We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traveller's Home

Kachcheriyagama | 145/kachcheriyagama, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Traveller\\
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A great location a short walk to town. Comfy rooms with hot water and a nice social area out front.. Food and drink was good quality and reasonably priced. Expect to wait for food as its cooked fresh to order, and if you want rice and curry order in advance. A double room en suite was 5000r per night so... More 

Helpful?
Thank KayakingAli
travellershome, Manager at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear Sir. thanks your reviews.and happy to hear that you enjoyed your staying with us. and give good massage to the other tourist. thanks again.with warm regards. manger. More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

When we arrived, the manager did not know we had booked a double room with fan on booking.com the same morning. The last one was taken, he said. He sorted things out, however. The room was cheap, the bed pretty bad. The worst, however, was the safari. Easy to book, 5000 rs (35€) per person—jeep, driver, and entrance included. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frederik K
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear sir. thanks your reviews. any way it was a very bis y time of the year with X-mas and new year time park also very bis y with lots of jeeps in the park so i am as owner of the place very sorry abut your citation. as you arrive our one of weaker has been sow you the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Tissamaharama hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

The breakfast is not available WiFi is not available after 21 00 24 H front desk story is not available as published. The owner has no extra key o master key if accidentally forgotten The owner is saying that he is not providing rooms for local travellers after booked. Worst hotel I ever visit.

Helpful?
Thank Prasad G
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. However I have to mention that you were drinking past 12 am in the midni9ght and causing disturbance to other customers when I clearly stated that there is a safari leaving at 4 in the morning. You had locked yourself inside the room 3-4 times which was absolutely appalling. Wifi is working appropriately and there... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel and I recommend it. Very clean. Very conscious bedroom and bathroom. Staff were polite. Really great night's sleep and the staff packed a little school lunch for us as we had to get up early to go on the safari.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear Sarah. thanks you for sharing your experience and happy to hear that you were glad with your staying. at travelers home. and warm greeting from us. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is near to Yala, Bundala National Parks and Kataragama and also to beaches! They organize safari to Yala Park that they pick you from the hotel in early morning to be one of the first to visit the Park. The price is unbelivably low, less then 20€/person. The family that manage the hotel is very very very kind,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alissa L
travellershome, Manager at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear AlissaL. thanks your time and to make a posting review on TripAdvisor. and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. thank you again for your comment and hope to see you again. warm greeting. to you and your friend. More 

Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Location: The bungalow's are about 30 - 40 minutes away from the park and you need 10 minutes to go into the city. Food: there is no food. They didn't offer breakfast (which means you need to get breakfast from the supermarket the night before the safari) and the only thing they offered was overpriced beer. Safari: The 4 hour... More 

Helpful?
Thank KarinLaure
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

Dear KarinLaure. We are really sorry that you feel that way about your safari experience. First I would like to mention, the guides are giving from the national park office not from the hotel. It is the responsibility of the national park. Aldo, the guides and the drivers are trained to track the animals.. .Many people come to Tissa to... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Arrived mid-day from Ella. Was shown a nice sized clean room with a small balcony with a view over the green paddy fields. Perfect! Choosed go book a safari to Yala with start from the hotel at 05:00 next morning. Got tea and a breakfast-package in the early morning. Back from the safari around six and after a shower, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ola L
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear Ola.. glad to hear that you enjoyed spcly travellershome stay with us. thanks for choosing us and live good review. on TripAdvisor. see you again on your next holiday. warm regards. Ebert. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

My Family and i found that hotel conincidently. The rooms are clean and affordable. Price / Rooms / Service is really very good. We enjoys our stay and felt comfortable. And we will definately go there again. Not far away there is a nice Beach in Tangalla.

Helpful?
1 Thank Abiramy J
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Everything was easy and convenient with Traveller's Home. They provided very useful information, were very friendly and all their services (room rental, safari packages etc.) were as reasonably priced as it gets, while still maintaining a great standard. I am usually quite bent on finding the best possible deals, but after having booked here I felt no need to look... More 

Helpful?
Thank japan0428
Male
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Very nice place to stay, in the middle of Rice field. Very friendly staffs and owner. Was a good time there. They managed to book the Safari, right the next day. And our guide for the Safari was just great !! The room is nice and clean, hot water and WIFI works well. Everything perfect.

Helpful?
Thank Globediver164
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tissa
Hotel Tissa
#10 of 11 in Tissamaharama
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#4 of 11 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 11 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Edge Holiday Inn
Lake Edge Holiday Inn
#5 of 53 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
My Village Hotel
My Village Hotel
#3 of 53 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay