We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bowfield Hotel & Country Club

Bowfield Road, Howwood PA9 1DZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowfield Hotel & Country Club
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bowfield Hotel & Country Club
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    73
    38
    26
    22
See reviews for
38
89
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (220)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed her one night for my birthday. Had a lovely time. Excellent for kids (swimming pool and soft play). Food was fine not great. Staff all very friendly. Rooms clean but basic and could do with being sound proofed a bit more.... Couple above us were very noisy meaning I didn't sleep very well! Would stay here again if wanting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We know Bowfield well having spent a lot of time here over the years. We decided to spend a night to relax. The leisure facilities are good and relaxing but need a bit of upgrading. The room was clean but again needs upgrading. The food in the restaurant was good but there were several things unavailable and the communication of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at Bowfield from Wed 4th March through to Sat 7th March to attend a family funeral. I am afraid to say I was extremely disappointed with the venue, it is in need of some severe TLC throughout the whole of the building and complex. Our room had not even been made up when we returned back to the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. Your comments shall certainly be taken on board as part of our ongoing refurbishment program. This has commenced with a massive investment in the infrastructure which was badly maintained by our previous owners. We have now developed our leisure facility with new gym and childrens soft play area and now moving... More 

Travelers are raving about these Howwood hotels

Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Extremely poor rooms with poor insulation between floors to the extent you can hear the TV above out room. Decor of hotel not being looked after doors with peeling paint carpets frayed ready to cause another trip hazard. Night porter staff could not be found anywhere in the hotel at 2.20am to deal with an issue I had and phone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent 7 night stay which is the length of time you originally booked for and you chose to stay. As previously advised please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you had during your weeks stay at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club. I can assure you your comments have been discussed at a... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015 via mobile

Had an it is on voucher for afternoon tea, treatment and use of leisure facilities. This was my second visit and both myself and partner thoroughly enjoyed it. We had to reschedule the booking originally due to bad weather however the reception staff were very helpful and accommodating. The manager dealt with us on arrival and was again very helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit. I do wish that you had made your concerns known to me when we spoke at breakfast and I would have been pleased to address your concerns. We welcome all feedback and can only address concerns when we are made aware. Yours sincerely Craig Stewart General Manager More 

Beith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We were married in this hotel two years ago,and, decided to return for an overnight stay. The room was clean and facility more than adequate ,however, our evening meal was worse than poor,my wife could not eat her salmon as it was not cooked properly (part raw ), and this left her unable to even think about an alternative .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit. I do wish that you had made your concerns known to me when we spoke at breakfast and I would have been pleased to address your concerns. We welcome all feedback and can only address concerns when we are made aware. Yours sincerely Craig Stewart General Manager More 

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I bought an afternoon tea deal from itison and took my friend who is gluten free. I informed the hotel and was told this was no problem to cater for. When we arrived, she got a GF roll cut into 3 sections with a bit of savoury cheese spread on all three. For her cakes she had 2 caramel short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback following your recent visit. Your feedback is important to understand how we can improve the service we provide to our customers. We have had 2 customers in past week request to know the sparkling wine served with their afternoon tea as they enjoyed it so much. We do try to cater for all... More 

Strathaven, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Went for one of the "itison " deals (glad we didn't pay full price for it). Afternoon tea was a joke 3 triangles of sandwiches not even a full sandwich for 1 person, cakes were hard and could hardly eat the scone. Spa facilities weren't up to much needed a good scrub. Showers and toilets were not very clean. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent visit. I can assure you these comments have been discussed with our Head Chef and his team for action. Your feedback is also vital for our future development as we continue to develop the facilities and look after the 2000+ spa deals over the past year. Once again thank you... More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

I arrived really early here - 10.30am and normal check-in is after 3pm but nothing was too much trouble and I was given a room straight away. I didn't get the chance to use the country club facilities but they looked very tempting. Heavy snow overnight wasn't a bother and as I was leaving after a quick breakfast at 8.30am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback following your stay. The team very much appreciate your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Stewart General Manager More 

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I bought my friend and "it is on" deal for afternoon tea and use of the spa facilities and having already been a few times was quite looking forward to going. When we got there the woman on reception was friendly, gave us towels and pointed us in the direction of the changing rooms. Firstly both toilets were blocked which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointments you experienced on your visit. As you will be aware, the standards you experienced are not the standards we set ourselves from your previous visits. The toilets were repaired as quickly as possible, this was down to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question