We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bowfield Hotel & Country Club

Bowfield Road, Howwood PA9 1DZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bowfield Hotel & Country Club
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    73
    86
    48
    34
    25
See reviews for
52
101
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (266)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Are you a gym person, or a lounge lizard? Depending on your answer will go your visit. The spa facility is lovely and the gym facility is really world class. Our rooms were clean and comfortable but dated. We have 4 children who enjoyed the kids soft play area - a v. nice touch and not normally found at hotels.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went with my partner and we had the use of the facilities and a beauty treatment each followed by afternoon tea. As I was driving my partner had the glass of sparkling wine and he said it was nice. The experience was totally relaxing and enjoyable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The afternoon tea was very tasty and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a wonderful spa day and the most amazingly massage. Afterward tea was fabulous the home baking was second to none. Have already booked my next spa day c an't wait to go back !!!! The staff are really frisky and helpful. Beautiful surroundings and easy to find too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very poor customer service. Room was adequate, but with very uncomfortable bouncy bed. Up for breakfast in morning, no-one to greet you, no breakfast menu , we had to ask. Took a while to take our order. We waited 35minutes, when we asked where our breakfast was, the staff seemed to be under the impression that we had had our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Bowfield Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced in your room and at breakfast. I assure you I will be actioning your comments with the team here, both in the form of direct action and in retraining where necessary. The service levels you have experienced are... More 

Travelers are raving about these Howwood hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend just returned from a couples spa weekend here that we got on a deal, I have to say we were so relaxed all weekend. The food is lovely and the staff are welcoming, pool and spa facilities are excellent. The only down side was our room was very old fashioned I understand the hotel is ongoing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your very honest and accurate comments following your recent visit to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club. You are correct we shall be developing the facilities we offer over the coming months and years. Your comments are very much appreciated by the team here at Bowfield. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here today 18/8/15 for a spa deal through wowcher with my mum totally loved it from start to finish. Arrived about lunch time so had a light bite from the menu food was excellent and the girl who served us was very delightful. We then got our robes and towels and headed to the changing rooms which has been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your spa day at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club. The whole team very much appreciate your acknowledgement of their hard work. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Craig Stewart General Manager More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here a good few times now . I work all over the country & I find this place great value for money . You can enjoy the pool & sauna/ steam room at no extra cost . Drinks are a bit pricy in the bar , the food is great . Breakfast is brilliant . Enjoy .

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your regular stays at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club. We very much welcome your comments and use these as part of our ongoing training and development programmes. We constantly review our prices to ensure we offer value for money and will use your comments in this process. We look forward to welcoming you back.... More 

Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Now to be fair we did get a decent price for 3 nights on Hotels.com and I suppose everything is relevant, on arrival the outside and drive in looks very inviting, reception is a mix of guests struggling with luggage fighting with members looking to use the leisure facilities, separate areas may help there, after being told where our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club. As you are aware we are undergoing a program of refurbishment and improvement. This will be rolled out across the property. Unfortunately this has been delayed slightly by local objections to our improvements. This process is now well underway. Your comments are very important as... More 

Johnstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A treat for my anniversary & treat for my aunt' birthday, very disappointed! On arrival gave my booking details, the reception wasn't particularly interested but asked if we were going to use the facilities, I replied yes..no mention of our light lunch or drink (which was included in the spa package), got pointed in the direction of change rooms, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit. Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the service with your afternoon tea. I can assure you we have taken on board your comments and action has been taken, in the form of retraining with the entire team. I am delighted that you enjoyed your treatment and I do hope that you... More 

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hotel , funishings a bit worn in places but imaculately clean . Staff , food and location more than made up for it taking the hotel to another level.Bar prices very reasonable . We arrived i bit later in the day so didn't use the lesiure facilities although they were still avalible to use but had a wee wonder... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent visit to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your comments are very much appreciated by the team here at Bowfield. I do believe you have summed up very well what we offer to our guests and this will only... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howwood
2.4 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
11.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
15.1 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Uplawmoor Hotel
Uplawmoor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Uplawmoor
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
7.7 mi away
Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club
6.1 mi away
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnhouse
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay