We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Killearn Hotel

2 The Square., Killearn G63 9NG, Scotland (Formerly Black Bull Hotel)
Hotel amenities
The Killearn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killearn
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
gmc039 glasgow
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    48
    40
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
18
80
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel through a reservation web site which takes credit card details for security, including all major credit cards. It took the hotel over a month to let me know (via the reservation web site) that they did not accept Amex, so that my booking could not be confirmed. Since it was for a booking in July and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

ate here recently using an itison voucher Conservatory restaurant was lovely and not busy - had a really nice atmosphere so we were looking forward to our meal We arrived at 7.30pm and were seated straight away and given menus Ordered our drinks and food about 15 minutes later and then had a 30 minute wait for the starters, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We bought an Itison voucher for a meal for 4 people for this restaurant. We phoned to arrange a reservation a few days after the after the closing date for voucher redemption, but well within its expiry date. We were told abruptly and quite rudely that the offer had expired and the voucher would not be honoured. All other restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
STACEY G, General Manager at The Killearn Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I am sorry to hear you did not get to use your voucher and come dine with us here at the hotel, Unfortunately if the voucher had passed its redemption date we simply cannot honor it, it is just company policy. I don’t believe however it is fair that you merit us a 2 star rate on trip... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here last year on a trip to Loch Lomond. It was one of the only places we could find to stay at the time as we booked quite last minute. Quite a sweet little hotel, the room was a nice size, shower was a bit teeny though! Overall, can't fault it as the staff were friendly, and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
STACEY G, General Manager at The Killearn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for your kind review, the staff appreciate it greatly, We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Stacey. More 

Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel must be the worst ever, we arrived Sunday afternoon (21 June), we watched the tennis in the bar, despite advertising food served all day, when we asked for sandwiches, we were told the kitchen is closed ! Our room was dirty, the carpets were sticky with ingrained dirt, the bed was uncomfortable. The bucket was left unemptied both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
STACEY G, General Manager at The Killearn Hotel, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to hear of your bad experience with us on the 21st of June, We are country house hotel and we are there are some aspects of the building that need improvement made the proprietors however have a sound financial plan in place for investments to be made. As for your experience with dinner, we always make... More 

Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A friend and I called into the restaurant at lunchtime on Saturday whilst out on a training ride. We asked for a hot chocolate and a cappucino, and were told by the very helpful waitress that unfortunately the milk delivery had not arrived that day (!?) and that it would not be possible to have either. This was a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
STACEY G, General Manager at The Killearn Hotel, responded to this review

I am very disappointed that you had a bad experience with us on Saturday and apologies sincerely. With regards to your comments, we did in fact have milk, it was the coffee machine that was out of order and our very courteous waitress explained we could not offer you the hot chocolate or the cappuccino as both are expected to... More 

Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

The staff in the hotel are really friendly and helpful and evening meals which we had both nights were delicious, good value and definitely recommend. The breakfasts were a little disappointing, especially after having the food in the evening but my husband had eggs Benedict on the second morning which he said was good. The accommodation definitely need some investment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
STACEY G, General Manager at The Killearn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your kind words, As always the staff are always looking for new ways to improve service and buisness, We hope to see you again in the future. Stacey. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

We visited Killearn for the weekend, and we found the staff at the Hotel friendly and helpful. We were out in the evening so didn't experience Dinner, but the breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Our room was large in the older part of the hotel, and the one change I think they need to consider is different blinds instead of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
STACEY G, General Manager at The Killearn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, Its always motivating for the staff to hear and pushes us all to go that extra mile. We hope to see you again, Stacey. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

My wife and I have not been so well of late so we sort out a relaxing holiday.We needed it to be within easy reach of public transport. We found an offer at this hotel. The local bus stops right outside. It is a beautiful clean village with friendly people and lots of parks for the dog to run in.The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

We arrived on a living social deal and the rooms were not ready, We arrived at 3.00 and at 4.30 the rooms became available. The room was spotlessly clean but the bathroom was old fashioned. The meal in the Kiilearn was very nice but all around was generally disorganised and as if they had hardly any staff. Two girls seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killearn
5.3 mi away
Strathblane Country House
Strathblane Country House
#1 of 2 in Strathblane
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kirkhouse Inn
Kirkhouse Inn
#2 of 2 in Strathblane
3.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
3.5 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort
11.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay