We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Yarcombe B&Bs / inns

The Belfry at Yarcombe

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Main Street | Honiton, Yarcombe EX14 9BD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Belfry at Yarcombe to your Saves list
The Belfry at Yarcombe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
92%
Ranked #1 of 2 Yarcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jackie H Plaxtol, null, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (166)
  • Photos (44)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    29
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
87
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plaxtol, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is our fourth year of stopping over at the Belfrey, Sarah Jane and Neil are always welcoming and the rooms superb, this year we were in Tennyson with the wonderful power shower. All the rooms are first class and all feature little extras that go a long way. The toiletries are so nice you want to use them unlike... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely room with a stained glass window, comfy bed, L'Occitaine toiletries, lots of thoughtful little extras like tea and homemade cake on arrival, free juice and water in a fridge, little bowl of sweets in the room, aromatherapy spray for your pillow etc. The evening meal was outstanding, there is an excellent wine list and the standard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were greeted with a pot of tea (no cake) when we arrived which we had on the terrace which overlooks the car park and the A30. We found the road noise intrusive (in Tennyson) so we only stayed one night. Disappointed that the biscuits in the room contained wheat – the hosts knew my husband is coeliac. We thought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelownerresponse, Owner at The Belfry at Yarcombe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are dis-appointed you didn't enjoy your stay. Your pot of tea, taken on the Terrace, looks across to the beautiful Yarcombe Inn and rolling fields behind. You arrived on a day I had been away and we had run out of cake but you had arrived between 5/6pm and most people arriving that... More

Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on a one night stopover on the way to the West Country. Very comfortable night with a very nice full english in the morning. The owners are both very nice genuine people who are passionate about their business and pay very good attention to detail. lovely old building with off road parking. if you're in the area stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed with friends and had a lovely time. Went for a drink in the pub opposite and then a meal in another pub in a nearby village. The owners were away so we had a 'guest' host and they were very welcoming - and very professional. The breakfast was great. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Wish we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Greeted with coffee and cake on the terrace on arrival and left with a lovely full breakfast in our stomachs. The hosts couldn't have been nicer or done more. Rooms were comfortable and full of character you'd expect in an old building. We have kept the address in case we need to visit the area again as we can see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
crewkerne
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Greeted with tea and homemade cake on arrival in the beautifully decorated lounge. Was very impressed with the food because I am gluten free and they provided a great choice of gluten free foods (including the cake on arrival!) Well furnished bedroom and very comfortable with lovely views across the Blackdown Hills. Great family run business, friendly and lots of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
harrogate
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Came across this B&B whilst searching for accommodation. What a find ..lovely setting beautiful room comfy bed and powerful shower and full of character. Lovely hosts. I liked it that much I came back for a second night. Shame the pub across the road is not tof the same standard

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night . Room faced highway but double pane windows kept room quiet. Meal in restaurant was good and service by owners faultless. Well equipped bathroom. WiFi worked fine. Good parking for cars. Only downside - guests in neighbouring rooms can be clearly heard as the walls do not seem to exclude any noise

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I'm pretty perplexed by the negative reviews that I've read here as I had an absolutely lovely stay. I was staying for business reasons and arrived in the afternoon (about 1.5 hours earlier than I said I would be arriving!) to a warm welcome, a cup of tea and homemade cake. I was given good advise on where to eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Belfry at Yarcombe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Belfry at Yarcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfry at Yarcombe

Address: Main Street | Honiton, Yarcombe EX14 9BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Yarcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belfry at Yarcombe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Belfry at Yarcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax and unwind in our beautiful boutique 4* Restaurant and Rooms hotel set within an historic grade II listed old school built in 1870. With stone mullioned & leaded stained glass windows, fabulous individually designed decor and L’Occitane bathroom products, The Belfry provides the quality & level of service you would normally expect from a much larger hotel. Just off the A303 & close to the dramatic Jurassic Coast and Antiques Galore in Honiton. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Belfry at Yarcombe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer