We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Gerik hotels

Belum Rainforest Resort

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pulau Banding, Gerik 33200 , Malaysia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Promotion!
Save Saved
You added Belum Rainforest Resort to your Saves list
Belum Rainforest Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
47%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Gerik
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
PetervTNL Rotterdam, The Netherlands
  • Overview
  • Reviews (195)
  • Photos (263)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (31)
  • More
true
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    67
    69
    22
    15
See reviews for
57
72
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice and beautiful styled resort in the Belum National Park with modern rooms and facilities. Due to the fact that it's far from any village you are depending on their own restaurants. That's really disappointing because the food is not good and the choice very limited. During the night you notice that you are close to the main road... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BelumAM, Guest Relations Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologise for any shortcomings of your stay. We will strive to improve on the quality of our food and will offer a wider selection for our buffet. Best regards. More

Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food in this hotel is terrible and extremely over priced. They are literally unable to cook an egg. Malaysian style food was without taste, western style was undercooked. The tours on offer look great but the guides do not provide any information. The groups are way to big for the sights. The visit to the Orang Asli (natives) was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BelumAM, Guest Relations Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We appreciate your valuable feedback. We truly apologise for any shortcomings of your stay. We are taking all actions to improve the quality of our food and have taken your comments into consideration to improve our level of services. Best regards. More

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arrival at the resort one immediately sees the contemporary design. The lobby fits very well to the surroundings allthough modern and also the major part of the resort is well desinged. Some parts could use a bit more natural feel but all in all a really impressive resort from the looks. Check-in was not too easy, most staff is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seremban, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It located middle of the lake, hence it call Banting island… I believe most of the tourist stay there because of Raffles flower, me too. It is their selling point on top of others. However end up a disappointment due to flower blooming season has gone, we came not in right time. We did write an email to clarify before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BelumAM, Director of Sales at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Hi!, First of all i would like to apologize on our behalf for not answering the email you send to us about the raffles flower. Besides that i hope you had a good time in Belum Rainforest Resort. Because we are a Resort that wants to keep improving. I would like to ask you if you could fill out our... More

Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The only thing I recommend this hotel for is the possibility to do the round trip on the lake, which is really an amazing touch with nature. However, several things were dissatisfying. First of all, and main, the bathroom in the room was dirty: on the cabinet there were signs of old "liquids", what is really disgusting and terrible. Matresses... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BelumAM, Director of Sales at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Hi! First of all I want to apologize on the behalf of Belum Rainforest Resort. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Because we don' t want this to happen Belum Rainforest Resort wants to keep improving, so i would like to ask... More

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel is located on the main road just when you enter Banding Island and the Belum Rainforest. The Buildings all feature a very modern design and the rooms are very spacious. All buildings are designed to be eco friendly and there are ponds with fish between the walkways to the various buildings. The reception is very open and so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Eventhough friends and I got a special package on Groupon for the deluxe room package.. we still find it not worth what we have paid for. Rooms are nice.. but nothing there are designed for children.. not the food, activities non environment. we asked to cook something simple like fried eggs for the kids to eat with plain rice.. BUT... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rena, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights. We had booked a package with night trail and Belum discover tour. About the hotel. The staff was very polite. The check-in was fast and staff was helpful. The rooms (superior rooms) were clean, a bed sheet was missing but that was fixed. The location is fantastic. Unfortunately the buffet the first day served chicken satay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
noryasmi, Guest Relations Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Good day. We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction for the said issues. We would to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience caused that has happened to you during your stay with us. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory.... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The rooms and surroundings are really nice and have a very 'eco' feel to it. The infinity pool overlooking the lake is very nice! The organization could be better, the reception staff couldn't tell us where to go for a walk, they had no idea that the trail on the map they gave us was not the same as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
noryasmi, Guest Relations Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Belum Rainforest Resort for your recent stay in Malaysia.It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We have shared your feedback with entire team. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Thank you again for posting your... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I decided to write a review for this resort because I personally believe that this place and this resort can become one of the most important tourist spot in the near future, both local and international. Generally, i m satisfied with my 3d2n stay with the resort. I do encounter a few glitches, from reservation till my check out, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
noryasmi, Guest Relations Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for choosing Belum Rainforest Resort for your recent stay in Malaysia.It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We have read your comments and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for not being able to provide you with the high standard of hospitality which is... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Belum Rainforest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Belum Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belum Rainforest Resort

Address: Pulau Banding, Gerik 33200 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Hulu Perak District > Gerik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belum Rainforest Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your Belum Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belum Rainforest Hotel Gerik
Belum Rainforest Resort Malaysia/Gerik, Perak

263 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (171)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belum Rainforest Resort is one of Malaysia's premier ecotourism holiday destinations. Set in the midst of a tropical paradise, Pulau Banding, the Belum Rainforest Resort, is everything nature-lovers and holiday-goers expect in a getaway destination: complete relaxation and serenity, stunning views and surroundings, adventure, and the chance to get close to nature.With the Belum-Temengor Rainforest literally at their doorstep, guests at the resort will have a rare opportunity to experience the soothing beauty and mystery of the vast jungle, which has remained untouched for centuries. Nature lovers will revel at the chance to observe the beauty of plants and scenery that can be found only rarely elsewhere. Meanwhile, thrilling outdoor activities await adventure seekers who crave for adrenaline-pumping experiences. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
69

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Belum Rainforest Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer