We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shard Riverside Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Old Bridge Lane | Hambleton, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Offers & Announcements
Weekends to Wine and Dine
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Shard Riverside Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    224
    111
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
79
179
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (387)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Great value hotel, very clean , wonderful views, very friendly and helpful staff, good food. Very highly recommended ,car parking on the door step bar and restaurant all conveniently conjuring, will definitely be returning in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really lovely Hotel, friendly staff who can't do enough for you, great with our children. We had lots to choose from on the breakfast menu. The full English is really good, kiddies had a choice of cereal, pancakes, yoghurts and fruit to name a few. The rooms were beautifully decorated and spotless, our beds were so comfortable, bathroom is immaculate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed over as we were attending a leaving do for a colleague and needed somewhere to stay for the night. I was disappointed that we couldn't pay for a law check out as we were having a late night and would have liked to sleep in later. We arrived late on around 8pm and were given our key to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosalyn W, Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

We have been providing water in all the rooms and I'm not sure as to why your room didn't have any in on your visit, this is something I will take up with house keeping and I thank you for bringing it to my attention. With regards the late check out, as you are aware we are only a small... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is out from the town in the spectacular countryside. The river Wyre has many birds however the main road is quite busy. The room is okay and hotel services are normal, the bar is above average, but if your room looks to the river... that's just amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosalyn W, Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, the main road that is near us can be quite noisy at peak times and we understand if you are interested in the wildlife this can be somewhat of a distraction, on your next visit please ask for room 12 as this is the furthest away from the road and the nearest for spotting the... More 

West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Shard is a brilliant family owned hotel where we stay every time we come up to visit family, friends, go to weddings, christenings and unfortunately funerals. We just cannot thank Paul and staff for how well they look after us at each stay. When we travel up from Surrey and West Sussex they are always accommodating in either letting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosalyn W, Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Its lovely to know the efforts of all the staff are noticed and its a pleasure going above and beyond to ensure all our guests experience the high levels of service we strive to deliver. Thanks you for taking the time to leave a true reflective review of the Shard riverside Inn. More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Shard whilst attending a wedding. We stayed in room 7 (lovely view) and the room was well equipped with everything that we needed. There was a good sized TV which is a bonus as other hotels don't always offer a TV. The breakfast was good with a nice selection of different dishes. The only thing that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosalyn W, Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad your enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. More 

Calne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only stayed at The Shard Riverside for one night but really wish we could have stayed longer! Arrived at 10:00am (after a 5 hours drive!) fully expecting our rooms not to be ready as it was so early but hoping we could drop off our bags. We were told that they could have 1 (of the two rooms we booked)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rosalyn W, Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

A 5 hour drive for a one night stay, wow sounds like you had a busy non stop weekend. We are glad your stay ticked all the boxes and look forward to your return visit which will hopefully be for a few more nights. More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed one night ,but we can say that all the staff were friendly, lovely spotless rooms, luxurious bedding, and a comfy bed. Roomy bathroom with essential toiletries. Stunning dining room overlooking the river where we ate our breakfast, which was presented very nicely and tasted delicious. All in all ' a little gem' of a hotel. Well done... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosalyn W, Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a charming review. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely 2 night stay. Arrived around 7 on the sunday evening. Although it is only a small hotel there was a gentleman on reception who welcomed us warmly. We were in Room 15 which had a pleasant view to the side of the hotel overlooking the estuary and the bridge. We ate in the restaurant that evening . Good value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosalyn W, Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

An all round great review for what sounds like and all round great stay, we look forward to your return visit. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night -wish it had been more! What a gem of a place. Easy check in. Room 9 on 1st floor - compact but really lovely. Everything you need is there. the view from the window is brilliant. After a busy day at work it was lovely to sit in the very comfy chair by the window and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rosalyn W, Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! It is so rewarding for us to hear that our guests have had a pleasant stay, we understand that travelling away from home can be difficult for our business guests so we make a conscious effort to ensure their stay is as comfortable as possible. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
4.9 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool - Bispham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#43 of 74 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 stars 2,086 reviews
4.4 mi away
Village Urban Resort Blackpool
6.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#10 of 74 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 stars 2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay