell and decor. Room size is ok but what good will that do if the bed is rock hard, toilets looked dirty and extremely old.. We made the mistake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Huiyi C, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us; however we are sorry to learn that our standards were not up to your expectations. We thank you for taking the time in bringing your concerns to our attention. Please know that we value every comment and take them seriously as we continuously strive to become a... More

Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Sunmarina Hotel is located on the coast of Okinawa Island. It's about 1-1.5 hours away from Naha Airport so you can either get there by hire car or bus (bus tickets cost 1400 Yen and the bus stops at a few hotels). A taxi ride there would be a bit too expensive. While it makes sense for the hotel to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rambutaan, Thank you for choosing Sunmarina Hotel and for sharing a lot of information that will be useful for other travelers visiting the island. Thank you also for your valued comments regarding our facilities and services. We will always try our best to provide professional but friendly service with our “omotenashi” spirit of hospitality. We understand that English is... More

Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Sunmarina hotel for a night in March. Our room was large and clean, and every rooms there could enjoy a beautiful sea view, a nice beach with a lot of sea activities in Summer. The bed was very comfortable and one thing needs to mention is the pillow is very nice with good head... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ManSolo223, Thank you very much for staying at Sunmarina Hotel, and for your warm compliments about our facilities. We are happy to hear that you were able to get a good night’s sleep with our comfortable bedding. Our pillows are not available for sale as they are custom made, but we hope that you will be able to find... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My stay was a midweek in mid February, so it was really comfortable and relaxing with the few number of guests. Room size is huge enough to accommodate 2 twin beds, 1 additional stowaway, and 1 two-seater sofa, all along side one another. Attached balcony offers a great view to the pool & beach, which were sadly closed. In good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear iceqz, Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us. It is very nice to hear that you tried some local specialties, and we hope that you liked them all! As the weather does get a little chilly from late fall (November through March), our Garden Pool operation takes a short break during these winter months. But! We... More

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We arrived at our hotel the first week of December, expecting cold weather in the off season, but quite unexpectedly the weather was gorgeous and warm during the day, just perfect for a golf holiday, which is what we had planned! Despite the fact that the pool area was closed and the pool drained and the activities desk wasn't open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LayneFick, Thank you for staying at Sunmarina Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience with us. We are happy to know that the weather was in your favor and that you were able to enjoy not just the hotel facilities but also the beauty and the many golf facilities the island has to offer! Our Outdoor Pool takes a... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sunmarina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunmarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunmarina Hotel

Address: 66-1 Fuchaku, Onna-son, Kunigami-gun, Okinawa Prefecture 904-0494, Japan
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Onna-son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunmarina Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo, Rakuten and Venere so you can book your Sunmarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Marina
Sunmarina Hotel Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

290 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (207)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (32)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Onna-son with
any amenities