We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Houton Bay Lodge

Houton Bay | On The Scapa Flow, Orphir KW17 2RD , Scotland
Hotel amenities
Houton Bay Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 8 Orphir B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
HuddMary Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    82
    43
    7
    12
    3
See reviews for
30
77
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (147)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really glad we found this on Booking.com - such a great base for exploring mainland Orkney and for a great day trip to Hoy. The room was fantastic and though we weren't able to get a sea view on arrival as soon as one became available, Linda offered it to us. Linda could not have been more helpful throughout our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Comfortable, clean twin room, fine bowl of porridge in the morning. Such a friendly place Lynda could not have been nicer or more helpful. Just a shame I was only there 1 night working. I'll be back with the family for sure. Bob

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cologne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spend three wonderful days at the Hounton Bay lodge. The rooms are very comfortable and homely. You will find everthing what your expect from a B&B. The helpfulness and friendliness of Lynda makes uns feel at home. The location of the lodge is perfect to explore the Orkneys: it is located between Stromnes and Kirkwall and the ferry to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lynda B, General Manager at Houton Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guests, Thank you very much for your wonderful Review and very high score for Houton Bay Lodge and Staff. We do hope you arrived home safely and that we will see you again very soon. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :) Lynda, Alfie and Staff :) More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This is a nice peaceful location with all of the facilities you would expect from a Bed and Breakfast facility. Lynda was a "Hoot" avery helpful hoot . Continental breakfast is supplied and a full cooked breakfast can be had at an extra cost. If you are not an early riser then be prepared as breakfast is at 8.00am which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda B, General Manager at Houton Bay Lodge, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Houton Bay Lodge. Thank you for the wonderful comments you made about me being a Hoot and all the lovely and wonderful things you said about our Breakfasts and Accommodation at Houton Bay Lodge. Thank you for your review, Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

We found the room to be very comfortable and homely, with little extras which added to the pleasant stay. The hospitality and friendliness of the managers was exemplary and made it more than just a place to sleep. The lodge really is perfect for exploring Orkney as it is situated halfway between Stromness and Kirkwall, and whenever we returned it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda B, General Manager at Houton Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything... More 

Lanark, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

On the plus side this lodge is clean and rooms have necessary facilities along with lots of extras. The lodge is sometimes described as a hotel, even in the the owners description. There is no bar, no cooked meals (breakfast cannot be purchased at an extra cost). Credit cards are not accepted either. Times for the cold 'complimentary' breakfast are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda B, General Manager at Houton Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Lynda B, General Manager at Houton Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 4 days ago Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer, Thank you for your review. You booked your accommodation with Houton Bay Lodge with Booking.com. Please read your contract details. We are a B&B we are not an Inn, we do not have a bar or restaurant and your booking did not... More 

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

This hotel is ideally located for anyone who wishes to explore the Orkney Isles. It is at a ferry terminal on the West Mainland, and was close to the various RSPB sites we were visiting. The hotel is located on a World War I seaplane base, so there is ample parking. The bedroom was clean, spacious and had TV, hairdryer,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lynda B, General Manager at Houton Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We had a great time in this B&B which provided good value for money and gave all the comforts you would anticipate from a B&B, Lynda was very friendly and helpful and the location is very handy for all the main attractions on the Western mainland.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Lynda B, General Manager at Houton Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything... More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Houton Bay Lodge hosts Linda & Alfie could not have been more friendly or helpful; nothing was too much trouble. My wife mentioned she had raspberries with her breakfast cereal back in Australia; lo & behold raspberries galore with all ensuing breakfasts. The room was very spacious, exceedingly clean, very well appointed and the bed was very comfortable; a pleasure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Lynda B, General Manager at Houton Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything... More 

Haddington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Everything you can think of needing (and plenty you never dreamed you did) supplied. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Lovely chatty front of house. Happy to give advice etc on places to go. Continental breakfast free with room was nice. Can get a cooked breakfast for a small fee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Lynda B, General Manager at Houton Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay