We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Plympton hotels

The Smithaleigh Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smithaleigh, Plympton PL7 5AX, England (Formerly New Country Inn & Smithaleigh Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Smithaleigh Hotel to your Saves list
The Smithaleigh Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Plympton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014
Elaine D Plymouth, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (87)
  • Photos (31)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
31
28
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Held my 60th birthday party here in May and had an amazing evening. The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. Excellent buffet,enough food for everyone. Parking was hassle free. Truly a wonderful evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Torquay
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our room (number 23) and the bed it contained were both above average size and very comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size, the room was quiet (despite a function going on) and overlooked the garden. I would have rated the hotel a lot higher if the breakfast had been edible but it was very poor. Tough bacon, cheap... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Called in for a quick "supper" on Friday - family of four. Not been for two years, because although only up the road for us, the last time we visited the food was average and the time it took to serve two courses was interminable. However, a revelation - food & service tonight was excellent. We had soup, scallops &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mirka M, General Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to show our improvements! I hope to see you soon again. More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My mum and dad had their wedding here, it was fantastic. The staff are very hard working and will try their best to satisfy your needs, the food is amazing and the rooms are nicely decorated and 100% clean, was a lovely experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mirka M, General Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review, it is a real booster! I have passed your comments onto our staff as well, they were very pleased to see their efforts don't go unnoticed. I hope to see you at The Smithaleigh again soon! More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Visited in Feb 2014, with the Groupon offer for a 3 course sunday lunch. To be honest, the price of the Groupon was more than reasonable, which makes reviewing difficult, however, there were still some logistical issues that need to be addressed. It started with the fact that we couldn't access our Groupon voucher because the wireless internet was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased to see you got all the help and assistance needed from all the staff including Alvaro, the manager. The location of the hotel can indeed affect the network coverage, but with time this seems to be improving and most of the big brands have good signal strength. We have... More

Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We recently held a party here for aprox 85 guests. The venue was very nice food excellent and the management team could not have been more helpful. Our only concern would be with some of the waiting staff there were problems with the language barrier and an overall unfriendly approach this was noted at breakfast where we waited along with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving us review here on Tripadvisor as well. I am very pleased you have enjoyed the party and most of all that it was a surprise! I really appreciate your feedback about our venue and staff, I will use this to move forward and to improve the service we offer. I hope to see you... More

plymouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We bought a 3 course meal for 2 from Groupon. With the price we paid (£18 for 2 people / 3 courses) we were satisfied with what we had but wouldn't be back again even on the offer. Upon arriving the grounds and building are very small in comparison to the photographs on the website. We parked up and walked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Oh dear, you have not enjoyed our Sunday lunch at all! I'm very sorry to hear that as it usually is very popular. It is very true that we did run out of few item on the mentioned Sunday. For some unknown reason the pork was very popular that weekend and even though we had enough to feed 20 people... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed three nights reasonably comfortable but on arrival no heating in bedroom or main lighting. This was sorted after advising hotel in about 10 minutes. Room (no6) somewhat tired like the rest of the place but decent value overall. Breakfast good in the main cleanliness fair could do with a little more care.Staff friendly and helpful.Location easy to find but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much you took the time to write about your stay. I am sorry that upon your arrival the rooms was cold and you experienced difficulty with your electricity. It is great to see that the problems were dealt with promptly and efficiently and you have enjoyed your stay! I hope to see you at The Smithaleigh in... More

Iwade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed one night and paid £54 with breakfast included. After reading the reviews on here we assumed we would be getting a good basic hotel room. From our experience I could only assume people have been leaving reviews for the wrong hotel! Soon as we opened the door we were greeted by filthy carpets (see photo) mud and dirty tracks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review

I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at the hotel. Everything you described above is definitely not the usual standard we aim to provide in our hotel and clearly not acceptable. I would love to get some more information from you! More

Somerset UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here on Friday 14th March, 2014, for only one night to meet some friends in Plymouth. The room was comfortable, not huge, but had tv, kettle, shower etc. and was really all you could ask for and certainly for the price. Heating was more than adequate, beds very comfortable, the room very clean and a good shower with constant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I will make sure the team knows how lovely it was for you. I do hope you will come to stay with us again when visiting your friends. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Smithaleigh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Smithaleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smithaleigh Hotel

Address: Smithaleigh, Plympton PL7 5AX, England (Formerly New Country Inn & Smithaleigh Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plympton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smithaleigh Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your The Smithaleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smithaleigh Hotel Plympton, England

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Smithaleigh Hotel is located in the picturesque South Hams area of Devon, just a few miles away from Plymouth. Its secluded location is only a few hundred metres from the main Exeter to Plymouth A38, but is just far enough away from the main road to offer a relaxing and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer