We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Marloth Park accommodations

Grand Kruger Lodge

4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Stand 4627 Hartbees Str | P.O. Box 1262, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kruger Safari Pamper Pack
Save Saved
You added Grand Kruger Lodge to your Saves list
Grand Kruger Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
92%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Leon M Swindon, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (77)
  • Photos (50)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    20
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff friendly apart from one waiter, unfriendly, coughing and sniffing while serving, sorry but unacceptable! Some dishes were excellent while others were below standard for star rating! Lodge nice but lack of storage space, sewerage smell from septic tank, not pleasant ( lodge 4 )

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Thank-you for your comments during your stay. We value comments from our clients, thus helping us to improve our service. Regarding your comments during your stay. It is a pity that you did not report the problem of the odour in the vicinity of your chalet. It would have made it easier for us if you had reported... More

New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

4 nights and 3 full days were a genuinely great experience, including 2 days of safari. Lenkford and France were excellent guides - many thanks. Viewing 40+ animal species including the big five and a leopard hunt was simply amazing. Meals were outstanding and all the Kruger staff were flexible accommodating the 12 of us. Doctor runs a tight ship.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Front Office Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Experience Seekers, Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us at Grand Kruger Lodge. We very much enjoy reading your positive feedback, and we are happy that you enjoyed your safari holiday with us! We also appreciate your helpful tips and are sure that other travelers will find this insightful as well. Hoping we will be... More

Trani, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I spent several days at the Grand Kruger Lodge in late May and took ourselves on a self-drive Safari in Kruger National Park. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lodge and were very pleased with it's proximity to the Crocodile Bridge Gate of KNP. Unfortunately, we had a very short stay so we did not book... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Front Office Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jessie, Thank you for your wonderful and inspiring review of your stay with us at Grand Kruger Lodge! It is always a thrill to receive such positive feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your visit so much. It is definitely a must to have a taste of the local food of the country you are in, and... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with 2 other families. Each family had their own bush cabin. Highly recommend the facilities, tours (dawn safari, panaromic and dusk safari) and the dining facilities. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. We would come back again just to see the staff. Great stay. the kids even tried the pool. thank you for the birthday cake!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Front Office Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Helenof, Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us at Grand Kruger Lodge. We love to receive positive feedback, and the staff all aim to ensure that our guests have a wonderful holiday in the bush! It was a pleasure to be a part of the birthday celebrations and we are happy that the children were... More

Schweiz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights from 16:06 to 19/06/2014 in Grand Kruger Lodge, we can always know about! We have Chalet No.3 had, very nice rooms, very clean and very private. That food was very good and staff very friendly in Special Rose (Piri Piri in salad) :-) Spa is also very good and very professionally!! We want to go next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Front Office Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Alicia & Michel, Thank you for your delightful review of your stay at Grand Kruger Lodge. It was a pleasure to host your for your holiday in the bush, and we appreciate the positive feedback on the accommodation and the SPA. We pride ourselves that the staff at the Lodge always aim to ensure that our guests have an... More

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful experience at the Lodge. Friendly staff and excellent food, saw lotz of game..will go back..spa was wonderful..had a relaxing massage in the afternoon. Enjoyed watching sunset from the deck..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Front Office Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pam, Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Grand Kruger Lodge! We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us, and very much appreciate the positive feedback on all the facilities and entertainment we offer our guests. The beauty of an African Sunset over the bush is a truly magical... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I brought my British (never been to Africa, let alone South Africa) girlfriend here to show her the Kruger Park. We came in the off-season so it was nice and quiet but there was an abundance of game on our drives. We also had some "visitors" at the lodge including a little tortoise and the almost tame Warthog that came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at our Lodge. We very much enjoy receiving positive feedback from our guests and are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Kruger Lodge! Receiving surprise visits from the general game wandering freely around the Lodge is a wonderful experience and a memory that does not fade with... More

Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great experience, and wishing I had another night to spend at this lodge. The level of service was excellent, from check-in until check-out. Very friendly staff, accommodating the needs of my group of 4 (4 separate rooms).The rooms were clean and comfortable (I care mostly about the mattresses because I have a bad back, and I slept extremely well!). The... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your kind words. It was a lovely to have you at Grand Kruger Lodge even though your stay was short and sweet. We do hope you come and visit again for a bit longer. Kindest Regards, Sandy More

Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wonderful food and wait staff! Wi-fi was out the entire visit which made it difficult to connect with family at home. Office staff was not very engaging or motivated. Overall, it was a nice place. We self drove and arrived at night - do not do this!!! The road is terrible and it was very difficult to find!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We have sorted out our wi-fi now, however in the bush when the lines go down or the routers stop working it takes a few days to resolve the issue. We hope to see you again. Kindest Regards, Sandy More

Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Best place to relax. Was my best holiday ever. Staff is great and very friendly! Spa was excellent! Never felt so welcome and treated in my life!! Definitely the place to be and will recommend it to everybody! The owner is a great peoples person and if it wasn"t for him we would not have had the priviledge to spend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the kind words, we really loved having you here at Grand Kruger Lodge. I hope that you will join us around the boma again soon. Kindest Regards, Sandy More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Grand Kruger Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kruger Lodge

Address: Stand 4627 Hartbees Str | P.O. Box 1262, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Kruger Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kruger Hotel Marloth Park

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With its African atmosphere, Grand Kruger Lodge is the perfect base from which to experience the pride of South Africa's conservation efforts. Superb accommodation, exquisite cuisine and game viewing in southern Kruger National Park. Our hospitality teams have been chosen for their attention to finer detail, thereby providing the luxury of personalized service to you throughout your stay. Grand Kruger Lodge is also the ideal location for conferences and weddings that will provide a memorable day to be cherished. Our recently completed Spa gives an additional service to our guests to relax their body after the game drives.Game drives in open vehicles with qualified game rangers provide guests with thrilling opportunities to view the 'Big Five' as well as a myriad of other flora and fauna in the Kruger National Park, which is a short and easy drive away. Bush walks with knowledgeable rangers will give guests a chance to see game 'up close and personal' or take pleasure in a night drive to hear and spot the elusive nocturnal animals. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer