We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Howwood hotels

Bowfield Hotel & Country Club

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bowfield Road, Howwood PA9 1DZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bowfield Hotel & Country Club to your Saves list
Bowfield Hotel & Country Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
64%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Howwood
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
jackie t ayrshire scotland
  • Reviews (185)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (45)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    64
    28
    20
    19
See reviews for
31
80
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked a spa day for myself and my friend through Groupon. Was told in one email that towels would be provided, told in another that they wouldn't be provided but that we could rent them for £1 then on the day I phoned and was told to bring my own! I was also told in an email that the back,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ayrshire scotland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Afternoon tea very disappointing with bread which was far from fresh with scanty filling and two little cakes one a mince pie ? in June !! and the other a tiny piece of shortbread A mediocre scone with a timy portion of jam and cream accompanied Thank goodness for the spa If I had bought this deeal without using the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment with your afternoon tea recently. I assure you our Head Chef shall be taking action following your visit. I am delighted that you enjoyed your treatments and facilities and our team are very grateful for your comments. I do hope that you will return to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club in the... More

Stewarton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from spending the weekend which included a spa treatment (from itison) and it was bliss! From the moment we entered the hotel the staff were helpful and attentive which continued to the lounge bar where we got an afternoon tea and later dinner. The food is delicious and reasonable priced. The spa area is lovely and the girls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and treatments at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club. Thank you for your very kind comments which are appreciated by all the team and reward for the hard work we put in to look after all our guests and members. Once again, thanks Kind regards Craig Stewart General Manager More

Glasgow,Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My mum had purchased an itison voucher for my birthday. It allowed for a 25 min treatment and an afternoon tea. The reception area is poor. Old, tired and in dire need of a refurb! Note to maintenance - WD40 required on front door!!! The treatment - a back & neck massage lasted just shy of 20 minutes. Mmmm, thought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club. Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced during your visit. I shall be discussing your comments regarding your treatments with our Head Therapist and action will be taken. We shall certainly take on board your comments regarding your afternoon... More

Travelers are raving about these Howwood hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed overnight as we were attending a wedding nearby. Lovely to drive in to but unfortunately the inside does not reflect the outside. Our room (4) was tired and dated and we could hear every sound from the room upstairs even the bathroom light being switched on! Breakfast was ok - the 45 minute wait however was unacceptable. Fine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club. I can assure you I shall discuss your comments regarding your wait at breakfast with our Head Chef and waiting team with action being taken. I am delighted to advise that we plan to commence refurbishment of our bedrooms later this year. We do hope... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My friend treated me to an overnight stay in this hotel for my birthday. On our arrival, it took only a couple of minutes to book us in and the girl on reception was very pleasant and helpful. I made use of the indoor pool, sauna/steam room and Jacuzzi. There is also a huge gym with various exercise machines (although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Great to have such a great review and it makes our commitment to hospitality worth all the effort. We will continue to endeavor to make it as good as you write. Our team love what we do and are delighted to here your kind words. Thanks again Craig Stewart General Manager More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Firstly let me congratulate the bowfield on coming so far as per there welcome folder located on the room. Your gym and leisure facilities are flawless the sauna & spa are a little dated but immaculately clean. Moving on to one or two small points that you may or may not take on board firstly to the fact that myself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your stay at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club. As you advise we are going through a period of development and I am delighted to advise that we plan to commence this Autumn. We are also in the process of changing our laundry supplier to eliminate the towel problem you... More

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I am former member of the Bowfield Gym, however unfortunately I had to move due to relocation. Since leaving the Bowfield I have visited many big name Gyms, however compared all to the bowfield and not one has come close to the fantastic facilities that the Bowfield has to offer. They get every right, from the equipment and surroundings to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our Gym and Gym Membership. Lovely feedback like this makes the hard work in trying to achieve all that you have enjoyed very worthwhile. We do hope that we can welcome you back for a visit or indeed if you move back to the area. Kind regards Craig Stewart General Manager More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and i have been going to the bowfield for over a year now because its local to us but we feel its out in the country so we love that side of things First we arrived at reception and we looked at the set menu for 2 courses for dinner, we decided that this would be nice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your stay at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club. I am glad the our team were able to give you a room you were happy with, although I am not aware of any of our rooms which simply look at a white wall. We are also in the process of... More

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Having travelled all over the world and been in some dodgy places, when I read the reviews it all sounded Greer, I can only assume the writers haven't been very far trsvelled, the only redeeming feature was the pool, it was lovely, the room smelled damp and badly needed an update, we didn't eat in the evening as we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your stay at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club. I am delighted to advise that we are planning to refurbish our bedrooms later this year and shall certainly take your comments on board with this process. I have discussed your comments regarding breakfast with our Head Chef and assure you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowfield Hotel & Country Club

Address: Bowfield Road, Howwood PA9 1DZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Howwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowfield Hotel & Country Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Budget Places, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Bowfield Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowfield Hotel And Country Club
Bowfield Hotel & Country Club Howwood, Scotland

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotels near Glasgow do not come better than this little gem, Bowfield offers quiet comfort, a superb leisure club & award winning restaurant, only minutes from Glasgow Airport, situated n a beautiful countryside setting. The hotel has copious areas of relaxation space, you cannot help but relax & de-stress, so next time you come to visit Glasgow, whether on business or for pleasure take some quality time out to visit Bowfield. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer