We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Marloth Park accommodations

Royal Kruger Lodge

4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1235 Oribi street | Mpumalanga, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5 Night Safari Package
Save Saved
You added Royal Kruger Lodge to your Saves list
Royal Kruger Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
98%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
NTF76 Sydney, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (170)
  • Photos (148)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (38)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
91
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Second time in July that I've stopped with Vic and the team within 12 months and loved every minute of it, that I'm even going back again in April next year. Vic is the perfect host, Julia's food is amazing and the team are lovely. The lodge is chilled and restful, which is perfect after long days and exceptional viewing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Awesome while you have visitors to talk to but can become very lonely if the resort is not fully booked. Game drives @ R950 p/p is expensive for locals. A two price structure should be implemented 1 for locals and 1 for international visitors.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you that it could be quite lonely when not fully booked and I assure you, just like all other establishments, we too would really like 100% occupancy all the time. Sadly to say, this is not realistic in the current economic climate. I... More

Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just had 5 wonderful days with the folk at Royal Kruger Lodge. Private and unrushed place to be, or make it as busy as you like. Staff are fabulous and very attentive. We were treated like kings. Meals, service, accommodation, tours, ( with guide) bookings and communication, pickup/drop-off all were exceptional service . WE WILL BE BACK!!!!! Fran... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Fran and Joe, Thank you so much for the great review. It was super meeting you and we certainly enjoyed the laughs we had together with you with the other guests. Joe's enthusiasm was infectious. I think everyone felt that and we are so glad you stayed with us rather than going to Hawaii. Hope the rest of your... More

Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a very friendly welcome, by both my Hosts Vic & Leanne, together with the zebras & wart hogs wandering through the yard, I was settled in to a beautiful room with en suite & then whisked off to sundowners on the river. I got to meet & chat with fellow guests, we all saw giraffes, hippos, crocs, zebra &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Sharon, Thank you for the wonderful review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great meeting you and the rest of the gang and it was fantastic to have guests like you all. We certainly enjoyed all the laughs. Hope the rest of your trip in South Africa went well and that you will bring... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great weekend! Ours started with sundowners and snacks down at the river, where, with the unbelievable talents of Robert the guide we saw lion, elephant, hippo, giraffe, crocs, zebra and a host of antelope. Back to the lodge for an amazing boma supper and so went the weekend,we even got to see a leopard kill. We were not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jacqui, Thank you for your wonderful review. It was great meeting you and the other guests at the Lodge. It's really nice when all the guests interact and get on so well together. I will remember the fun times had by all with fond memories. You are so lucky seeing the leopard kill......I am still waiting after all these... More

portlaoise
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay. We were made very welcome by Staff-Julia and especially robert who was a great guide for sundowner and dawn safari .Marloth Park is beside Kruger. Highly recommended. We hope to return someday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Sorry I didnt get to meet you myself as I had to go to Johannesburg during you stay with us. Anyway the staff assured me you really enjoyed yourselves. Sounds like a missed quite a party. Would have loved to have celebrated your great occasion with you and hope the wedding went well. Give... More

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We never felt so at home ever before in a foreign land. The staffs were very friendly and hospitable. The journey started with Rick and Leanne picking us up at the airport. Rick helped us with the luggage and along the trip back Leanne talk us thru on the activities available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

It was so great meeting you and thank you so much for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed the Lodge and your honeymoon and hopefully we helped create some precious memories that you will treasure forever. We will definitely have the Springboks waiting :) Hopefully we will see you again before too long. In the meantime may... More

Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a fantastic holiday. I stayed at the lodge last year with a friend and had such a great time that I have gone back with my partner and another couple. The staff could not be nicer. We all had a great time at the lodge. I must admit we were treated like royalty. Sitting around the boma each night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and so glad you enjoyed your second visit. Hopefully we will make it three in a row before too long. Don't forget to tell all your friends and please contact me direct so I can customise a very special holiday for you. All the best, Vic and the RKL Team. More

Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The boma dinner was well prepared. Dinner at local restaurant was excellent. Breakfast fantastic. Staff was very friendly & accommodating. Julia, Emily & Robert were fantastic! Only complaint was no Coca-Cola or good red wine available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We hope we see you again. I will look into the fact we had no coke.......this has never happened before and is unacceptable. Re the Red wines, unfortunately we only carry a limited range as we are not open to the public. We try to carry a range which is acceptable to... More

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My friends and I recently concluded our 4 nights stay at Royal Kruger Lodge. When it comes to booking, we had great assistance from the liaison personnel, Vic, who promptly replied us with a very informative email which includes key information that covered methods of travel from airport, time taken, routes to avoid if going by self drive etc. Upon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Allan, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to write one for us on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it and I will be sure to let the team know. They love to read these, especially when their sincere efforts are recognized. We will certainly have a little chuckle when Emily, one of... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Royal Kruger Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kruger Lodge

Address: 1235 Oribi street | Mpumalanga, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kruger Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Kruger Lodge ensures guests relaxation, adventure and a oneness with nature. This 4-star, privately owned game lodge is renowned for its exceptional personal service and intimate atmosphere. Situated in the Mpumalanga Province in the Wild Frontier region, the Royal Kruger Lodge is just beyond the Crocodile River and borders the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Kruger Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer