We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Morar hotels

Morar Hotel

Morar | Morar, Morar PH40 4PA , Scotland
Hotel amenities
Morar Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com AMOMA.com
48%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Morar
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013
alelcoate Basildon
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    63
    34
    29
    38
See reviews for
27
105
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kesgrave, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Overall, I would advise against going to this hotel. There are some nice views, and it's close to activities to do on your holiday. The 'lounge' room is also rather nice, and... most of the staff are too. I'm afraid the list of good things ends there. The beds are uncomfortable, the window in the room I stayed in was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were staying in Ardnamuchan and were sightseeing in the Morar area and wanted to pop into the hotel for a coffee and cake. According to the sign on the hotel it boasted "a very warm Scottish welcome with friendly service" The door was locked. Someone came to open it and when we stated we would like a coffee we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Basildon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a one night stay in the Morar hotel prior to an early ferry to Skye with afternoon return by train to Glasgow ready for the sleeper to London. Super location, cross the road from the station and you're there. We stayed in Room 6 which had a superb view and the sunset that evening was brilliant. (We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScottHotels, Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alelcoate, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with you kind and positive review. We are a small 30 bedroom hotel in a superb remote village, we offer clean, comfortable and friendly accommodation with a 3 star rating, our restaurant offers simple, freshly cooked meals and the hotel operates with a small team. It is refreshing to... More

Clonakilty, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having just returned from a Treyn holiday and stayed for 3 nights at the Morar Hotel, I thought I would write a review. It is an old hotel, but it was clean and the staff looked after us extremely well. We had already upgraded to a room with a Sea View which was spectacular. I cannot fault the accommodation. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScottHotels, Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MasieCorkIreland, Many thanks for your positive review. We are truly delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us, your group were lovely and we enjoyed having you stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Morar Hotel Management More

Hitchin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have just returned from the Morar hotel on a Treyn holiday. Before leaving we were very concerned by the poor reviews. However we found them to be not justified. It is true that there are not many staff but the welcome was warm and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was perfectly acceptable with a choice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScottHotels, Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue R, Many thanks for taking your time to provide reviewers with some honest information, hopefully most reviewers do take some of the comments on here in context, despite our hardest efforts, sometimes it is not easy to please those that cannot be pleased despite every effort. We are currently planning on refurbishing more parts of the hotel over... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Room 16 was like something out of Fawlty Towers. Open the room door and almost fall onto the double bed - bed creaked horrendously ! Very cheap furnishings. Hardly anywhere to lay out makeup stuff, hair brushes etc. Only one bedside table. Tray with tea and coffee making things on a tray on the floor to the other side of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ScottHotels, Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jaxtanottm, Thanks for your review, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, Room 16 is a small double, not sure it is like something out of Fawlty Towers. We will take your points on board when refurbishing this room in 2014. Kind Regards, Morar Hotel Management More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

How other travelers can find any positives with this hotel we fail to understand (except for the views which are stunning). The owners should be suitably embarrassed to take good money off people to stay in this establishment and should have the courage to close the place down and substantially refurbish. Dirty throughout; a fingerfull of dust removed from window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ScottHotels, Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear slimmerthanever, Thank you for providing us with your comments with regards to you recent stay at the Morar Hotel. I can assure you that we are fortunate to receive many letters of thanks from our guests, not everybody resorts to tripadvisor. Fortunately we also receive many compliments about our rooms, service, food and cleanliness and the hotel is certainly... More

Dublin,Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It would seem the newish bypass took at lot of the life out of this hotel & hamlet. The staff were lovely, our room was clean (a slight damp smell but definitely no damp) and had a great view, the bed was comfortable and yet there was a tiredness about the place that I find hard to explain. I got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I were on a Treyn Holiday when we stayed with around 40 others. We were really disappointed with the Hotel and with Treyn for using it. It was understaffed, needed a really good clean and people who could cook and serve decent food. No one seemed to care and we felt sorry for the young people left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ScottHotels, Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belfast James007, We are sincerely sorry that despite our efforts and hard work we were not able to meet your expectations. With over 4,000 guests staying with us this year, the vast majority would disagree that we are an awful hotel. It is unfortunate that despite having 3 choices at each course for dinner you were unable to find... More

Jaipur, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here early this August. I had the choice of staying at Mallaig or at Morar just 5 minutes down the highway. I am glad I chose Morar as it is a very peaceful place and the rooms (if you choose the sea view rooms) have a lovely view across the bay. The rooms and bathroom are good sized... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Morar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morar Hotel

Also Known As:
Morar Hotel Scotland
Address: Morar | Morar, Morar PH40 4PA , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Morar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Morar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morar Hotel is a friendly hotel on the romantic "Road to the Isles", 3 miles from Mallaig, the Southern Gateway to the Isle of Skye. The hotel commands breathtaking views of the famous Silver Sands of Morar and the Inner Hebridean islands of Rum & Eigg.The Morar Hotel offers true Scottish Highland hospitality. The hotel features 30 bedrooms - all with colour TV, private bathrooms & tea making facilities - comfortable accommodation, log fires and good home cooking. A warm Highland welcome is assured! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Morar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Morar Hotel to your Saves list