We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Punch Bowl Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Edmundbyers, Consett DH8 9NL, England
Hotel amenities
The Punch Bowl Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #3 of 9 Consett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Sillysal123456 Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Add Photo

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    18
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited for a late lunch after a long cycle, We got a warm welcome from the staff and a delicious hot lunch. I do not eat meat and the chioce is very limited in most places. Here there is a good choice of meat free dishes. I loved the mushroom leek and cheese pie with hand cut chips. Really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a short break here two weeks ago came up to walk mostly and planned to visit Durham never made it to Durham we found more local attractions and the walking despite being so near Newcastle Gateshead was lovely. Our room was at the front,my wife was in heaven a the window looked down on the bird table and little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

11 of us stayed here in April after cycling from Sunderland. Only 3 of us had a hot shower everyone else had to boil kettles to fill a bath or use cold water. The food on the evening was excellent everyone enjoyed there meal. However was disappointed when I asked for poached egg instead of fried breakfast and was told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are local to the area and on recommendation tried the Sunday lunch. Our table was in the tea room it was dark and gloomy with very poor lighting. We ordered our meals and drinks but our Sunday lunch took 45mins to arrive which is definitely unacceptable, we asked a waitress how much longer and she hurried it along but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris B, Owner at The Punch Bowl Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read about your disappointing visit yesterday. In mitigation with regard to the delays I can only say that it was a Bank holiday weekend and we were, as usual, very busy. However there can be no excuses for you being apparently left alone and I will be having words with the staff on the subject.... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called in for a spontaneous Sunday lunch and we are so glad we did. Even though the pub was very busy we were quickly accommodated, I had the crayfish cocktail and my partner had the game soup - both were delicious and very generous. We both had the beef for a main which was very good as well and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrogate, UK
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We used this for an overnight stay. We had lovely scones and tea in the afternoon, a tasty dinner chosen from the range of menus available, a good night's sleep in a warm and peaceful room finished off with a traditional breakfast. Staff very welcoming and always happy to help. Great place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Found by chance when had to stop as the road closed for the annual cycle race and popped in for a drink very welcoming cosy log fire and friendly atmosphere the next evening we decided to eat there the venison was excellent portions probably a bit on the large size for us but all wonderfully cooked and presented the landlord... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Horley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We called into the Punch Bowl as we were driving out of Consett and towards Hadrian's Wall but the weather wasn't good so we stopped for a spot of lunch! We were welcomed warmly by the staff and shown the menu and the specials boards and we quickly chose a couple of mains to have. I went for the turkey,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

The Sunday lunch menu gave a choice Pork, Beef or Lamb, they dont serve the usual menu on a Sunday which is a shame. The lunch was nice, the meat well cooked, I had pork with crackling and stuffing, and the vedge was lovely, especially the creamed leeks, but the plate wasnt deserving of the £10.99 price tag, in fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stayed at the Punch Bowl Inn between Christamas and the New Year and could not have been more delighted . The location is excellent with wonderful views across the moors made even better with the snowfall and bright blue skies. It slovely to find a place thats clean comfortable with excellent food but one where time seems to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay