We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Killearn Hotel

2 The Square., Killearn G63 9NG, Scotland (Formerly Black Bull Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Killearn Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    48
    42
    25
    8
    10
See reviews for
18
83
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've held off writing a review as despite our mixed bag experience at this particular hotel we had a lovely first anniversary break and didn't want to tarnish the memory somewhat by positing some negative comments. Hopefully my feedback will make the next wedding anniversary couple's stay a big more special than ours. My husband bought us a groupon offer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just back from an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast included using an itison deal. First impressions as we drove into the car park were a little bit tired looking! However we thought never judge a book by its cover. There are plenty car parking spaces available so this is a plus point. As we entered the reception we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this lovely hotel on Monday via a voucher deal. On arrival I thought it looked a lovely village and the staff were very friendly. I had a meal which I was very pleased with, for starters I had Scallops special with black pudding, main I had salmon which was delicious, my partner was also very pleased with her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
STACEY G, General Manager at The Killearn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for your kind review, the staff are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, we home to welcome you back in the near future, Kind regards, The Killearn Team. More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was not going to try this hotel but was recommended by one of the waitress in bridge of cally hotel were I stayed and loved a few weeks back with my wife . Any way few shorts words food and was great and device wAs superb . 10/10 guy well done chef William and his assistant Dorian I believe his... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
STACEY G, General Manager at The Killearn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you so much for your kind review, Its very rewarding for the staff to hear for all their hard work, We hope to welcome you back in the future. Stacey & Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel through a reservation web site which takes credit card details for security, including all major credit cards. It took the hotel over a month to let me know (via the reservation web site) that they did not accept Amex, so that my booking could not be confirmed. Since it was for a booking in July and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

ate here recently using an itison voucher Conservatory restaurant was lovely and not busy - had a really nice atmosphere so we were looking forward to our meal We arrived at 7.30pm and were seated straight away and given menus Ordered our drinks and food about 15 minutes later and then had a 30 minute wait for the starters, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

We bought an Itison voucher for a meal for 4 people for this restaurant. We phoned to arrange a reservation a few days after the after the closing date for voucher redemption, but well within its expiry date. We were told abruptly and quite rudely that the offer had expired and the voucher would not be honoured. All other restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
STACEY G, General Manager at The Killearn Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I am sorry to hear you did not get to use your voucher and come dine with us here at the hotel, Unfortunately if the voucher had passed its redemption date we simply cannot honor it, it is just company policy. I don’t believe however it is fair that you merit us a 2 star rate on trip... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Stayed here last year on a trip to Loch Lomond. It was one of the only places we could find to stay at the time as we booked quite last minute. Quite a sweet little hotel, the room was a nice size, shower was a bit teeny though! Overall, can't fault it as the staff were friendly, and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
STACEY G, General Manager at The Killearn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for your kind review, the staff appreciate it greatly, We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Stacey. More 

Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

This hotel must be the worst ever, we arrived Sunday afternoon (21 June), we watched the tennis in the bar, despite advertising food served all day, when we asked for sandwiches, we were told the kitchen is closed ! Our room was dirty, the carpets were sticky with ingrained dirt, the bed was uncomfortable. The bucket was left unemptied both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
STACEY G, General Manager at The Killearn Hotel, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to hear of your bad experience with us on the 21st of June, We are country house hotel and we are there are some aspects of the building that need improvement made the proprietors however have a sound financial plan in place for investments to be made. As for your experience with dinner, we always make... More 

Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

A friend and I called into the restaurant at lunchtime on Saturday whilst out on a training ride. We asked for a hot chocolate and a cappucino, and were told by the very helpful waitress that unfortunately the milk delivery had not arrived that day (!?) and that it would not be possible to have either. This was a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
STACEY G, General Manager at The Killearn Hotel, responded to this review

I am very disappointed that you had a bad experience with us on Saturday and apologies sincerely. With regards to your comments, we did in fact have milk, it was the coffee machine that was out of order and our very courteous waitress explained we could not offer you the hot chocolate or the cappuccino as both are expected to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killearn
5.3 mi away
Strathblane Country House
Strathblane Country House
#1 of 2 in Strathblane
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kirkhouse Inn
Kirkhouse Inn
#2 of 2 in Strathblane
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
3.5 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort
9.3 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
11.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay